Pistons beat the Nets to make it three in a row

Posted · 10 Comments
feb_8_12_monroe

With the strong play of Greg Monroe and the effective return of Ben Gordon and Brandon Knight, the Pistons made it three in a row Wednesday night with a 99-92 win in New Jersey. This was just the Pistons second road win of the season and first in the last 8 away from the Palace.

Key Points:

  • The eighth double-double in the last nine game for Greg Monroe who dunked so hard on Kris Humphrises that they already started printing the poster in the lobby. And don’t think Moose didn’t give a little attitude to top it off. He brought the whole Pistons bench off their feet.
  • Via NBA.com

[flashvideo file=http://nba.cdn.turner.com/nba/big/games/nets/2012/02/08/0021100378_det_njn_play7.nba_nba_576x324.flv /]

  • Greg led the Pistons with 20 points, 12 boards, 4 assists and 2 steals. Both Monroe and Night will be representing the Pistons in the Rookie/Sophomore All Star Challenge.
  • Fantastic outing for Jonas Jerebko, who put up 16 points on 5-for-12 shooting, with 7 boards, 2 steals and 2 blocked shots in one of the best outings of the season for Jonas. All hustle again from the Swede.
Jonas Jerebko against the Nets

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • The bench unit of Gordon, Jerebko, Wallace, Walker D. Russell Jr. and Austin Daye were on the court together for about a seven minute stint in the second quarter as the Pistons went on a 9-0 run and took control of the game, outscoring the Nets 31-19 to take a 12-point halftime lead.
  • Walker Russell contributing again in short minutes on the floor. Russell knows exactly what to do when he’s on the floor and he helps this team play as a team.
  • Nets got back in it when the Pistons gave up too many open three point shots, eventually cutting the lead to one point in the fourth.
  • Board war won 41-36.
  • The Pistons largest lead was 18 points, the Nets 5.
  • Great game, and loved that the Pistons put it away late in the game. The thunder dunk form Moose really put the game away.
  • The Nets again on Friday night at the Palace for Star Wars night.
  • Ben Gordon with 14 points in 21 minutes on the floor with some timely makes when the Pistons needed them. He looked good in his return, but I have to say the guy is not a ball handler. Feed him the ball and let him shoot, that’s where he shines.
  • Another hot night for the Nets Deron Williams who led all scorers with 34 points. Deron went 6-for-9 from downtown and almost brought the Pistons team down late in the game.
  • To make matters worse for Mr. Kardashian, he got dunked on HARD by Jason Maxiell in the first quarter on a huge put-back from Jason. Max finished with 4 points on the night in 13 minutes.

Via NBA.com
[flashvideo file=http://nba.cdn.turner.com/nba/big/games/nets/2012/02/08/0021100378_det_njn_play2.nba_nba_576x324.flv /]

  • 50 points in the paint for Detroit to the Nets 24.
  • Austin Day played 7 minutes and scored zero points. To be quite honest, I didn’t even realize he played.
  • The three’s for the Nets almost turned this win into a loss.
  • Prince with 15 points, 5 assists in 34 minutes.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

[flashvideo file=http://nba.cdn.turner.com/nba/big/games/nets/2012/02/08/0021100378_det_njn_recap.nba_nba_576x324.flv /]

  • Rodney Stuckey played 34 minutes with 13 points, 6 assists and 2 boards.
  • Brandon Knight has adjusted to the mask. Knight took it right to the hole as soon as he could, knowing he was going to get contact. The same spark he had before the injury was on the court in New Jersey. Knight finished with 13 points, 4 assists, 4 turnovers and a blocked shot in 36 minutes on the floor. To top Brandon’s return, he made a HUGE three late in the fourth quarter to cement the victory.
  • Fist time the Pistons have won three games in a row since last April.
  • Next up, the Nets again on Friday night for Star Wars Night at The Palace.
10 Responses to "Pistons beat the Nets to make it three in a row"
  1. Mel says:

    Every player even Austin Daye who played got an assist and a rebound.
    29 assist for the team. If they can do that 60 percent of the time we’re in good shape. The Moose is loose, he’s confident now. Sky’s the limit for him, and he’s just 21. WOW!

  2. Tycoon says:

    Waiting for the dunk video, nice win. yes its 3 straigth.

  3. Badboy says:

    I like the wins but I like the chance at Anthony Davis better.. Just sayin

  4. gordbrown says:

    Amazing what health and three days off can do for a team isn’t it. Thrilled to see great performances from Stuckey, Gordon, Jonas and Monroe (although bummed that he came one rebound short of the target). Let’s get those players all healthy and playing together and all kinds of good things are possible. Still NJ sucks big time but its always great to beat those guys.

  5. Mel says:

    I just watched the NBA Pistons, Nets Highlights, and because I missed the game. I like to play them over and over to get a feel how the game was. From the highlights seems like they where playing with a lot of energy. And that G-Money Dunk at the end was sick. He’s starting to master that slow shudder step to the basket like Dantly had, but then he dunks on Chris Humphries, the way he swings his arm at the end, simply player,player baby. He’s getting comfortable out there now, and I’m loving it. Moose Baby

  6. Julian says:

    Moose is very close to being an ALL STAR center in this league.
    He is 9th in the NBA in double doubles behind some big name PF and C.
    It was a very enjoyable game to watch for a Pistons fan.
    As far as drafting Anthony Davis, that will be reserved for the terrible Hornets team since we are not nearly as bad as they are.
    We got a healthy squad now and we are improving steadily.
    No we are still not a playoff team but are that far away either.
    The draft is deep this year and even a late lottery pick will help the team next year.

  7. gordbrown says:

    The number one pick in the draft will go to a team with less lottery balls than the Pistons. You can take that to the bank. Pistons best case scenario is 7. Start looking around that level to see what’s coming. Having said that is something like Knight or Monroe drop to that level again we’re fine.

  8. daddy says:

    the boys are starting to play like a team and its a good start but still its against a terrible team. i like moose and the swede playing together. jj is a nice cutter and knows how to play team basketball. most euros do. i like how knight with the mask still took it to the bucket we are starting to turn the corner fellas.

  9. Julian says:

    May the force be with you on Friday at the Palace.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM