Oh…no Canada – Pistons lose to the Raptors

Posted · 22 Comments
feb_22_12_maxiell

The Raptors snapped a four game skid beating the Pistons 103-93 inToronto.  The Raptors built a 23 point lead early in the fourth quarter before a cheap shot flagrant foul from Toronto’s Jerryd Bayless set off Greg Monroe and got the Pistons within nine with under five mints to go.

Despite the fourth quarter surge the Pistons go into the All Star break losers of two straight.

Key Points:

  • Greg Monroe with a heck of a game.  Greg led the Pistons with 30 points, 14 boards, 2 assists, 2 blocked shots and a steal.  Not only did he get the Pistons back in the game, but he never stopped fighting, even when the game was close to being out of reach with seconds left.
Greg Monroe with 30 points and 15 boards in Toronto

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

 Greg Monroe on the flagrant: “I think it was overboard – I don’t think it was borderline at all,” he said of Bayless. “I think it was pretty obvious. They made the right call. … I was already fired up. We just didn’t play well. I don’t know what was going on. I know we can play better than that. They just came out and wanted to win more than us.”

  • Stuckey played just 18 mints going 0-for-2, did he take his “vacation” before this game started?
  • It’s very rare to come back from a 22 point deficit.
  • Toronto shot 53 percent and beat the Pistons on the glass, 47-37.
  • Walker Russell in the game when it counted. Lawrence Frank kept the guys in that got them back there.
  • How do you know that you have done something really bad or nothing at all? When Wilkins is in the game instead of you when he has the stomach flu.
  • Props to Damion for going out there and giving it his all after vomiting all day and right up to tip-off.
  • Austin Daye a DNP.
  • I still have love for Amir Johnson.
  • Six Raptors in double figures.
  • T Prince 6-for-16 for 14 points, a steal, 2 assists and 7 boards.
  • DeRozan…DeDeadly
  • 18th double-double of the season for Moose.
  • Brandon Knight with 16 points, 3 assists and 2 boards in 36 minutes. Did I mention zero turnovers?
  • Ben Gordon, I still don’t know what or who he is.  3-for-6 for 6 points and a -17 in the box.
  • Jonas Jerebko fouled out with 5 minutes left in the game after playing just 18 minutes.  Jonas finished with 8 points and 3 boards.
  • Jason Maxiell started the game hot, but cooled off a bit.  Jason finished with 12 points, 2 blocked shots, 2 assists and 5 boards.
  • Will Bynum stayed in Detroit for personal reasons.
  • Two very winnable games that resulted in losses.  Let’s see what the second half of the season brings.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Don’t forget to watch Greg Monroe and Brandon Knight on Friday night in the NBA Rising Stars Challenge.

 

22 Responses to "Oh…no Canada – Pistons lose to the Raptors"
  1. terry says:

    I want to see more assist from our point guard,but Overall a good loss for detroit.

  2. Julian says:

    Another healthy scratch for Austin. Wilkins is now second on the depth chart behind Tay.
    Lawrence has NO confidence in Daye at all nor should he, the way he has performed when he did get minutes. It does not matter when u are drafted only how you can play.

  3. edt says:

    the most reliable stat for the small forward position is probably hollinger’s player efficiency rating. In the entire nba the worst player is Rasual Butler, Jason Kapono is 2nd, Ryan Gomes 3rd, Outlaw 4th, Shawne Williams 5th, Metta World Peace 6th.

    At 7th is Damien Wilkins. at 9th is Austin Daye and at 27th is Tayshaun Prince.

    We suck at small forward, top to bottom.

    By the way Greg Monroe is now #3 on the Per for centers. Behind only Dwight Howard and Al Jefferson.

    Walker Russell is also terrible, no matter how much people love a good story doesn’t make him a baller.

    Jerebko is servicable at small forward, but can’t start due to the way he plays, he plays as an energy player, and picks up too many fouls to ever start in the NBA.

    Hard to believe that Joe D spent the past 3 or 4 years stacking us at the small forward position and they all suck. What can I say. Joe D went for quantity over quality.

  4. daddy says:

    bg do something. if you choose not to play d at least do something on offense. that means taking care of the rock and spreading the floor.

  5. Enoc (Mexico) says:

    How can our Pistons get wins over Boston, Orlando or Portland and not being able to pull one vs. the cavs and the raptors?? Great game 4 Moose and BK… half tank game for Tay but the others seemed to be out of the game since the beginig. What about Stuck? and BG? They never showed up in to the game.

    • Tycoon says:

      Relax, this is the 2nd game of back-to-back. We normally just collapse on this type of game, you have to like how we showed signs of coming back.

  6. Julian says:

    I do not see the Pistons involved in any trades this season because Moose and Knght are untouchable and the rest are overpaid for what they bring to the table.
    Russell will probably be gone next year.
    Hopefully Singler can start at SF position next year so that Tay can come off the bench. Both Wilkins and Daye should not be in the NBA.
    They really need a PF starter and a backup C for Moose next year since Big Ben and Maxiell will probably not be back. Who knows about CV and his ankle spurs.
    The only chance of getting better next year is getting lucky in the draft or by free agency after getting rid somebody from their large amount of dead weight by amensty (CV?).
    Joe has his work cut out for him. But it could be worse, Michael Jordan`s team has a winning percentage of 0.125% right now. Ouch. They could end up with the worse percentage ever in the history of the NBA.

    • edt says:

      Singler is a garbage/bench player for real madrid, in their last blowout where they beat the other team by like 20 or 30 points, Singler scored 4 points in 15 minutes.

      Unless he gets better, he’ll be useless next year in the NBA.

  7. Drew says:

    Did Stuckey get injured? Somebody put on their reporter’s hat and find out por favor.

    • No no injury he just decided to take off early for all star break. True Buffoonery

      • Drew says:

        Just ran out of gas I guess, smh. At least he didn’t chuck up too many missed shots in that case.

      • edt says:

        Right on there Nat. Taking off early for the all star break is tolerable in my book.

        • Jo-El says:

          I was wondering what happened to Stuck. Was following the game on espn and saw that he didn’t even reach 20mins. Hope this doesn’t start off another roller-coaster ride of buffoonery.

      • Benix86 says:

        Nat, why would you not bullet a thing on Amir?? Do you not like the guy? Detroit all but gave up on him, he was like 17 years old when we drafted hes really come into a solid NBA power-forward. Just wondering if why you didnt post anything on him??

  8. edt says:

    intolerable

  9. rai_from_the_philippines says:

    “Greg Monroe with a heck of a game. Greg led the Pistons with 30 points, 14 boards, 2 assists, 2 blocked shots and a steal. Not only did he get the Pistons back in the game, but he never stopped fighting, even when the game was close to being out of reach with seconds left. ”

    Loved this point in the post. This is how a player truly bleeds Detroit Pistons red, white, and blue. The rest of the team (as well as us fans) should follow suit.

  10. Julian says:

    Singler stats for Real Madrid: 8 PG 4 RB 23 MPG
    He would be a decent backup to Tay next year and potentially become a starter in a couple of years. At least the guy can shoot compared to Daye and Wilkins who can`t hit the side of a barn with their shot. They need to go.
    Tayshaun is not a bad player when he is healthy and motivated.
    Plus we need one or two big men more we need a backup SF at this point in time.

    • edt says:

      take what singler is doing in real madrid and cut it in half. He’s not good. Can you imagine Jerebko playing for Real Madrid he would be Kevin Durant over there.

  11. J.G says:

    I guess we’ll have to ride out bg’s and cv’s contracts unless we can trade up in the draft and sell these guys on their expirable contracts.

  12. N1ck says:

    I’ll go with Julian on this one. Real Madrid is one of the top European teams and don’t go thinking it’s easy to play in Europe… That mistake has been done so often in recent years… I think the guy can shoot, he desreves a chance.

    No worries, the last two games have downed this euphoria a bit, we still suck, ladies and gentlemen. But Lawrence is doing a good job improving the team. Also, we have put some interesting young pieces together , hope we can put some more… Now finally, this “rebuilding” word is starting to make sense…

  13. N1ck says:

    Now we need a few good big men and what will be next year when Big Ben is gone an Maxiell starts asking another 5 million a year contract… :O
    Uh-oh…

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM