Pistons fall to the Cavs

Posted · 4 Comments
Brandon Knight

The Pistons lost a heart breaker in Cleveland, letting the Cavs come back to hand them their 23rd loss of the season. The Pistons were up 17 late in the third quarter but were outscored 38-15 over the next 12-minutes leading to a final score of 101-100.

Key Points:

  • The fourth quarter was a disaster, they didn’t share the ball.  They were taking back shots and they didn’t get a singe offense rebound.
  • Rodney Stuckey with a heck of a block on Kyrie Irving, who had a great game leading his team in the fourth with 17 points.
  • Not a big fan of how Lawrence Frank handled this one.  He didn’t stop the Cavs from setting the tempo and roaring back in the fourth.  And was Ben Gordon the go to guy when the game was on the line?  Questionable.
  • Tayshaun just 2-for-15 for 7 points.  He was struggling to make a shot.  He didn’t do much better on the defensive end either. Wasn’t he supposed to be guarding Antiwan Jamison, who scored 32?
  • Greg Monroe with another double-double.  Monroe finished with 19 points, 11 boards and a career high 7 assists.  So close to a triple-double!
Greg Monroe Detroit Pistons

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Brandon Knight led the Pistons with 24 points, 3 assists, 5 boards a steal and 2 turnovers.  I can’t tell you enough how good he played battling Irving down the stretch.  So nice to have someone that isn’t afraid to take the shot. And it seems like when he does he makes it.  Oh…and he was 4-for-5 from downtown.
  • Want to hate CLE that much more?  Shouts of CLEEEEVLAND BASKETBALLLL in the crowd.
  • Sometimes I just want to pull my hair out when watching Ben Gordon for his shot selection.  Ben with 16 points on 7-for-17 shooting.
  • Rodney Stuckey scored 16 on 5-for-13 shooting.
  • Jonas Jerebko again with the hard work and a +13 in the box.  Jonas scored 9 with 6 boards in 23 minutes.
  • Worst reffing on both sides that I have seen in YEARS.  No joke.
  • The Pistons were out rebounded 44-49.
  • This one was in the bag and they let it all crumble in the fourth quarter.
  • Highlights Via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • This one was just frustrating.  Hoping they bounce back in Toronto.
4 Responses to "Pistons fall to the Cavs"
  1. Drew says:

    Heartbreak hotel. Why is it so tough for us to grab rebounds against this team? Stuckey had a bad turnover down the stretch. Knight really needs to work on his defense: Irving could just blow by him at will. Stuckey should have been the one driving for a layup when we were down 95-97, not Gordon.

  2. Bellllissimo says:

    ouch. hard loss.
    Greg monroe = GOAT. We are playing fun basketball again. At the beginning of the season I didn’t even recognize it as basketball. Much more fun now.

  3. daddy says:

    knight does need to improve on d but its not like kyrie is easy to guard he can pull up from anywhere and take you off the dribble. plus he is stronger than knight so anytime he gets the step he can blow by you or muscle by you. gordon looks like he broke the play and he played too much nitendo growing up.

  4. KyrieMVP says:

    HAHAHAAHAHA!! How’d that one taste Deee-Troit? KYRIE FOR 3!!!!! GO CAVS!!!!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM