Gores era begins on a high note – Pistons pummel Bucks, 110-100

Posted · 9 Comments

I didn’t even know Michael Redd was still alive.  Wow.  Let me be a little selfish here, tell me what kind of a night you think I’m having:

  1. Gores buys Pistons
  2. Pistons win 110 – 100 over Bucks
  3. JoannePistonFan got her Jonas Jerebko jersey from Jonas himself
  4. No Government shutdown (I work for government)

If you said “great”, “fantastic”, “happy”, etc – I circle all of the above.  Should I play the lottery?  Anywho…

Chris Wilcox, have a game why don’t ya?  27 points and 13 boards in only 24 minutes!  Wilcox flashed reminders to us tonight of why he was a lottery pick coming out Maryland a few years ago. If you were to tell me it was Chris that was going to single handily handle the point spread in this one I would have bet against it.  He’s an athletic big, it’s just a shame that he is so inconsistent.  Rodney Stuckey followed up his big game against the Nets with another big game tonight.

Chris Wilcox

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • One of my favoritest non-Pistons player ever, Michael Redd, played in his 7th straight game back from multiple catastrophic knee injuries that have basically reduced him to role player status, if he’s worthy of any status at all.
  • You can tell the Bucks are coached by Scott Skiles.  Look at the names on the bench that would/could be starting on most teams in the league: Maggette (5 minutes), Drew Gooden (29 minutes), Ilyasova, and former VCU Ram great, Larry Sanders.  I believe Skiles may have coached his way out of Milwaukee this season and the problem with that is, this team was built to his specification.
  • Charlie V hit a few nice shots tonight in his limited time on the floor.  Looks like he didn’t lose his rhythm in the time he missed with a back
  • One of my other favorite players, Earl Boykins, is reduced to single digit minutes for the Bucks – 4 points in 9 minutes
  • Greg Monroe with another solid night: 11 points, 8 boards and solid defense
  • Carlos Defino had a bad night – 0 for everything from the field and 0 points
  • What a match up of young guards – Brandon Jennings got whatever he wanted from the field (13-21 shooting) and Rodney Stuckey got just about everything he wanted as well, only off the bench
  • Detroit dominated the glass: 49 rebounds to 32 for Milwaukee
  • Only downside to tonight’s win: 14 turnovers
  • No conspiracy here:  Pistons benefit from 23 fouls called against Bucks
  • No Ben Wallace – this, friends, is the beginning of the end.  We’ll be hanging his jersey in the rafters one day just like Rodman
  • Don’t look now but, the Pistons are 2 games above .500 at home and will finish the year with a winning home record

Up next for the Detroit Gores Tom Pistons Pistons, they travel to Charlotte to take on former Duke Blue Devil Gerald Henderson and the Charlotte Bobcats.

If you have twitter you should follow JoannePistonFan (link) and congratulate her on winning the Jonas jersey from Jonas himself.  Otherwise, have a good weekend and we’ll see you on Sunday for the Bobcats preview.

 

9 Responses to "Gores era begins on a high note – Pistons pummel Bucks, 110-100"
  1. Kohns says:

    Anyone know why we signed Ben Gordon to a huge contract to play an average of 15 minutes. Seriously what the hell is going on with this team. I find myself bitching during a win.

    • edt says:

      ben gordon has played poorly for two years. You can blame it on the coach if you like and that he “doesn’t fit into the system” here. Q wants to win games. Ben Gordon has never played defense, and right now he doesn’t have offense.

      Some say that if you give him more minutes he’ll get better. That he’s a volume shooter and needs volume. He was given a lot of minutes while Rip was benched and nothing happened, so it’s hard for me to believe that theory.

      I thought it was a nice win, I have no reason to bitch.

  2. Outside of the wings losing everything about today went right for just about everyone.

  3. pistonsfan101 says:

    I don’t think Wilcox is inconsistent. He just gets in foul trouble a lot and then can’t contribute to the team…. I’ve always enjoyed watching him play since his Seattle days.. hope the Pistons re-sign him!

    • Col says:

      Must be time for a new contract the way Wilcox is playing, if they are thinking of resigning him its gotta be another 2 year deal any longer and he’ll disappear again.

  4. Drew says:

    Can we get two more wins for 30? You can see how high our expectations are this year ;)

  5. gordbrown says:

    There’s lots of evidence that Pistons are clearly a better team than Milwaukee. And yet the Bucks have a better record. Why is that? Also was very surprised to see Pistons with more trips to the line. There were lots and lots of Bucks fouls that didn’t get called (even Blaha commented on it). At least two of Stuckey’s turnovers should have been fouls on the Bucks. At least Hamilton played in more than just the first quarter, his steal after turning the ball over in the fourth was classic.

  6. jayg108 says:

    just glad the record is better than last year’s.

    Looking for even better record next year.

    Pistons NEED a true shot blocking center. Benson! Benson!

  7. N1ck says:

    A PF to play in pair with Monroe, a PG to pass some balls (Stuckey off the bench is just fine…), a center off the bench to pair with our defence specialist CV and with the return of the JJ this could be a 40 win team = playoffs.

    Bye bye Prince, T-Mac, Wallace (respect) and Maxiell.

    Welcome Tom Gores and a NEW COACH.

    Pistons forever, Miami go play in traffic.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM