In a battle of patheticness, Wizards prove to be less pathetic

Posted · 1 Comment

Again – Rodney Stuckey did not play. He was the only player dressed who did not play. LOL

John Wall got his fair share of superstar calls as well, as evidenced by his 14 made free throws compared to the Pistons 14 made as a team. Wall blew by his defender time after time and saw clean looks at the rim all night.

Player of the Night goes to Darko Milicic Mateen Cleaves Rodney White Pistons’ Super Rookie Greg Monroe finished the night with a team high 22 points and 14 rebounds (9 offensive) to go with 4 assists and 4 steals. Monroe, who spent 2 years as Center of the Georgetown Hoyas, missed 2 key free throws with less than 30 seconds left in the game that would’ve tied it up. He had previously been 8 for 8 from the line. Thanks to Wizards announcers Steve Buckhantz and Phil Chenier for jinxing him by mentioning it multiple times, and then laughing about it.

  • The game was played at the Wizards’ pace all night, which plays right into their hands.  They’re not a great shooting team, if they are forced into a halfcourt set each possession, Blatche and McGee are black holes in the post that never pass.
  • Hey JaVale, no need to salute after a dunk
  • John Wall played 46 minutes and scored 26 points to go with 12 assists.  The kid is fast, and showed plenty of signs of why he was considered to be the best player in the draft this past offseason
  • Kuester opted for small ball more often than not last night – there were several times when Monroe was on the floor with Bynum, Hamilton, McGrady and Tay or Austin Daye.  This makes sense because they were playing up and down all night, to the Wizards’ strength
  • Monroe played 43 minutes – because Charlie Villanueva was out with a bad back and Ben Wallace was just not effective in his 8 minutes
  • Former Piston great Richard Hamilton scored 2 points in 20 minutes on the floor, on 1-11 shooting against his former team and former coach, Flip Saunders
  • Does Flip Saunders miss the Pistons? lol
  • I think Detroit could’ve dominated the paint in this one had they fed the ball to Wilcox (lol) and Monroe more.  Watching it, I often saw JaVale McGee and Andray Blatche playing out of position on the defensive end
  • If you can tell me who Mustafa Shakur, Othyus Jeffers and Kevin (Keveen) Seraphin are, you’re a better man/woman than I
  • Since Villanueva was out with a back, Jason Maxiell saw some time on the floor
  • Former Georgetown Hoyas great, DaJuan Summers saw a couple of minutes of action and committed an awful foul on a fast break in his 2 minutes on the floor
  • Austin Daye missed a corner 3 at the end of regulation that would’ve won the game for the Pistons.  Instead, we’re talking about how he played well off the bench in 25 minutes of action, finishing the game with 14 points on 6-10 shooting to go with 6 rebounds
  • Former Pistons great Maurice Evans scored an efficient 20 points for the Wizards.  Evans, who was acquired in the deadline day deal with the Hawks along with Jordan Crawford and a #1 pick, has been a steady option on both ends of the floor for the rebuilding Wizards
  • The game was close throughout the 2nd half after the Pistons and Wizards exchanged 30+ point 1st and 2nd quarters
  • The Pistons had won 8 out of their last 9 games against the Wizards before last night
  • I’m glad I didn’t go to the game, it was honestly a real snoozer just having to watch it on TV
  • There was an odd moment early on in the game when Tracy McGrady approached the free throw line after being hit on the arm.  He tossed the ball back to the ref and said “hold on” as he grimaced in pain as the Pistons called a timeout.  Coming out of the timeout, McGrady was able to shoot the free throw, but he shot it left handed and missed

The Pistons have now lost 32 games on the road, which is 1 more than they lost on the road all of last year.

Oh and hey, Rodney Stuckey didn’t play so… I hope he’s learning his lesson!

Up next for the Mighty Pistons are the New Jersey Nets, at the Palace tonight.  It should be a good game for both teams who are playing out the string, and jockeying for ping pong balls.  By all accounts, the Nets have a “superstar” whereas the Pistons don’t have one so… that makes the Nets the favorite, right?  If you’re a gambling man, Vegas has the Pistons winning by 6.

One Response to "In a battle of patheticness, Wizards prove to be less pathetic"
  1. Drew says:

    Why would you laugh out loud at a guy dressing but not playing? You’re effin sick.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM