The Pistons vs. The Cavaliers

Posted · 19 Comments
The Pistons vs. The Cavaliers

Home for the very first time.

Who cares if it’s a preseason game, this Pistons fan is a little more than excited to watch her team on court at the Palace. Especially when we could have skipped this season entirely.

This will be the first time the Pistons step on court representing new ownership and I for one am excited to see the changes.

May the Gores be with you!

  • The good: Jonas is BACK, Brandon Knight.
  • The bad 0r maybe not: Still no Stuckey.
  • The unknown: Who really is going to play tonight.

Congrats go out to @Sneakerheadjfa , who is going to be sitting in my tickets tonight.

Make sure you follow me on Twitter for Live Game tweets from me at The Palace of Auburn Hills Tonight.

Tip off is at 7:30 pm and will be broadcast on Fox Sports Detroit. If you can’t catch the game on TV, follow it live over at NBA.com or on the radio over at 97.1 The Ticket.

19 Responses to "The Pistons vs. The Cavaliers"
  1. Drew says:

    Watching the game tonight, it’s apparent we need a little Stuckey.

  2. Drew says:

    Brandon Knight looks way smaller than 6’3″

  3. zane says:

    I know its only preseason but after watching I think we need to find trades for cv and or ben gordon we need another BIG to play along side monroe bad….

    • David Sloan says:

      very true, we should use amnesty on Ben Gordon, because he sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! same with charlie v.

  4. Drew says:

    Where was Ryan Hollins tonight?

  5. edt says:

    Ben Gordon took up where he left off last year.

    Terrible

    Brandon Knight is ready to play right now.

    We have a defense. Thanks coach.

    Jerebko looks healthy.

    Austin day looks better at the 2 than Ben Gordon does but Daye is still not ready to start.

    Think about this . . . we only kept one starter on the bench, Prince, and the cavs beat us up. I’m not discouraged though because this is just the pre season and I see a lot of really good things.

    Stuckey is probably gonna get signed for a fee that will cause gnashing of teeth here on need4sheed.

    • Drew says:

      Ben Gordon scored 17, but you’re right: He looked bad in the first half, but picked it up a little in the second. We may have a defense, but we’re still severely weak in the paint defensively. I’ve long thought we should try a tall-ball lineup of Stuckey at the 1 and Daye at the 2.

      • edt says:

        Daye is too flat footed to defend a 2 but he can definitely 2 on the offense, I agree though it’s not a bad lineup just run the switch on defense.

        Hard not to play Ben Gordon because we spent so much money on him. sure would like to amnesty him.

  6. N1ck says:

    Do not judge anything, this is just one (first) preseason match.

    But i think we’re still one of the worst teams in the league…
    There is no over night miracle. That’s the way it is.
    And we have no real trade prospects except Monroe, JJ and Knight, maybe Daye…

    CV for Howard anybody? :D

  7. Bellllissimo says:

    positives
    Greg Monroe was really going after shots and blocking hard.
    brandon knight. We have a point guard and a pass first one. awesome
    will bynum. He’s a great penetrator
    There was more defense than last year for sure.

    negatives.
    it felt like a JV game even with stuckey i think we need that one papa leader of the group. Ben wallace and tayshaun are more lead by example type of players. We need a heart. Similar to a shane battier or chauncey kind of player.
    I hope we are tougher than we seam we seem kind of soft. I mean Monroe Jerebko Maxiell all had 5 fouls or fouled out. The guards need to keep the ball out of the paint more

    but i will say im excited. i think this is going to be a year that surprises people

  8. junior says:

    U guys still wanna let stuck walk? Id rather not after watching the game. Lets get him signed before he gets too far behind in trainig camp, we only have one more preseason game.

  9. James (Australia) says:

    It’s funny. I am more excited about this season than last season, but I think this roster may be less talented than last year’s roster (especially if Stuckey walks or comes back without his heart in it). We have lost Hamilton, McGrady, Wilcox and possibly Stuckey. Sure, Knight looks like an awesome building block, but for the future. Who else have we replaced?

    We are going to be murdered if Bynum and Gordon are going to have to start many games and Gordon doesn’t average 20+ points a game. Bynum puts his heart in it, but we all know he gets reckless and his defence is sloppy at times.

    Charlie V actually looked half-decent, but just couldn’t get the ball in the ring which is, you know, kind of important. Jerebko looked rusty. Monroe looked solid for a first-up hit. I know it is just a preseason game, but I sure hope that is a majorly unfinished product we just saw play.

  10. N1ck says:

    We need Stuck as much as he needs us.
    Nobody’s gonna give him that money…
    + another good big man.

    Monroe/???/Wallace
    Jerebko/Villanueva/Maxiell/Macklin
    Prince/Daye/Wilkins
    Gordon/Stuckey
    Knight/Bynum

    We have good combo of fast guards (Knight, Stuck, Bynum), and a shooting ones (Gordon&Daye(yes)). Hardworking forwards (Prince, JJ & Wilkins), shooting ones (Daye &CV), we have Monroe and we need another good center to back him up. Wallace is old, Maxiell is a forwad and Macklin is a 26 year old rookie second rounder, also a forward. :D

    But all that considered, honestly, I don’t see us in playoffs. Unless Gordon & CV start being beasts, but we all know that’s not gonna happen.

  11. edt says:

    We are making the playoffs this year.

    Greg Monroe is a beast, he gets better as the year goes on.

    Jerebko is an awesome defender don’t judge him on this game he’s rusty.

    Austin Daye is slightly better than this year.

    Knight was absolutely schooling Kyrie Irving the number 1 pick in the nation. Did you see that? Knight wanted to put his foot down on Irving, I love it. This is what champs do.

    Prince is a solid presence at small forward

    Rip Hamilton is gone, AI is gone, T Mac is gone, new coach, new feeling for this team. Did you see the team gather their arms around each other in the middle of the game to talk strategy? This is not last year’s team.

    Maxiell lost a little weight and I think his endurance is up, if he can play more minutes at full intensity this will really help our team.

    We got so much good stuff going on, and remember preseason doesn’t matter. It’s easy to see we are still short one player from our starting roster, but I’m calling this a playoff team.

    I want to see Ben Gordon glued to the bench along with Charlie V. They are decent 6th men, but when given a defensive assignment to guard the other team’s starters all you get is fail.

    • Drew says:

      Very optimistic. I was enthused by the play of Maxiell last night. The stat sheet didn’t really show it, but he played well backing up Monroe. Hope he can stay this motivated all year.

  12. Willis says:

    Amnesty is over for this season, we are stuck with Gordon!

  13. J.G says:

    More than ever we need big men asap. Jeez Joe.D get the message already.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM