Memphis over Detroit – It’s Colder in the Palace than Outside

Posted · 8 Comments
jan_20_12_knight

So much for 70’s night at the Palace as Memphis got the best of Detroit with a 98-81 win. On a night where Brandon Knight looked like the future of the team, no player did much else especially when the team turns the ball over a whopping 25 times.

Key Points:

  • They are Turrrrable.
  • Lawrence Frank with some very inspiring words to the ref had just about enough and picked up his first technical foul of the season.
  • Great third quarter from Detroit when it looked like they were going to claw back and make it a game when they got the deficit to just 7.
  • At one point the Grizz where shooting about 67% from the floor.  They finished at 57% by making some easy shots over all the Detroit turnovers.
  • Brandon Knight led the Pistons with 22 points on 6-for-18 shooting with 4 assists and 4 turnovers.  Extended learning minutes for Brandon with both Stuckey and Bynum in street clothes.
  • What is Jason Maxiell?  Flashes of great with a lot of mediocre  thrown in.  Got to give Max one thing though, the dude tries, and we usually get a nice highlight to talk about at least every three games.
  • Via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Walker Russell the 29 year old call up from the Mad Ants in his first ever NBA game did a nice job filling in for the Pistons despite the 3 turnovers. When he was at the line and made his first NBA point I whistled as loud as I could, and if you know me that’s piercing loud, and everyone looked at me like I was crazy. Got to give it up to him for sticking to his dream and finally getting there no matter how long it lasts.

Walker Russell Jr. woke up at 4:30 Friday morning in Sioux Falls, S.D., caught a flight to Chicago and another one to Detroit, spent the afternoon getting a crash course in the offense from Pistons coaches and then pulled on the uniform his father once wore for the team he grew up cheering. Via Pistons.com

  • To be quite honest, I barley payed attention to what was happening on court after about the third quarter, it was just that bad.
  • Prince with 14 on 5-for-13 shooting.
  • Why is Ben Wallace starting? To help Jonas not get deep in the hole with foul trouble.
  • Jonas with 9 points, 7 boards a steal and an assist.
  • Austin Daye with extend minutes (for him) and maybe the start to getting his mojo back. Daye finished with 9 points on 4-for-7 shooting with 2 assists, 3 boards, and 2 blocked shots.
  • The turnover situation is like watching a bad injury on court. Very cringe worthy.

Lawrence Frank on Turnovers: “(Definite problem) especially early on you see 11 turnovers for 18 points, only a third of their points were off turnovers. They had 32 points off of our 25 turnovers, those are back breaking because that’s the first pass of their fast break, those are really crippling.”

Greg Monroe Pistons vs Memphis

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • A very quite double-double for Greg Monroe with 10 points, 13 boards and an assist.
  • Detroit scored 30 points at the half and if sure looked like they wouldn’t even hit the 70 mark on 70’s night.

Brandon Knight: “It’s still a very big learning process as to when to attack and when not to, how to position yourself when you’re driving,” he said. “As a rookie, it’s tough to get calls at certain times of the games. You’ve got to get completely killed to get a call sometimes. I’m just trying to be aggressive and stay positive no matter what the situation is – continue to attack, continue to try to life your teammates, continue to provide intensity, provide positive spirit for everybody.”

8 Responses to "Memphis over Detroit – It’s Colder in the Palace than Outside"
  1. Julian says:

    It is sad when a D league call up or the head coach getting his first technical is major news for an NBA team
    Maxiell is too short for his position and although he does have his good moments he will never be more than a bench player.
    Pistons need Stuck to win but the benefit of him being out is more playing time for our future star, Brandon Knight.
    I think Moose will get more double teams now when he gets the ball which means he will be less productive but will lead to more assists for him. He should still get his double doubles.
    Next game/ loss against Portland.
    Better luck next time.

  2. Julian says:

    Don`t look now but the latest Hollinger NBA power ranking on ESPN has our Pistons ranked dead last in the league this week.
    OMG, even worse the pathetic Wizards.
    Is it possible?
    Anthony Davis will look real good in a Pistons jersey at PF.

    • junior says:

      Davis is too skinny for the pros, we have daye already

    • Benjamin says:

      I dunno if we want a rookie big next year – huge learning curve (see Monroe last season).

      How about we shift Stuckey over to the 2 spot and see what we can get for Gordon – a tough rebounder w/an NBA body would do the trick. Maybe look at Utah – they need shooters and have too many capable bigs. And see if we can throw in Charlie V or Daye (although I like his length/shooting/potential).

      That’d open up our pick for Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, who plays classic Piston ball with great defense and hustle.

  3. Lori says:

    Cringe worthy is right. Glad this is a short season.

  4. Drew says:

    There’s a thing called talent; we don’t have it.

  5. Julian says:

    Anthony Davis is the consensus first or second pick in the draft.
    He is thin but he is 6` 10 with a great motor.
    His stats are impressive 14 PPG 10 RPG and he leads the nation in blocked shots at almost 5 BPG during his average 30 minutes per game.
    You bulk him up a bit and put him next to Moose and you instantly have better rebounding and defensive team.
    But this year almost any lottery pick can land you a quality big man so we don`t need the number 1 pick to hit the jackpot.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM