No fun at The Garden

Posted · 8 Comments
Jonas Jerebko

The Pistons, despite a big game from Greg Monroe, continued their woes with a 96-85 loss to the Celtics in Boston.  The Celtics Jermaine O’Neal led Boston with 19 points after putting up just 8 point in the Celtics previous three games.

Key Points:

  • The Pistons actually look like a decent team…for about the first 12 minutes.
  • All of Ben Gordon’s five assists were pretty, too bad he shot just 10.  After Wednesday’s game and his resurgence (if that’s what you can call it) you had to figure he was going to have more touches.  Ben finished with 9 points on 4-of-10 shooting.
  • Daye got  his first point of the season going 5-for-11 for 11 points and 5 boards.
  • Surprisingly the Pistons won the board war 35-30, but that’s not saying much considering the Celtics are rebound challenged too.
  • When Jermaine O’Neal is a +25 against you, that says a lot.
  • Starting PG Rodney Stuckey was 1-for-11  with 7 assists in 27 minutes.  If he can’t learn to finish, he needs to stay out of the paint.  Frustrating.
  • Tayshaun Prince with 10 points in 30 minutes.  He took a hit to his knee that’s been giving him trouble.  Let’s keep an eye on that.
  • Brandon Knight didn’t set the Garden on fire going 3-for-11 for 10 points and no assists in 16 29 minutes on the floor.
  • Ben Wallace didn’t come into the ball game ’till late in the 4th quarter for clean up minutes along with Will Bynum and Vernon Macklin.
  • Greg Monroe started the game off right, punishing the Celtics for his match up against Stiemsma.  Moose finished with a game high 22 points and 9 boards. He also added 4 very nice assists.  Thank you Mr. Monroe.
Greg Monroe Scores 22

Photo/Getty Images Editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Jonas seemed to be his usual hustle, get to everything guy.
  • Love Maxiell, but if he’s what the Pistons are counting on for a presence down low, this is going to be a longer season than we all thought it would be.

Highlights via NBA.com

[flashvideo file=http://nba.cdn.turner.com/nba/big/games/celtics/2011/12/30/0021100041_det_bos_recap.nba_nba_576x324.flv /]

  • The way this team can let a game slip away in a matter of minutes is a huge concern. They were actually in this one for a while.

Quote from Austin Day last night after the game: “Im just trying to buy into what L Frank is saying”

  • It may not mean much, but all I could think of when he said it was…bad choice of words, especially after last season. #buffoonery
8 Responses to "No fun at The Garden"
  1. Ratski26 says:

    Austin Daye is still young and isn’t use to winning. Frustrating words from a young player.

    Also, GREG MONROE. What a fantastic game from him. I think I just found my new favorite piston since Rip left. He looked great on the floor. If he could’ve had one of the vets with him (you know, the guys we pay millions to play well who can’t seem to do that), we could’ve been in this game more.

    I knew we were going to lose. But the first quarter was fun to watch. If we could just stay consistent with our play, we could see some great games.

  2. Julian says:

    Pistons join the Timberwolves and Wizards as the only teams without a W so far this season. Looks like a top 3 draft pick is in our future. Which means they will almost certainly get a quality big man for next year`s roster. Too bad they can not amnesty half their team next year also.

    • Bellllissimo says:

      minnesota should be off that list. if it wasnt for that bad call in the forth where they called lebron a foul when he charged the game would of been minnesota

  3. zane says:

    Let’s keep our heads up “True” piston fans… and hey with CV I predicts a win to end this year… Oh! by CV I mean your choice of vodka ♥ GO PISTONS
    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

  4. 20 Chainz says:

    Your wrong about Brandon Knight, he had 29 Minutes on the floor, not 16 minutes. Source ESPN

    All the players have low FG percentages which is a huge problem. I mean really depressingly low. They just cant get it in. It annoys me.

    I think we need to trade either Bynum, Stuckey or Gordon, our guard situation is way over crowded and it is just hurting us. IMO Bynum has market value, he may be good, but we have no room for his talent if all we do is play him after Stuckey and Knight. Also trade Maxiell. We need a big guy and someone who can defend.

  5. Julian says:

    Even though they are probably going to lose again tonight against Indy, I still am going to watch.
    Good luck and happpy New Year Pistons and their fans.

  6. Jay says:

    Stop calling greg monroe the moose. I know you think it’s clever, but its a truly lame nickname for our best player. try Greg, the powder keg, monroe.
    he grabs so many offensive boards and he blows up the rim like a bomb.

  7. Jay says:

    also, trading bynum is not the way. not until we get a real pg. Knight can become a decent passer someday, but for now he’s definitely not a pass-first player. Bynum unfortunately remains the closest one to that on the roster (and even then he really isnt)

    but lets see what Frank can do before we start calling for new players and team disruptions.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM