BREAKING – NBA Commissioner David Stern confirms that first 2 weeks of NBA season are canceled

Posted · 6 Comments

After another marathon negotiating session between the owners and players, both sides failed to leave with an agreement and apparently there is an even larger split than we all feared.

Yahoo! Sports’ Adrian Wojnarowski was tweeting some quotes from Commissioner David Stern as soon as the negotiating session broke, and here you go:

  • “We tried very haard.  We made concession after concession.  I’m proud of my owners.  [They] demonstrated that they really tried”
  • “With every day that goes by, there will be further reductions on what’s left of the season”
  • “we remain very, very apart on all issues.”
  • “We have a gulf that separates us”

Stern also insinuated that the owner’s offers will get worse for players to account for NBA losses during missed games.

This is not a good sign for NBA fans.

David Aldridge also adds that the major sticking points are with contract length, annual raises, luxury tax, etc.  With those 3 specifically listed, it proves that the Owners and Players are really, really far apart.

So… Tom Gores’ ownership of the Pistons is not off to a good start.  The players are locked out, he’s not able to get any return on his investment, etc.  You’ve gotta wonder if he’s reconsidered this “ownership” thing at any point during this lockout. (Before you yell at me by saying “WELL THE OWNERS ARE LOCKING THE PLAYERS OUT!!11″ – I know.  If the owners are losing money under the old CBA, why would they continue to operate under it?  That’s why they locked the players out… along with being greedy and stuff, which the players aren’t exactly innocent of.)

6 Responses to "BREAKING – NBA Commissioner David Stern confirms that first 2 weeks of NBA season are canceled"
  1. Z says:

    Sooooooooo how about those Lions…. and why is hooper not in nba2k games and will the tigers bounce back.. Lockout who hold the key Players or Owners …sigh

  2. Drew says:

    Looking forward to the Knight-Stuckey guard combo whenever the season decides to start!

  3. junior says:

    Lockouts suck, I guess at least the lions are doing good.

  4. Wenzel says:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qqvjSg8ciD8&feature=feedu
    check out these highlights of terrico white!! :) damn i hope he’s going to do some crazy dunks for the pistons when the lockout is over!

  5. the fan says:

    what would our draft position be next year if the lockout goes all year?

  6. Backbypopularopposition says:

    yoooooo lockout could very well be over on dec 9 games starting on christmas with a 66 game schedule, am i the only one excited to see what joe dumars does now that he has had a couple months to step back from the team and evaluate? EEEEEEE

    http://sports.yahoo.com/nba/news?slug=aw-wojnarowski_nba_lockout_ends-112611

    come on make a post Detroit wins championship this year :)

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM