With the 8th pick in the NBA Draft – The Detroit Pistons select…

Posted · 44 Comments
Brandon Knight

Brandon Knight, point guard from the University of Kentucky Wildcats.

With Bismack Biyombo, Jonas Valanciunas and Tristan Thompson off the board (only Biyombo and Thompson were slated to go to #8), Detroit was left with making a stunningly obvious pick of Brandon Knight, the talented first year point guard from the University of Kentucky.  Here are some of the measurables, on Knight (from the combine):

6’3 (in shoes), 177 pounds.  6’6.75″ wingspan, 8’2.5″ standing reach, 4.2 percent body fat, 37.5″ vertical, 10 reps on the bench (not bad for how small he is), 3.07 3/4 court sprint.

These measurables don’t usually translate too much on the court except for vertical and strength.  There are some other things that stand out about this kid that show he is just the type of player that the Pistons need following a year of on (and off) the court embarrassment.  Knight maintained a 4.0 GPA at Kentucky, and helped lead the Kentucky Wildcats to the 2011 Final Four where they lost to Kemba Walker and the UConn Huskies by 1 point.

He shot a pretty consistent 46% from 2 and 37% from 3.  As is the case with a lot of college players, Knight fell in love with the 3 point shot with upward of 6 3 attempts per game.  Knight needs to be better from the free throw line (79%) and he’ll need to work on his AST/Turn ratio (1.33).

I am satisfied with the pick, but only because I was resigned to the fact that Utah was going to pick him at #3.  Utah, who recently traded their franchise point guard, desperately needed a point guard prospect and now will look to fill that hole in free agency or via trade and the commonly discussed name is always Al Jefferson or as a sign and trade for a guy like Kirilenko which is unlikely.

Do I think Detroit’s #1 need is another guard?  No, but they do need a point guard and I believe they got the best point guard in the draft.  He’s remained healthy, he lead the Wildcats to the Final Four a year after just about their entire active roster left for the NBA Draft, and he brings size to the point guard position for Detroit.  I prefer Knight over any of the big men that were selected from #7 or later.  I think he falls in line with the “Best player available” line of thinking, and at the draft party Team President Joe Dumars said how surprised they were that Knight fell to them at #8 and it’s clear that our new superstar owner, Tom Gores, is “impressed with how Joe and his team handled the process”.

I give the pick a B+.  I’m satisfied with the selection if Detroit is stuck with Knight.  I think he can step in, in year 2 and make an impact.  Knight is the youngest players in the NBA Draft, and I think as his 1st season goes on he is the type of intelligent basketball player who could take what he’s learned off the court and apply it to his trade on the court.  Draft Express has Knight ranked as the #6 prospect in the top 100 and has his “best case” as “Chauncey Billups in his prime” and “worst case” as “Louis Williams”.  I don’t want the comment section to fill up with Billups comparison, but I did want to throw that out there for all the Billups’ lovers. Knight almost single handedly beat the Ohio State Buckeyes in this past year’s NCAA Tournament as well… so for all you Wolverines out there, there’s that.

Now all the team needs is a Head Coach.  I’m on Team Frank, as if you didn’t know already.

44 Responses to "With the 8th pick in the NBA Draft – The Detroit Pistons select…"
  1. Corey says:

    I still would have rather seen biyombo on the roster. We have plenty of offensive potential, defense is what’s hurting us incredibly bad. Sure hope these next two picks are solid

    • pistonsfan101 says:

      Yeah but Biyombo was picked earlier so there weren’t any big men left on the draft. It was either Kemba or Knight and I think the Pistons picked up the right guy.

      PS: I’m kinda excited to see Biyombo + Kemba play together in Charlotte!

  2. Vlad says:

    I sure hope Knight is a better player than Kemba…Brandon has a better character but idk what to say…Don’t get me wrong guys.. i just want what’s best for the pistons …But i think kemba is a better player… as for Biyombo, he’s i have a feeling he’s gonna be the next ekpe udoh :)

  3. Detroit89 says:

    he looked really upset or ‘serious” when he was selected. I bet there could be a chance he is traded in a package with rip or maybe stuckey with rip. Knight is a good kid, i think he has a big upside.

  4. pistons 4 life says:

    So does this mean the rediculous Stuckey point guard disaster is finally over?

  5. Vlad says:

    YESSS i swear singler is the man !!!!!!!!!!! i’m so happy we drafted him

    • John says:

      I’m Not there was far better talent at the 33rd spot than this dude

      Why on God’s Green Earth the pistons Drafting “HOOPER THE HORSE”???

      Tyler Honeycutt was the smart pick at that spot…

      HORRIBLE PICK!!!!

  6. BeEz419 says:

    Knight is a great pick for the Pistons are you kidding me. Look at John Calipari point guards in the NBA (Derrick Rose, Tyreke Evans and John Wall). He is a great coach and gets these kids NBA ready within a year. You think he would of started a freshman if he wasn’t that good which he was spectacular for them. Another thing he is a smart kid, note that a kid. At 19 he can be molded into a very good point guard for the future. I hope the Pistons roster looks like: starting PG Tony Parker, SG Gordan, SF Prince, PF J.J., and C Monroe, and the Bench PG Knight, SG Bynum, SF Daye, PF ????(hopefully not CV31), C Wilcox. This I am hoping to come true what do you think Nat or Danny or the Need4Sheed community?

    • seattlepistonsfan says:

      Spurs traded George Hill to the Pacers, so I think its unlikely that they’re still shopping Parker, and I also think Tay is bolting. We’ve still got to shake things up a lot, but drafting Knight is the best place to start. I was hoping Kemba would fall to 8, things turned out better than I’d hoped.

  7. John says:

    Great Start potential pick… great job…

  8. edt says:

    Holy cow didn’t watch draft on tv was at the beach we got knight111!!! What a great pick. You gotta take the best player. Watched knight in the ncaa v good player we won’t be disappont. Jerebko monroe knight and I still like stcukey we are getting thbere my friends. Pistons have been a team of 12 6th men and slowly but surely we are gettin legit starters

  9. sauce1977 says:

    Yeah, Knight was a nice prospect that dropped to us. The only other thing that would have been good is a trade down, but apparently that wasn’t possible. I’ll take Knight and be happy with what I see, especially in this one Kentucky vid.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aR9x8alen3I

    Ball handling and shot selection meh, but there’s hope to fix that. Knight has more than enough ability to work in the NBA.

    Hopefully Knight and Monroe get better and better.

  10. Richard says:

    Great Pick Guys!!! I really think Brandon will help the team on DAY 1!!!

  11. junior says:

    And he brings size to the pg position.??? Danny umm stuckey is 6’5″ knight is 6’3″ . Unless ur trying to say knight will be our backup pg then yes ur right, he is taller than wIll. But i think will and stuckey are better than knight. I hope im mistaken cuase i dont want this to be a wasted draft pick.

    • Joe says:

      Out of those 3 players, Knight is the only one who is a real PG. You need a PG who can actually pass and create shots for his teammates.

  12. Marvin Jones says:

    I think his stock fell because be refused to work out against live competition and that worries me also, if you’re a competitor then you don’t run away from competition. What was he trying to hide by not going against Walker and Jimmer or did he just think he was better than they were and didn’t need to actually prove it. I don’t like the pick because at the end of the day he’s just another “combo guard” trying to become a point guard. I hope he succeeds but I’,m not optimistic.

    • Troy says:

      No B. Knight is a legit point guard who started at that position all year for UK. I just don’t see where people are getting this “combo guard” aspect of his game. I hate Calipari w/ a passion because i think he’s as dirty as Jim Tressel, but one thing is for sure he knows how to develop pg’s for the next level. (see Wall, John; Evans, Tyreke; Rose, Derrick)

  13. Jake says:

    Knight can run a team trust me him monroe jerebko Gordon and Faye is a good core I think We should trade stuckey tho

  14. Gerdz says:

    He kinda looks like CJ Miles in this picture lol. Anyway, great pick. I was expecting Bismack though but was acquired earlier. But wow Knight is the steal in this draft.

  15. J.G says:

    Is it just me or did he not look too happy when his name was called

  16. maje says:

    Trade gordon or rip for milsap and draft picks from Utah.

  17. greg says:

    combo guard, stretch four… I’m not liking this trend too much. I hope Knight turns out to be a true point guard as he seems to insist he is though
    I really wanted Biyombo but given that he was gone we just gotta take the best left

    • Drew says:

      I think Markieff would have been better for our needs. I’m still scratching my head as to how a freshman Tristan Thompson was rated above the Morris twins.

  18. Minibeast says:

    PG: Knight
    SG: Stuck
    SF: Daye
    PF: Monroe
    C: Either free agent or trade

    • Jake says:

      I’d rather have: PG-Knight SG-Gordon SF- Trade Stuckey PF- Monroe C- Free agent ( Marc Gasol or Nene ). Then you would have a bench of: PG- Bynum SG- White SF- Daye PF- Jerebko C- Wallace

  19. Jake says:

    Sign and trade Stuckey for like Deng

  20. edt says:

    jerebko will be starting, monroe, knight, and I have to think stuckey if he is still on the team, charlie v and ben gordon have to come off the bench, daye might still be one year away from starting he didnt improve much last year.

    Honestly I think we are gonna get a deal for milsap. Utah has kanter (rookie), favors (1 year), al jefferson (7 year pro $13 million), and milsap (5 year pro $6 million), so they are gonna move either milsap or al jefferson, the jazz are thin at guards.

    Now there is no way in hell I can figure out how Dumars will make it work, the salaries and people in a trade don’t make any sense to me, but that’s not my job, I’m just looking at Utah and see they would sure love to have some of our guards, and we sure would like to have Milsap.

    I think if there’s no lockout, we’ll see

    knight, stuckey, jerebko, milsap, monroe, which should be good enough to make to get back into the playoffs and make a run.

    I really don’t like starting Ben Gordon because he has sub par defense. Likewise for Daye, and Charlie V, they can’t guard elite players, and should come off the bench.

    As for rip hamilton, who knows, maybe he’ll still be a piston, and stuckey will be gone. Rip is still a heck of a player, knight + hamilton is a fine back court, and then we’ll run knight, rip, jerebko, milsap & monroe, with charlie V and Ben Gordon coming off the bench.

    One thing for sure, we can’t have this many guards! Rip, Stuckey, Bynum, Knight, Gordon, a 5 man rotation is 2 men too many. I sure do want to keep bynum, because we just resigned him.

    • Jake says:

      If u think we need to cut back 2 guards I’d say trade stuckey and rip I’d sign and trade stuckey for a decent small foward and rip for like u said Milsap if he’s worth that much. So ud have: PG Knight SG Gordon SF Stuckey trade PF Milsap C Monroe so ud have a bench of Bynum Daye Wallace Jerebko Charlie V

    • Drew says:

      Utah still has Okur too, meaning they have at least five legit PFs and Cs. I think they still have that Fesenko guy too.

  21. Jake says:

    I just watched a vid on NBA.com and DA says it makes perfects sense for a Milsap for Hamilton trade to go down. So hopefully it happens in the next few days

  22. Jake says:

    What about rip about 12 million 2 years left and Charlie v about 7 million 3 years left for Milsap about 7 million 2 years left and okur about 9 million expiring contract that’d be great for us and the trade works

  23. Jake says:

    They would have to throw in some1 else to make it a legal trade

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM