Home Opener – The Pistons vs. The Cavaliers

Posted · 31 Comments
The Pistons vs. The Cavaliers

The Pistons take on the Cleveland Cavaliers tonight at the Palace for thier first offical home game this season. It’s also the first official home game with new owner Tom Gores at the helm.

The Pistons didn’t “wow” thier fans on Monday in Indiana, in fact they threw up a stinker and plenty of you are ready to give up. As I mentioned before, it’s just one game and I have a feeling we are going to see something marginally better from Detroit tonight.

I for one am really excited to head out to the Palace for the game. I know the new managament team at the Palace has a bunch of different things in store to kick off the season.

This will be the first time the Pistons Officially step on court representing new ownership and I for one am excited to see the changes.

May the Gores be with you!

  • The good: Jonas Jerebko’s hustle.  Playing at the Palace for the first time this season. Greg Monroe not getting into any foul trouble and no #buffoonery.
  • The bad :  The Indiana game.
  • The unknown: What lineup “Larry” is going to throw on court.

 

Tom even checked out Practice via Pistons.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Make sure you follow me on Twitter for Live Game tweets from The Palace of Auburn Hills Tonight.

Tip off is at 7:30 pm and will be broadcast on Fox Sports Detroit. If you can’t catch the game on TV, follow it live over at NBA.com or on the radio over at 97.1 The Ticket.

GO Pistons!

31 Responses to "Home Opener – The Pistons vs. The Cavaliers"
  1. Keith P. says:

    I am flabbergasted at how you can dog “Larry” Frank” but love Gores so much. Is it the open collar and chest hair? Has he won you over with his Miami Vice’ish style queues?

    • I am totally not dogging him, I am just poking fun because I found the Video clip funny. I actually have plenty of respect for the guy. It’s just me trying to be funny…in fact I have been tweeting about Gores unbuttoned shirts all day long.

  2. James (Australia) says:

    Hey Nat,

    Have you heard the rumour that Knight will start tonight?

  3. Santiago says:

    Natalie, This is my first post on your site. I agree that most fans are used to see the Pistons winning. The past 3 yrs have been rough. We are easily spoiled from last days of the 04′ Championship team. I’ve carefully watched the other teams from the east and saw upgrades of each team. Except, the Pistons, I’m afraid watching this season is definately going to sting the most. It’s going to be watching a train wreck in slow motion, but will I still watch them play? Yes. Will it hurt seeing them have another loosing season? Yes. Will I still support the team? Yes. Everything moves in cycles. Unfortunately, we are on the downtrend. As we rebuild a new team, I want it to hurt , because it will be equally be gratifying seeing them succeed in 2 to 3 yrs. Then everybody will jump the wagon again. Keep up the positive attitude and posts.

  4. Bellllissimo says:

    lol im excited for this home opener. any news on the intro? will it be the same or have they changed it? i really cant wait i think jonas might have a tough night offensively but im hoping he gets at least a double double.

    Cavs are gonna look like “calves” little baby cows :)

    i made a punny

  5. Josh says:

    UGH , working tonight. Will be checking back to see how we progress (or die-gress) =).

  6. zane says:

    Maybe I was too hyped because the intro was not what I expected .. .. thumbs up to the new banner for Mr D. (rip)

  7. Enoc (Mexico) says:

    Missing Rip… No one can score easily in my team… LET’S GO PISTONS ANYWAY!!!

    • zane says:

      yeah we really need a “shooter” at shooting guard because stuckey lowering his head running to the basket is pissing me off, and they keep starting him at point guard…….. Knight is playing well for him to get assist he need somebody to make a damn basket smh…. getting beat by the cavs.

  8. Drew says:

    There’s the pick and roll I’ve been looking for. Wonder why Frank hasn’t gone to that until now. A Stuckey-Monroe pick and roll could be deadly.

  9. Drew says:

    There goes Brandon: Makes his first 2-pt goal and then, a couple minutes later, he has two more of those. Nice job.

  10. Josh says:

    Disgusted

  11. Kevin (PHL) says:

    We will never win with Stuckey on this team. Fukn ballhog.

  12. Rip says:

    i hope it’s just a bad dream and i’ll be up soon

  13. Josh says:

    I know Charlie is suspended but why no Bynumite tonight?

  14. gerdz says:

    getting pounded in the inside again. looks like we are the new cleveland. next 8 games will be a losing streak.

  15. zane says:

    why no macklin again tonight we need size why not see what he can offer… Great pass to macklin from knight but game is over… Bright side knight looked great, Jonas looks good, Monroe is improving are future looks bright ..

    • Drew says:

      Macklin looked bad other than that dunk. He missed a dunk/layup after that and then made an out-of-control swat at a Ramon Sessions layup that went in.

  16. Drew says:

    Nice game for Knight and, dare I say, Ben Gordon tonight. Everybody else tonight? Big suck. Monroe and Stuckey did not do well. Monroe had hands of stone tonight; he caught the Kwame Brown disease.

  17. edt says:

    Ok, I know what people will say, they are gonna say “I could coach better than the current coach (our 5th pistons coach in 6 years, see a pattern, blame the coach if all else fails)”, they are gonna say we are getting blown away by their bigs, they are gonna say, it’s all Rodney Stuckey’s fault, or that it’s all because this player or that player didn’t have enough minutes.

    And the truth is well . . . .

    We did get blown away by their bigs.

    Look at this stat:

    Rebounds, pistons 26, Cavs 40.

    We shot a bit worse than they did because we did not share the ball unless Brandon Knight was on the floor, did not defend the 3 point line properly, but we did take care of the ball better. Overall a wash except we got pushed right off the block.

    Not impressed with our defense, but that needs to improve and quickly.

    Stats say Ben Gordon played a solid game, but he can’t defend, so it doesn’t matter how good he shoots. We don’t have the luxury of playing a guy that can’t defend. Maybe if we had 4 other guys that could defend, Ben Gordon could pretend he was Steve Nash and just play basketball only on offense and take a break on defense. But Ben Gordon is no Steve Nash and our defense isn’t even as good as the pathetic Sun’s defense.

    I wish we could start Ben Wallace and play him 35 minutes a game. It’s his last year right? Mise well.

  18. AL25 says:

    I say trade the entire team along with the ball boy, the trainers, Hooper and fire Joe D please (love the guy but he needs to go). This team sucks. The same team from last year??? seriously?!!

  19. AL25 says:

    I say trade the entire team along with the ball boy, the trainers, Hooper and fire Joe D please (love the guy but he needs to go). This team sucks. The same team from last year??? seriously?!! This has to be some kind of sick joke. smh

    • Bellllissimo says:

      here’s why i would be ok if someone said “it’s just one game” cause truthfully unlike the other game i feel this was one game. And the difference is that i saw flashes of brilliance. Now we just need to learn consistency. In the first game i saw nothing of flashes to say “ok they have something we can build on”

      but if you watched the game. Monroe and Jerebko were like that mustache guy for the bad boy pistons. they were gold in the first quarter. and throughout

      lawrence frank said in “Frankly Speaking” he was shocked about our defense cause they spent so much time on it. And yeah they looked bad but come on i saw Ben Gordon break up a fast break ally oop pretty much. Thats the flashes i was talking about. And Knight should be knighted he was amazing on the offensive end.

      I think we need a small forward. if tayshaun is hurt and daye is the only one to play SF we in trouble. dd

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM