Joe Dumars Takes His Mulligan

Posted · 11 Comments

97.1’s Mike Valenti and Mike Stone talked to Joe Dumars after the Lawrence Frank introduction presser.

Apparently Joe knows enough about golf that he calls his choice of his new coach as his Mulligan.

“What do they call a do-over in golf? A mulligan? This is my mulligan here, man,” Dumars said. “This is my one do-over that I want to get right in the worst way right now.”

This was his choice…Check out the whole interview below.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Courtesy of CBS Detroit

11 Responses to "Joe Dumars Takes His Mulligan"
  1. Benix86 says:

    At least Joe D can admit that he screwed up, but he better really try his best to get this line up straightened out going into training camp, if there is a training camp.

  2. Jaime says:

    I feel like this is the clevland indians from the movie major league like they dont want the pistons to win. I hope this coach does well.

  3. daddy says:

    the more and mroe i see kemba walker I think joe might of chose the wrong guy.

  4. thewordkeeper says:

    This season i hope that Franks is a birdie for Joe D and not a triple bogey.

  5. Minibeast says:


  6. edt says:

    kemba is a lot more polished and it’s true walker had a 1.5 ppr in college (point guard rating combining assists & turnovers), knight has a -1.4 ppr very low for a college point guard. On the other hand knight is only 19 and walker was 21, so I think we have the pick not only with more risk but more upside. Knight has a pretty nice 3 point shot, 38% in college.

    But this is apples and oranges, both players are very good, but don’t let kemba’s allen iverson style fool you into thinking he’s what we need.

    Knight has the superior smarts that is more important in my opinion than broken ankles. He’s gonna be very good in the NBA. But we have to develop him right away, and get this team back into a tradition of winning and out of the lottery.

  7. daddy says:

    I have not seen much of Knight so I was judging based on seeing kemba. I think knight is more of a pass first point gaurd which we needed, and why we selected him. I am with you edt, id rather have smarts over highlights anyday. Smarts win championships and most flashy players dont.

    Knight does shot 3’s better and we needed an outside threat. I have a feeling it will shift stuck to the 2 position and have bg coming off the bench. Now that we are able to make some moves hopefully we can trade rip and pull a sign and trade for tay. I love those guys hope they find a home with a contender.

  8. blamu2 says:

    its funny how you guys COMPLETELY ignore the fact that there isn’t going to be an nba season this year.

  9. edt says:

    do tell blamu2.

    Here’s what I think. When the checks quit coming, a lot of these NBA stars are gonna be flat out broke. They can make $10, $20, million a year and still be broke, don’t ask me how, they find ways to spend it. All of it.

    So I’m thinking sometime in December, the season will start up, the players will suddenly find out they ran out of cristal, and can’t buy another benz, and cave.

    That’s what happened in the last lockout, I think history will repeat itself.

    Charles Barkley has this fantasy that the players will be able to hold out, so there won’t be a season, but he’s got a day job, I don’t think he understands how bad these NBA superstars are at home economics.

    We’ll see a 40 or 50 game season.

  10. daddy says:

    I agree with edt. Most of these players need income and im not talking about the people that make 10 mill a year. The people that are bench players and work at the stadium will help push it over.

  11. pistons 4 life says:

    Don’t get me wrong, I love the NBA, but it’s ridiculous that the players in this league feel they deserve more money when the average salary is more than the NFL which is more popular. And in a bad economy on top of that. I think it will be hard for them to get what they want. Fans are not going to like hearing that they deserve more money when the unemplyment rate is 9% to 10% in this country. And top of that a lengthy lockout will hurt the NBA more than help.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment


2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM