Pistons beat the Celtics…again

Posted · 16 Comments
Greg Monoe

The #Pistons closed out their season series with a 96-81 over the #Celtics Sunday night at a sellout crowd at the Palace of Auburn Hills. The Pistons, who have now won seven of their last nine games could go into the All Star break on a winning note.

Key Points:

  • This game looked as though it may have been close, but soon after Detroit  broke a  26-all tie after one quarter to seize control firmly before halftime they never really let go.
  • Greg Monroe led the Pistons with 17,  and 10 boards.  Good to see Moose shake his offensive woes.  Greg was aggressive all night long.
  • No Kevin Garnett for the Celtics.
  • Defense! Detroit forced turnovers all night and capitalized on them.

Rodney Stuckey on defense: “It’s pretty much how we won the ball game. Defensively getting after them; our big guys did a phenomenal job of rebounding the basketball, we got out on the break, pushing the ball, and getting to the free throw-line really helped us. We didn’t shoot the ball well tonight, but just getting to the free-throw line and our defense really helped us tonight.”

  • I can’t remember the last time the Pistons dis so well with second-chance points. The Pistons with a  29-6 advantage over Boston.
  • The Pistons shot more than 30
  • The Pistons frustrated Rajon Rondo so much that he got tossed in the third quarter after two quick technical fouls.  FYI, after a few choice words you can’t throw the ball at the ref, just ask Sheed.
  • Rondo ejected via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Five Pistons in double figures.
  • 40 points in the paint to 18 for Boston.
  • Jason Maxiell with six points and 10 boards, with one blocked shots and three assists in 21 minutes.  Jason is flourishing in the starting lineup.  He’s not filling the stats but he’s doing the important things to make teams win just like Jonas.
Jason Maxiell

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Jason isn’t the only one who has been playing better. Since Jonas and Jason have switched places in the starting lineup they each have stepped up their game.  Jonas finished with 13 points, 6 boards, 2 steals and a blocked shot in 21 minutes.  That’s a Need4Swede.
  • How good does it feel to win the season series again the Celtics?
  • Daye in the doghouse.
  • Vernon Macklin gets 2 points in his 43 seconds on the court!
  • Brandon Knight with 12 points, 2 assists and 4 boards.
  • Nice game from Tayshaun who put up 13 with 6 boards and an assist.
  • Ben Wallace…Get that out of here

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Ben Gordon puts up 4 points, but am I imagining things or is this guy actually playing defense?
  • Pistons to the line 46 times on the night and made 29.
Jonas Jerebko

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • I wish I had Charlie Villanueva’s job. I could really use a paid extend vacation.
  • Stuckey with 16 points on 2-for-10 shooting, going 12-15 from the line.
  • The Pistons won the board war 43 to 40.
  • The Pistons led by 13 at halftime and 14 after three-quarters, had they made their free throws this would have been a blowout.
  • It’s fun to win and I’m glad this team is doing so.  They are actually fun to watch right now.  I hate to say it, but I’m hoping they don’t play well enough to ruin their chances of a high draft pick just to sputter out.  I am not about tanking at all but it’s a double-edged sword.  You need a good draft, especially when you have money tied up in players like Gordon and Villanueva.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Greg Monroe: “I think our intensity and focus over the full 48 minutes has changed. Everybody has come into their roles, everybody is holding themselves accountable and we’re all playing together.”

  • Winnable game against the Cavs on Tuesday.
16 Responses to "Pistons beat the Celtics…again"
  1. N1ck says:

    Rajon u mad bro’? :)

  2. Cerecyte says:

    Really enjoyed the way the pistons played tonight. No one was really hot offensively, just damn good aggressive, unrelenting defense.

    If i could be critical …we honestly should have made more free throws. Stuck is like 84 FT%, Monroe was like 80%. Pistons should have made around about 75 percent. Had we done so, we could have snapped their necks much sooner.

    Btw it was only one basket, but the Vernon Macklin hook shot was intriguing.

  3. Tycoon says:

    We need this winning morale more than higher draft pick.

  4. Mel says:

    I agree, set the culture first, then whoever we get will fall in line, just like the “Going To Work Crew” was established. The way they are playing now is the way Rick Carlisle had them playing, with energy. That set the tone, then Joe was able to plug away during the process. Don’t worry about the draft, once they set themselves up to be a playoff caliber team , players will want to come and play for the Pistons. Players always want to play for a winner, if they keep this up it will make it easier for Joe to make moves to get that big man either draft or trade. Joe’s got good ability to get good picks in the teens if need be. So I wouldn’t worry about the draft.

    Frank is the one, He got them Boyz Playing and believing in his philosophy.

    Deeeetroit Baaaaaasketball

    Peace

  5. daddy says:

    moose did his best dwight impression and im talking about 1 for 7 at the charity stripe. only bad thing i saw all night.

  6. edt says:

    you’ll notice who frank has not been playing

    Daye
    Macklin
    Russell
    Wilkins

    These guys are belong in a list of the 25 worst players in the NBA. I would be happy if we never saw another minute from them (except for Daye, play him a bit so we can trade him for value).

    So we have these guys as starters:

    Prince, Monroe, Stuckey Knight, maxiell = 26 million or so

    as bench we have

    Ben Gordon, Bynum, jerebko, wallace, Charlie V when he heals up = 31 million or so

    Obviously the problem with this team is Joe D and the free agent signings of Charlie & Ben Gordon.

    Everyone else on this team is playing at or above their salary.

    Joe needs to make some moves in March when all the NBA players signed in November become available.

    • Riv says:

      Of those 4 players you mentioned, Wilkins is short term until Singler get back on the team from Europe, Russell jr. is useful behind Bynum (#5 guard), Macklin picked at #52 was not gonna get a run this year but might have a shot when Big Ben retires (a slim one with a strong front court draft), but Daye is in trouble!! Him and CV31 are amnesty material if they don’t get it together soon (more so for CV31). Coach Frank is the best thing for Stuckey and Max of late.

  7. Julian says:

    As we keep winning and we continue creeping up the lottery ladder, it is likely that the player we get in the draft will not start right away.
    But with players like Knight and Moose the future is bright for the Pistons.
    I think the key next year will be CV since he ties up alot of money for a bench player. If he can be a productive starter at PF than that will be great but he has not started many games in the last few years so my feeling is that they should trade him or amnesty him and free up some money for a starting PF to replace Maxiell if he is not resigned for next year.

    The Cavs are the next team to get a Pistons beat down.

  8. josh blue says:

    Rondo is so soft. no heart, whatsoever. and you can get to him…imagine what laimbeer would do to that 10 cent head of rondo’s….wooo boy

  9. Julian says:

    CV stats from last year 11 starts in 72 games. 11 points/4 rebounds in 21 MPG for $7.5 million about the same as JJ stats this year except he makes ONLY $4 million a year.

  10. Drew says:

    Rajon, this black-on-black violence has got to stop!

  11. Julian says:

    I would be ironic if the Pistons end up sneaking into playoffs by beating out the Celtics who along with Knicks are currently 5 games up on the Pistons for the last playoff spot.

    Go Pistons

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM