Ben Wallace goes down in the record books in the Pistons loss to the Spurs

Posted · 4 Comments
feb_14_12_wallace

Almost. For most of the game, the script looked to be playing out as expected. The Spurs were methodically beating the Pistons and imposing their veteran prowess on them. The Palace was quiet. But then, on a night where Ben Wallace broke the record for most games played by an undrafted player, he hit just his 7th career 3-pointer to spark a 20-5 Detroit run. In the end, the savvy Spurs executed better in crunch time and emerged victorious 99-95. But make no mistake; this was Ben Wallace’s night.

Key Points:

  • In addition to the big 3-pointer, Ben played great defense and had a couple big offensive rebounds in the last few minutes.
  • Rodney Stuckey finished with 23 points on 8-12 shooting. Greg Kelser made a great point that Stuckey’s points came within the flow of the offense tonight. He didn’t force things and was efficient because of it.
Rodney Stuckey against the Spurs

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Tayshaun shot the ball well, especially in the 1st half. Maxiell set some nice screens to free up Prince and Tay knocked down the open shots.
  • Speaking of Maxiell, his box score doesn’t show much, but he did a nice job starting at power forward. He had 2 highlight worthy blocks and is definitely still capable of “baby-eating” when given the chance.
  • Greg Monroe was off tonight. 4 points, (2 for 11 shooting), and 6 rebounds is not going to cut it for the Pistons best player. But he has taken a huge leap this year and one off night is certainly forgivable for the young forward.
  • Manu Ginobili had just one point in 25 minutes. That one point came when he was intentionally fouled with less than 20 seconds left. In fact, he didn’t do much of anything all night except flop and flail when presented with any contact.
  • Matt Bonner made his first three shots (all 3’s). I don’t understand why teams ever leave him open. I also don’t understand how Bonner is able to be such a great jump shooter with a jump shot uglier than mine.
  • The Pistons had 22 assists and more importantly, just 13 turnovers, a low number for them.

For the fans that continue to stick with this team and invest free time and/or entertainment dollars, nights like tonight are rewarding. Sure, the final few minutes were a reminder of the long and difficult road ahead. But Ben Wallace had a few tricks up his sleeve and provided fans a reason to get off their seats and couches and cheer. And on this night, where he was honored for his consistency and longevity, Ben gave us all a reminder of why we love the Pistons, and why we love him. I’ll never forget watching Ben Wallace in a Pistons uniform this past decade. Tonight, he gave us all one more memory to enjoy.

4 Responses to "Ben Wallace goes down in the record books in the Pistons loss to the Spurs"
  1. Noa Daniely says:

    I wish I could be there. I knew that Ben still has it inside! LETS GO BIG BEN! He is definitely the reason why I love the Pistons.

  2. daddy says:

    congrats big ben he is one of the main reasons why i feel in love with the team. your leadership and motivation is well appreciated.

  3. Pistons4ever (Germany) says:

    Damn it, a shame I didn’t catch the game :(
    But great job Ben! And go Pistons!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM