The Pistons vs. The Sixers – Brandon Knight to Start

Posted · 14 Comments
The Pistons vs The Sixers

The 2-4 Pistons are in Philadelphia to take on the on the 3-2 Sixers in their long awaited home opener. What Pistons fans need to be concerned about is the fact that Rookie Brandon Knight will get his first NBA start.

Knight will be starting in place of  Rodney Stuckey, who’s out for tonight’s game with a groin injury. Austin Daye will also get the starting nod with Ben Gordon out for personal reasons.

  • The good: Brandon Knight! And if Austin Daye gets his game back it will be the Knight and Daye show. The Sixers have lost the last three of four home openers.
  • The bad: If you watched the Bulls game you would say just about everything.
  • The unknown: Will Knight have the night of his life? Will Greg Monroe and Jonas Jerebko continue to play lights out?

The Game Day Report via Pistons.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

If you’re looking for a great deal on Pistons Tickets look no further. The Pistons are working with Need4Sheed to give you special exclusive rates on Tickets, whether you want to spend $19 dollars or $90!

Tip off is at 7:00 pm and will be broadcast on Fox Sports If you can’t catch the game on TV, catch it on the radio over at 97.1 The Ticket.

14 Responses to "The Pistons vs. The Sixers – Brandon Knight to Start"
  1. Drew says:

    What’s with this Ben-Gordon-out-for-personal-reasons stuff all the time?

  2. Julian says:

    Daye needs to take advantage of this opportunity to be a starter for todays game and show us what he can do as a SG since he seems to be not strong enough to be a SF.

  3. edt says:

    Nice to see Brandon Knight get a lot of burn. He’s clearly not ready for speed of the NBA game, so the more minutes the better. Jerebko & the Moose as always were excellent. Maxiell was decent. Bynum was decent. Prince looked old. Daye looked like a D leaguer. Ben Wallace had his getting in a workout of six minutes. Villanueva was the boy forgotten at the supermarket and Mom and Dad never went back to pick him up again.

    • detroitKG says:

      Knight is going to be very good when he gets his shot to start falling in the NBA. Something that will get overlooked about him is 9 rebounds tonight! From a PG. He and Monroe are honestly the only bright spots on this team at times…

  4. Toteh says:

    We need offense but CV sitting and doing nothing again. Yea people, I know he doesn’t play defense well. This guy light up a score board any giving night. This was a good game in the first half and then what happen as usual, the perimeter are left wild open and those three ball start fall from the opponent. The Pistons need help. Sometime coaches need to put away their ego especially when the team is struggling from an offensive stand point and play Cv

  5. Tycoon says:

    An overpaid player should make no excuse for personal reasons. Well, except for death or accident of a family member. Without Gordon and a miserable shooting from Daye, we simply dont have any reliable offense. Thanks to Monroe who played well again.

    • junior says:

      So maybe u should keep ur mouth shut n give him a break. We dont know what happened in his life. Life is far more important than this game of bball.

  6. Elliot says:

    i agree, i would like to see CV get an extended look yet. I think CV can still be a productive player. With his offensive production, if he plays just average defense he will be all right. I think if CV is engaged, he can be a decent player. Everyone seems to forget the CV that played the first two months of last season. He had solid offense a decent defense. What happened was that like the rest of the team, he got caught up in the dysfunction that defined last year and his game declined. I hope L frank takes it upon himself to get the CV that was the first two months of last season to show up again. As young as CV still is and with his offensive skill set for his size, he has to much potential to give up on.

  7. Tycoon says:

    Knicks struggled to beat Wizards today. I hope we could steal one tomorrow. Both are on a back-to-back and we are playing at home, I think we have a good chance.

  8. 20 Chainz says:

    we need better shooting percentage!!

    honestly Austin Daye dispoints me this year so much. The whole team missed all the 3 and Daye cant seem to be more than a lanky basketball player. Honestly, he needs to prove himself worthy of minutes because it seems like he his mind is half in the moment and half somewhere else. I don’t know where his mind is but it is not in pistons basketball.

    Prince has lost his mojo

    Brandon knight looked good, but he does not look great. I really want him to make that All-rookie team. that is something the pistons need. He needs to get less turnovers. Moreover I think he needs to start being groomed to be a team leader. Next to Rubio, Irving and Cole; Knight must challenge himself to compete with those guys if he wants to be on the all-rookie team

    Monroe and Jerebko they are the future. They play good despite having a mediocre team.

    If we get scoring then we are good. But with scoring comes assists and we need that.

    Pistons should call Orlando and tell them that they want part in a 3 team trade. It won’t get us much, but at this point we are not going to get anywhere unless we get a big guy and a competent swingman. I think that would be are only option.

  9. Tycoon says:

    Almost all of Knight’s turnovers that resulted into Sixers’ transition were in highlights. But I bet this kid will learn sooner than expected.

  10. Julian says:

    Looks lilke Austin and CV will not be back next year.
    Prince should come off the bench next year in my opinion.
    We need a SF starter, a decent backup to Monroe, SG that can hit 3s and another decent PF besides Jonas, either in the draft or free agency or trade. Although it does not look like Dumars wants to trade his 2nd round picks right now.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Indiana
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Orlando
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Houston
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Miami
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Denver
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Chicago
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Washington
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM