Pistons make it two in a row despite the loss of Brandon Knight

Posted · 14 Comments
feb_4_12_maxiell

The Pistons beat the New Orleans Hornets 89-87 Saturday night at the Palace of Auburn Hills despite losing Brandon Knight within the first five minutes of the game. Knight, who only the night before put up a career high 26 points, went to the locker room after  an elbow under the basket from former Piston DaJuan Summers.  Knight suffered a broken nose and didn’t return, but  should be ready with his mask for the Pistons Tuesday practice.

Key Points:

  • Jason Maxiell all about the hustle again.  Maxiell in another start, finished the game with 10 points, 5 boards, 2 assists, 1 steal and 1 blocked shot. No shot was more important on the night than Jason’s putback jam on a Greg Monroe miss late in the game to help the Pistons lock in the victory. As much ups and downs as Jason has had he’s shown a lot these last few games and I have always called him the Putback King.
Pistons Jason Maxiell the Putback King

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • This Maxiell dunk brought the house down. Via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Lawrence Frank “Jason Maxiell embodied what the effort was all about, his tenacity, his effort, his toughness – I don’t know what (Monroe) finished with (in) offensive rebounds. I guess he had six. I would bet that three of them were the result of Max keeping balls alive and then to get that big dunk – momentum play. Max brings a toughness, an intensity, a tenacity about him. He played with an edge.”

  • The Hornets Trevor Ariza couldn’t miss Saturday night leading all scorers with 26 on 9-for-12 shooting.
  • Jonas Jerebko was headbutted by Jason Smith and it looked almost intentional, that may have been the reason why Jonas put his arm out in retaliation after  he got hit.  Smith went crashing to the floor on his own.  And depending on the replay you saw, Jonas’s arm didn’t touch him.
  • Hustle all night from Jonas, who was 5-for-10 for 11 points, with 5 boards in just 18 minutes on the floor.
  • Austin Day just1-for-5 for 4 points and 3 boards in 19 plus minutes on the floor.
  • Add another check mark to Greg Monroe’s double-double tally as Moose poured in 24 points with 16 boards, 2 assists and a steal. Did you envision this much progress in Greg’s game this season?
Greg Monroe against the Hornets

Photo/Ap editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Yes this stat is correct…54 points in the paint for Detroit.
  • Thirteen turnover on the night for Detroit, five of them came from Monroe.
  • This one went back and forth.  The Pistons trailed by three at the half took the first double-digit lead either way by going on an 8-0 run early in the fourth.

Greg Monroe: “You know Brandon’s a big part of what we do, but Walker D. (Russell) and Rodney (Stuckey) moving back to the point more, definitely stepped up tonight and everybody else that got into the game. Everybody stepped up tonight. It was a tough night, but everybody had a crazy amount of energy for the schedule that we just went through and I have to applaud my teammates, they did a great job tonight.”

  • Solid night for Rodney Stuckey, who really stepped up his game as soon as Brandon went to the locker room.  Rodney took it to the hole all night finishing with 17 points on 5-for-13 shooting with 3 assists, as steal and just one turnover.
  • Walker Russell showed just how important he can be for this Pistons team.  Russell with 4 assists, 9 points and 2 steals in 32 minutes.  Have they started selling his jerseys at the Palace yet?

Walker Russell on n Brandon Knight going out and him stepping in: “Usually I’m the guy that was always playing, but I’ve been playing more and more lately, so when coach called my number, he had the confidence in me and I had the confidence to step up and play.”

  • What you can see in the last two Pistons performances is that they still have issues holding on to a lead, but they are learning.
  • Highlights, including Brandon’s injury via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • The Pistons can sure use their extended vacation, they next play on Wednesday in New Jersey.
14 Responses to "Pistons make it two in a row despite the loss of Brandon Knight"
  1. Julian says:

    Walter R. is going to get his chance to start next game until Bynum is back.
    I think he will make the best of it. He may get double digit assists.
    Next W against the Nets for the red hot Pistons.
    Good luck boys.

  2. Julian says:

    Frank has tried JJ, Wallace and Maxiell as starters at PF and I think the current system of Maxiell in the starting lineup with JJ off the bench and Wallace as third string seems to be the best for the team.
    Maxiell brings energy, rebounding and defense similar to a young Big Ben and JJ brings outside shooting and hustle off the bench. Ben can mentor from the bench.
    Walker D can talk the talk, so lets see if he can walk the walk now that he will be starting in the next game.
    I hope Singler does not stay in Spain like I read somewhere that he might do next year. We would get a bunch of playing time and maybe even start if he plays with the Pistons since Austin Powerless will be gone more than likely.

  3. daddy says:

    you can see the diff between hard players and soft players. jonas you shouldnt of put ur hand out like that but you didnt even touch him. baby killer ive been waiting nice to see your back in with us.

  4. edt says:

    Singler can stay in spain he’s not that good. We need to trade for a small forward. Jerebko can’t play enough minutes to start at small forward, Prince is a poor fit for this young team, Daye is a turnover machine. It would have been nice if we had not resigned Prince because then we would have a little bit of cap space to play with. We signed Prince I think around December 10 or so, so we can’t trade him until March 10 or so because of the three month rule, and the NBA trade deadline is March 15th. Stuckey also becomes available to trade at the same time.

    We all know Joe Dumars, he doesn’t want to trade Prince or Stuckey, so I assume the trade deadline will come and go.

    March 15 has never looked so far away. Tayshaun is just one injury away from being a piston for life. Stay healthy Tay so we can trade your complaining butt out of Detroit.

  5. Julian says:

    Prince likes to whine but who do you start at SF if you trade him this year unless the player you get is a SF.
    Wilkins or Daye. I don’t think so. Damien is a second or third string talent.
    Daye will be playing in the D league or Europe next year.
    If you trade for a PF then you could try JJ at SF for the rest of the year.
    It would give us some rebounding and scoring at SF with JJ.

    • edt says:

      Absolutely we trade away Prince for another small forward (OR a power forward). then in the draft we pick up a small forward or power forward.

      I’m not saying this has to happen in any particular order, just that if Prince suffers an injury we can’t trade him. We need Prince traded yesterday. But I guess we have to wait til mar 15.

  6. Corey says:

    No that headbutt wasn’t intentional, if you look at the replay, Greg Monroe pulled Smith back and then he collided with JJ. Jerebko took the hit like Chuck Norris though

  7. N1ck says:

    I’d just like to say… Aside from some poor decisions from Joe D, he made some awesome ones regarding draft picks.

    Monroe & Knight…
    Man, every game and even interview show us we’ve got a real winners over here. Workers, talented guys who hate to lose. So give them time, hopefully Joe D. can make some more good decisions a make this a winning team in the future. I have patience.

  8. Drew says:

    Great game. We controlled most of the second half. Maxiell seemed like he had a monster game. His stats definitely don’t completely reflect the impact he had last night. I picked him up as a low-risk player on my fantasy team. Hope he can keep this up.

  9. daddy says:

    i dont know whats the hate coming from? prince is an awesome player and im sure he will be traded just not this year. people need to understand that you need some vets to lead the way. this year we will be losing a lot and we need someone that can guide these players. i put faith in you tay. remember ppl he came back for cheap so dont start bashing him.

  10. Julian says:

    To me it is all about whether the player is worth the contract or not.
    You have to take the emotion out of it.
    Tayshaun is a decent player but he is on the downswing of his career.
    He does bring some veteran leadership to the team and he is productive as a starting player. Eventually we will get a better player at SF but it may take a year or 2 to supplant Prince.
    So right now he is earning his keep unlike BG, and CV.
    But once his minutes go down and he is relegated to the bench then his contract will be not worth the money.

  11. Julian says:

    If you make $6 million/year or more you should be a starter in the NBA to justify that kind of cash.
    Here are the highest paid Pistons:
    1. BG-$11 m/y
    2. Stuck-$8 m/y
    3. CV-$7 m/y
    4. Prince-$6 m/y

    They all should be starters or getting major minutes in order to justify that payroll. This year only Stuck and Tay are doing so.

  12. Bellllissimo says:

    Fun fact former pistons coach john kuester will be the “head coach” of the lakers tonight since mike brown is suspended for making inappropriate contact with an offical.

    it’d be nice to see how kuester coaches a different team to give me some perspective on his coaching

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM