More than just a Knick, that was a deep gash

Posted · 13 Comments
jan_7_12_monroe_anthony

The Pistons got pummeled Saturday night at the Palace of Auburn Hills 103-80 in what may have been one of the worst showings by a Pistons team that I witnessed since the dreaded teal years.

Key Points:

  • It was actually 25-24 after the first quarter.  I left my seat for five minutes and the Knicks had already started the beat down.  They blew the score wide open in about a three minutes span going on a 16-0 run.
  • New York outscored the Pistons 39 to 18 in the second quarter and 22-to-15 in the third.
  • The dunks and open look shots the Knicks put up on the Pistons were demoralizing.  Every time it happened the Palace crowd gave an awe in unison.
  • At one point this team was shooting about 27% from the floor.  They finished shooting 37%.
  • This little stat was just really a first quarter thing.  The game was tied 7 times with 5 lead changes.
  • I think I saw “angry” Lawrence Frank more time than I wanted to last night.
  • Careless with the ball. A disgusting 20 turnovers.
  • Brandon Knight, who started again in place or Rodney Stuckey,  led the Pistons with 19 points, 6 boards, 4 assists and 3 steals. The kid is good and has a very bright future, but he needs work.  Knight launched 13 3-point shots and didn’t get to the foul line.
Brandon Knight Detroit Pistons

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Austin Daye in street clothes, though the score might have been worse if he had played.
  • Murdered on the boards, that was one reason the Knicks were able to build their massive lead.
  • Shame on this team for letting Mike Bibby kill them from downtown.  He’s almost as old as Lawrence Frank.
  • Greg Monroe with 15 points and 5 boards.
  • When the team has to count on Jason Maxiell and Damian Wilkins, there is serious trouble. No disrespect to either of them but Tayshaun and others need to start producing.
  • Want to talk about Turrrrable…Ben Gordon committed 9 of Detroit’s turnovers and was 5-for-12 with 12 points. His shot selection is suspect.
  • Jonas and Prince were both 1-for-6.
  • BTW in the official box score Charlie V is a DNP because of a sore right ankle.  Did he catch that from Daye?
  • Highlights of the game via Pistons.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • 50 points in the paint for the Knicks.
  • The game was getting so out of hand that my math skills + a drink wasn’t allowing me to keep up with the deficit.  The Knicks led by as much as 30 in this one.

Lawrence Frank: “This is not representative of who we want to be. We all have to own it. This is going to be a long season, so what we have to do is figure out all the things that are going to be part of the solution.”

  • I can’t really spin any positives on this one, especially since the loudest roar I’ve heard at the Palace in quite some time was when they showed that the Lions had scored their first touchdown.
13 Responses to "More than just a Knick, that was a deep gash"
  1. when you can't say anything nice say... says:

    nothing

  2. Bellllissimo says:

    theres always a positive, every time we lose its another chance for Joe Dumars to see who wants to be here. AND more lottery balls

    i’m usually one loving defense, but i would at least like to see SOME highlight plays when we delivering them.

  3. pistonsfan101 says:

    Just realized Gordon only had 3 points after the first quarter. WOW

  4. Lori says:

    Only positive thing I can say is I loved the title of this! ” More than just a Knick…” That was an outrageously pathetic game. Hurt to watch it.

  5. Richard says:

    Lets just make it to the top spot in the lottery an don’t Darko it up and grab the right person for the team.. Need a serious superstar now..

  6. Leonelreo says:

    Don’t think about who can be chosen by Dumars. Let’s dream about someone kicking Joe in the ass. That could be the first step in a real rebuilding.

  7. gordbrown says:

    Proves once again that Rodney Stuckey is the most important player on the team. That wasn’t the case last year, because McGrady was (most nights) more than capable of providing the same thing. But no Stuckey, no chance to win. Of course, that’s the point of the “start-Knight-now” club. To lose and get lottery balls. I will never ever subscribe to that, and frankly I think it is good to have Stuckey to protect Knight. Helps his development more to be in games the team has a chance to win. Anybody can learn to hoist threes in garbage time. Not a skill that helps frankly.

    • Ratski26 says:

      I agree that Stuckey is important to the Pistons.

      But being the most important player on a losing team doesn’t make Stuckey a good player. Stuckey needs the development too, not just Knight. Last time I checked, Stuckey is 25 and the only mentor he ever had was a brief Chauncy Billups.

      Sorry, not a Stuckey fan either.

  8. sunny says:

    Looked a the schedule… hard to see them winning another game this month.

  9. daddy says:

    well its hard to have d or even get boards when your guards let ppl just walk in the paint. the moose cant help on d and get boards too. hopefully we can get some trades going and acquire some assets and move forward. we still have to time to mix it up. teams will be desperate to dump people or move assests for cheap while trying to chase the ship.

  10. Hawkman42 says:

    The Pistons are struggling, but they are still the team that represents this city, and this state. I am going to stick by them and be a fan, but it is getting hard to watch when they are not only getting outscored but out hustled as well. Ben Wallace is in his upper 30s but he brings a spark every time he is on the court, Greg Monroe is getting a solid 15 and 7 a night, and when Ben Gordon is on, he cannot be stopped. Other players such as Jerebko, Prince, Rodney, and Knight can help Greatly as well.That Game against the magic was sensational. They Played as a true TEAM. Stop the individualism, and start playing Pistons basketball. Start playing Team Basketball.

  11. pistonsfan101 says:

    I think Pistons will be okay. So far, they’ve had one of the toughest schedule in the NBA. The only non-playoff team they’ve played is the Cavs. Pistons schedule is going to be easier in February. They’re playing the Nets 3 times in a 5 game stretch.

    Let’s go Pistons!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM