Greg Monroe steals the show

Posted · 15 Comments
march_29_12_monroe

Pistons snap their 3 game losing streak with a 109-94 victory over the Bobcats led by Rodney Stuckey’s game high 20 points and Greg Monroe’s career high 20 boards and 19 points.

1st quarter

  • Stuckey drives like he always does. Then he seems like he remembers something the coach told him . . . something. . . was it pass the ball? Yes, that’s it, pass the ball. He turns around passes it right at Moose. The balls lands in Mooses’s midsection and he could not be surprised than if he had given birth to a baby boy on court. Purely from reflex, Moose jams it. Stuckey is not going to try this “assist” thing again, if he can help it, because it startles the rest of the team too much.
  • Ben Gordon gets the ball. I can tell what he is thinking. “please don’t pass to me, please don’t pass to me, oh no I’m open,” the ball gets to him, he fires and it goes up, “not going in, not going in, not going in” it clanks off. “Oh F my life.” Ben Gordon needs courage more than the cowardly lion did in the Wizard of Oz.
  • Biyombo is beastly, blocking all kinds of shots. He’s looking a lot better than previous reports had indicated. But maybe that’s just the “Piston’s Effect.” Doesn’t seem to have any offense though.
  • Between Stuckey and the Moose we hold a small lead.

2nd quarter

  • Kemba comes off the bench in the 2nd, not sure why they don’t start him, he’s better than DJ Augustin. Maybe they are punishing him like how the lazy parent punishes the child before he does anything, “Go get the switch,” “Buuuut Dad, I ain’t done nothing,” “Go get it, I know you’re gonna act up later.”
  • I know Knight can score, but what I like to watch when he is one on one on these other young guards is whether or not he can move his feet fast enough to stay in front of them. Generally speaking, this whole season has been a failure defensively for Knight. Put it this way, if he can defend elite point guards, then it doesn’t matter if he looks like an autistic bunny rabbit when he shoots . . . I mean, it doesn’t matter if he shoots like Shawn “The Matrix” Marion, he’ll have a future in the league. But if he can’t learn to defend, he must be outstanding in all other aspects of his game.
  • I have noticed that officials are “letting them play” more this year than last year. This is not normally good for the Pistons because aside from Stuckey we are not that athletic, so it’s hard for out guys to play through contact. Though “letting them play” does help Jerebko a bit because Jerebko always wants to rip the other guy in half.
  • Knight has so much confidence, he dribbles back a fast break and shoots a three all calm, like he’s having English tea. Boom. Wish Knight could give an i.v. confidence transfusion, give some of that ego to Ben Gordon. I know it’s popular to complain about ego like it’s bad. Ego when you’re out at the club and stomping on everyone is bad. But ego on the basketball court when you are stomping on everyone is good. I think that’s why I seem to like Knight so much despite his terrible PER stats.

  • Coach only played Jerebko 5 minutes, but still JJ racked up 2 fouls. At this rate, if Jerebko played a full 48 minutes he would rack up 10 personal fouls a game. You got to ration your Jerebko.
  • We go into the half with a comfortable lead of 15 points. I think we got the Indian Sign on the ‘cats. Or if you prefer, we have good matchups. Scoring at will, baby.

3rd Quarter

  • Biyombo doesn’t start. And the ‘cats can’t stop the Moose. Actually the ‘cats can’t stop anything we do. I think there’s a chance we can take away their will to live here. Heck, I have some sympathy for the ‘cats, I understand they are trying hard, just like us, they are a rebuilding team. But if you got a chance to step on their neck, and get to garbage time early, oh that would be a wonderful thing.
  • Apparently Biyombo hit the showers early, because Maxiell ate his baby. Would have liked to see more of him, maybe next time.
  • Stuckey is like a locomotive running downhill, the ‘cats got out of his way for a fast break. Like they are afraid. Hell yeah. His next possession is ridiculous, Stuckey shot and missed, blew everyone out of the way, grabbed a rebound shot missed, grabbed it again, shot and the Moose finished it. That’s confidence.
Rodney Stuckey with 36

Photo/AP editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Prince makes a difficult turn around isolation fade away and I still hate his game even when he makes the shot.
  • Charlie V and Austin Daye are shown chatting together. They’ve had a long time to develop a friendship. On the bench. I have a feeling they are going to have plenty of time to become even closer friends.
  • 14 point lead to end the 3rd. Still a comfortable lead but not the foot on the throat we could have.

4th Quarter

  • Corey Maggette is the ‘cats leading scorer so far with 15 points, while our trio of scorers is Knight, Stuckey and Moose. Kemba comes in. The matchup that was advertised has not been there, Walker has about 7 minutes to begin the 4th quarter.
  • JJ gets a wonderful jam on a fast break. Assist from Stuckey. That made me smile. A nice reward to JJ for his defensive effort.
  • Damien Wilkins really is terrible. Prince comes back early to finish the last 7 minutes of the game. At 5 minutes left we are up by 17 points and we still haven’t put this team away yet. We let them hang around.
  • 3 minutes left and we made it. Garbage time, starters are still in, Jerebko fouls out with 20 minutes playing time, but we have the game in hand, so it’s all good.
  • I’m thinking DJ White sure does have a nice beard. Is that kind of beard in fashion now? I think I want to grow one like that.
  • This is the best part of the game

Greg Monroe with a career high 20 rebounds

Final thoughts

20 rebounds for the moose. We really are lucky to have Frank. Imagine if we had the ‘cats coach, Paul Silas. I liked this game by the Pistons. Good job. A great job would have been stomping on them and make them wish they were dead in the 3rd quarter. But still, a darn good job.

15 Responses to "Greg Monroe steals the show"
  1. Drew says:

    Wow, edt getting to do the write up. I like it. Some good similes in there. Stuckey had 29 points, btw.

  2. piston_fan_phl says:

    “Kemba comes off the bench in the 2nd, not sure why they don’t start him, he’s better than DJ Augustin”. Augustin is a better distributer and is a better fit in the pg position. Kemba is an undersized sg imho.

    Nice recap edt.

  3. edt says:

    That makes sense pistons fan ph

  4. pistonsfan101 says:

    Yeah great recap edt!

  5. Leftos says:

    Great recap edt. Lots of laugh out loud moments, and a lot of detail.

  6. AJtheman says:

    Horrible jokes but good recap!

  7. edt did a great job! I love it that his boy Stuckey scored 29. And though I picked Gordon to have his breakout season…I was terribly wrong. He’s awful!

  8. Lori says:

    Go edt!!! You rock! Loved the detail.

  9. junior says:

    nice job edt. liked the post and i loved the game! too bad we couldnt play the bobcants every game. o and nat, stuckeys not just edt boy hes mine n drews too!

  10. daddy says:

    stuck can be a poor mans d wade with his ability to drive and take it to the bucket strong. he needs to learn how to take his time and how to read the defense better.

  11. cerecyte says:

    I know i hate Prince’s game too. He’s so isolationistic (i don’t think that’s a word, but ill let it slide, as its the perfect adjective to describe his offensive game.)

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM