Pistons on the wrong end of a route

Posted · 10 Comments
jan_27_12_monroe

So much for that five game winning streak the Pistons were hoping for.  The Washington Wizards came into the Palace and blew out the Pistons 98-77, on what you could call one of the least inspiring performances all year by the team.

I wasn’t at this one, (thankfully) nor was I paying much attention to the game after the Pistons started poorly.  You know it was one of those days that the game is on, but you’re doing  other things and listing for something enthusiastic coming from George Blaha so you can glance at the television.  Well the only thing I heard most of the night was, “JaVale McGee dunk,” “there goes another JaVale McGee dunk,” “Special K , now that was another impressive JaVail McGee.”

JaVale McGee, who attended Birmingham Detroit Country Day and is originally from Flint,  was all but unstoppable for the Wizards. He had eight dunks, scored 22 points and was a defensive menace, grabbing 10 of his 11 rebounds on defense.

It went on and on.

Nick Young also scored 22, and John Wall had 15 assists tying his career best, and all nine of his points in the third quarter.

The Pistons did however get my attention when the tied the game at the half 45-45 at the half,  and then took a 60-59 lead in the third after a Monroe layup. But then John Wall took over and they looked like they would have been happier eating a Happy Meal than playing an NBA game on their home court.

It was bad.

Greg Monroe against the Spurs

Bless Greg Monroe for doing what he could, leading the Pistons with 27 points and 6 boards.

It’s disappointing to watch, especially after the way they have been playing.  You win the games your are supposed to win.

This game showed one thing that most of us already know, this team needs SIZE. And for those of you paying attention and counting the days…another step towards the possibility of having Anthony Davis in red, blue and white.

10 Responses to "Pistons on the wrong end of a route"
  1. daddy says:

    just a bad game move on and concentrate on the next game

  2. Julian says:

    McGee had a dunk fest at the expense of the Pistons.

    Our guards had a bad game and Daye had yet another bad shooting game.
    I keep hoping Austin will break out of his slump but it does not look like it is going to happen.
    Still the winning streak was nice while it lasted. Now we face a couple of tough games in a row with the Spurs and the Celtics in Boston.

    Unfortunately, Anthony Davis will be long gone by the time we get to pick at around 5 or 6, but I agree that we need another big either by free agency or through the draft to prevent these routs from happening on a regular basis.

  3. Drew says:

    Before the college season started, it was Sullinger. A month ago it was Drummond. Now it seems to be Anthony Davis. Why can’t people make up their mind? If a new name turns up in a month or so, that will be evidence that we probably shouldn’t tank the season when there’s no clear-cut first pick. The name changes all the time, yet people say it like they’re so sure about it. If it can’t stay consistent throughout a whole season who the top pick will be, then why be so certain of him? This is why I’ll never be on board with rooting for a team to lose.

    • Tycoon says:

      Agree. Just win as much as we can and hope for the best in the draft. Our recent drafts have been great (kudos to Joe) while they are’nt even top picks so why tank?

    • MrRockinWTB says:

      Right!! I remember people on this board wanting Acie Law a few years ago and look how he turned out! People always dog oe for the mistakes he’s made but we all make mistakes! No GM has had a perfect record of success!

    • Drew says:

      And before last season the name was Harrison Barnes. Where has that name gone? Not in discussion for top pick, I can tell you that. What I’m saying is last year sounded like, “Well, we’re at least one step closer to Harrison Barnes.” Now that sounds ridiculous.

  4. Julian says:

    There is no guarantee in the draft and because of the lottery balls even the team with the worst record may not get the first pick anyway.
    Besides every coach wants to win games, not try to get the number one pick since they may be fired in the meantime.
    Charlotte with 15 L in a row seems to be in the drivers seat for most lottery balls this year not the Pistons.

  5. Julian says:

    Speaking of the draft. Big Ben is going to set a new record of games played by a non drafted NBA player. Walker Russell is a great D league story but how about J. Lin of the Knicks who was almost cut by the Knicks and was sleeping on a friends sofa. Now he is a fan favorite for good reason. The kid from the Ivy league can ball.

  6. Conway Eastwood says:

    You thought that was bad? I had to listen to Steve Buckhantz call the game.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM