Bulls take down the Pistons for the 13th straight time

Posted · 15 Comments
jan_9_12_monroe

The Detroit Pistons just can’t seem to get that Bull of their backs. Chicago took down Detroit in a 68-92 blowout.  Detroit hung with the Chicago, until the Bulls broke it open early in the fourth and never looked back.

Key Points:

  • Turnovers!  Detroit turned over the ball 10 times alone in the fourth quarter, 21 on the night.
  • Detroit shot 3-14 in the fourth quarter scoring just 9 points.
  • At one point Detroit showed flashes of a team that could play solid defense.  That didn’t last long however.
  • Greg Monroe continues to be the bright spot  of the season.  Greg led the Pistons with 14 points, 10 boards and a career high 6 assists.  Moose is the real deal.
  • Season low 68 points.
  • Detroit actually tied it up at 21 to end the first quarter.
  • Stuckey out Austin Daye in.  Austin was 1-for-4 with one rebound, 2 points and a turnover in 12 minutes.
  • Brian Scalabrine (a guy that I can’t stand) is the Bulls version of Darko.
  • Ben Gordon 4 turnovers, 4 assists, and 11 points in 27 minutes.  Ben played well, shooting 50% from the floor but took just 8 shots, finishing with 11 points. I would say he can’t seem to put up a good game against the Bulls, but quite honestly I can only remember less than a handful of big games he’s had in a Pistons uniform. I’m holding out hope.
Ben Gordon Pistons at Bulls

Photo/Getty Imates Editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Will Bynum with 4 turnovers and 4 points in 11 minutes.
  • By the late fourth quarter this game was like a bad accident…you didn’t want to look, but you had to.
  • Jerebko with 4 points and just one board in 24 minutes.
  • Tayshaun a -20 in the box along with Brandon Knight.
  • Tay finished with 11 points on 5-for-12 shooting with 2 assists, a blocked shot and 2 boards.  Tay really needs to step it up.  If his knee is holding him back, that thing needs to get better fast.
  • Detroit is the lowest scoring team in the league.
  • Here…have a nice Jonas Jerebko Jam

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Are they a fourth quarter collapse team now?
  • Maxiell is doing all the little things since the start of the season.  Jason had one heck of a block on Derrick Rose.
  • Brandon Knight, though he’s still making mistakes, has a bright future.  He finished with 13 points, on 6-for-10 shooting, with 5 boards and an assist.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Detroit shot 39% on the night and were outrebounded 37-41.
  • Eight turnovers between the two PG’s Knight and Bynum.
  • Pistons haven’t won in Chicago since 2006.
  • It doesn’t get any easier, with a game Tuesday at the Palace against the World Champion Dallas Mavericks.
15 Responses to "Bulls take down the Pistons for the 13th straight time"
  1. Pistons 4 Life says:

    This really is all pretty simple…..this is what happens when you build a team of guards and small forwards. They can’t rebound and they’re bad defensively….that’s because they have no size. If they continue to suck it up like this I’ll bet money Dumars is let go at the end of the season.

  2. Adam says:

    Not sure what say……joe D. Really screwed up this team…..bye Bye Joe

  3. Toteh says:

    We all can point finger here, but Joe D not on that floor tonight is those players. How in the world your blame Joe for more turnover then point in the fourth quarter, can somebody plzzzzzzz explain that to me. We have Will B. coming off the bench behind Knight, which is our first issue because, Knight still not comfortable with the magnitude of the NBA style of basketball. What leadership has anyone seem from Ty, besides blasting his team can’t play defense basically. From the simple fact; word out of Ty mouth was they “young”. In some retrospect Joe should be held accountable for not pushing trade last year, but not fundamentally blame for ten turnovers, out hustle, and out rebound. Anybody is talented of getting hot in the NBA any night. That why you’re a NBA player not high school or some college player.

  4. Asad says:

    i think we should tank the season
    lottery pick
    practice all summer start fresh..
    we will be back in 8 years (its a cycle)

  5. blam says:

    did u guys notice how it takes less and less to “lead” our team in points? Seriously, its alredy bad when i read Daye led our team with 18 points. But Monroe with 14?? Jesus. Thats the leader? 14?? In a normal team a point leader would have at least 25 or 30 if its west conference. 14 is just pathetic, this team is pathetic. I’m waiting for a single digit point leader this season for detroit, it might just happen.

  6. Tycoon says:

    More turnovers than points in the fourth. I did not imagine that is possible.

  7. Julian says:

    We need guys that hit some outside shots.
    Another stat besides lowest scoring average in league is 4th worst point differntial.
    Prince is way to slow to be a starter right now.
    Frank told Daye to go in for BG after his 4th foul but put in Wilkins instead because Austin was too slow to get off the bench. That says a lot about what Lawrence thinks about Daye. LAZY.

  8. daddy says:

    i cant stand when people say tank the season and get a draft. no keep playing hard and development is a process, and a painful one at that. listen our best scorer is hurt tay is still coming back into his own. bg cant hit a shot in a piston uniform. new coach new system new rules and no training camp, its gonna take more time people. look at the thunder when they first started teams raped them. now they have a young core and are moving forward. we are in the first stage of rebuilding. we get good draft picks, develop them and move forward.

  9. edt says:

    Daye, lazy and arrogant, sounds about right. Can’t wait til we trade Daye.

    Ben Gordon looked awful but, he needs help. I’ve said it before, Ben Gordon has an sweet spot the size of a loaf of bread you have to pass it there or he can’t get his shot off.

    The bulls get a lot of credit, they forced us to move, to be clumsy, they made it so BG could not receive the ball in rhythm, they forced him off his spot, and every pass had gordon reaching.

    Believe it or not Gordon is 42% from the field and 40% from the 3 this year. The bulls shut him down it’s as simple as that.

    I am very troubled by Knight avoiding contact, he seems allergic to getting into the paint, where large bodies live, prefers the outside jumper, why does he take so many threes? so he doesn’t get hit. Derrick Rose crossed Knight up at will, which I guess proves rose is on another planet.

    One thing I do like about Knight and Daye is their insufferable arrogance and belief that they are some kind of NBA gods. I love that ego. Just wish some of it rubbed off on poor Ben Gordon, who looks like some sort of character in a greek drama.

  10. Lori says:

    daddy’s right. It’s just that it’s so painful to watch and is such a slow process. I like Frank so far, he wants the team to play classic Piston basketball and actually gets angry when they mess up. Remember Q’s spaced out face when things weren’t going right and the incredible game of musical chairs that he played with the line up every game? We’ll get there, it’ll just take some time.

  11. sunny says:

    Where are you Joe D??? Get on TV and explain this mess!!!

    Way to give Stuckey and Prince multi year deals. You have lost your mind!

  12. Enoc (Mexico) says:

    First of all, We have a good team; but we have no leaders on it.

    Second, If your best scorer is averaging 15.4 ppg; we have a problem… When Chauncey and Rip where here, Pistons where a defensive team, but they averaged 20 or more points on any given night.

    Third, a big man is absolutely necessary for this team… we need to trade, and quick… Daye, CV… are just LAZY on both ends of the floor and that’s trade material along draft picks

  13. edt says:

    There is a golden rule in the NBA. No matter how lazy your guy is, no matter how badly he plays, no matter how bad his contract is, there is always some other GM in the NBA who think that it’s not the fault of the player but that he just needs some new scenery and a new coach.

    If we have Charlie and BG and Maxiell on this team it’s because Joe D wants them there. They can all get traded, Joe don’t want to.

    Things ain’t gonna improve until Joe D is gone.

  14. Julian says:

    On the positive side, our strength of schedule has been very tough so far.
    We are bad but we are not the worst team in the league since the Wizards still have not gotten a W yet.
    Looks they will get the most lottery balls for the draft.
    Hopefully our young players keep improving and we get rid of some of our baggage next year with some decent free agents.
    I will keep cheering for our beloved Pistons this year but I don`t think I will drop any hard earned money to buy a ticket yet anyway.

  15. zane says:

    I’m gonna say it , No… yes I will say it we will WIN yes Win against the Mavs 2night…..there I said it …. we will win or break another bad record trying….. I “GUARANSHEED” it

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM