They gave it their all – Spurs over Pistons

Posted · 10 Comments
tmac_spurs

It’s pretty hard to come back in a game when the opposing team makes their first 14 shots and are shooting 80% at the half. But give your Pistons and A for effort for keeping this game close when the Spurs were playing some great basketball.

The Spurs were up by 19 points in the first half, and 14 with eight minutes to go, but Detroit kept fighting getting within 5 points late in the fourth quarter.

Key Points:

  • Though this one gets added to the L column with the rest, it’s hard not to be proud of the team for the fight. And it’s not easy to forget just how hard it has been to be proud about anything associated with this team lately.
  • The 104-111 loss gave the Spurs their first season sweep of Detroit in four years.
  • T-Mac back on court an in the starting lineup for Detroit boded well for the Pistons. T-mac scored 15 on 6-for-11 shooting with 9 assists, 7 boards, 2 steals and a blocked shot.
  • Yes, nobody really knows what’s going on with this team, its lineups or the rotation. Not even Q!
  • ICE4DYESS – Our good friend Antonio McDyess played his 1000th game against Detroit.

Antonio McDyess: “I can feel it in my body that it is 1,000 games. To actually play my 1,000th game against my old team definitely feels good.”

  • Just weird to be typing this – Rip Hamilton led the Pistons with 20 points off the bench and was caught joking and laughing with Kuester during a timeout. Bizarro World!
  • No D at all.
  • Just 15 minutes on the floor for Rodney Stuckey who scored just 3.
  • Greg Monroe another double-double, 16 points and 10 board and a ton of hard work.
  • 20 offensive boards for Detroit while San Antonio had just five. Why? Because they never missed any of their shots.
  • Ben Wallace back with the team after the death of his brother, but did not play.
  • Recap via Pistons.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

10 Responses to "They gave it their all – Spurs over Pistons"
  1. MrRockinWTB says:

    I’ll take that effort every night from those guys. It’s not every day that your opponent will shoot 80% for a half. I think even Kue’s game plan was solid! but until we get Monroe some help on the glass we will come up short on a lot of games like this! We were close a few times but second chance rebounds let the Spurs eat up clock. Good effort from the Fellas last night!

  2. terry says:

    Having the viking next to the moose next season will be a huge difference maker for this team. I can see them easily averaging 30pts 20rebs a game between them.

  3. junior says:

    benching stucky? after the last 4 games he had? this is the one time i am questioning q. stuckey has been on a roll and playing really well. i think more of a up tempo game would have suited us better then a walk it up the court. then we let the spurs set up their D. ugghhh oh well at least we played hard i m proud of them. not much you can do when the other team makes their first 14 shots!

  4. Armand says:

    Rooting for Mc Dyess for sure but i dont know about rooting for the spurs and that gina- bili “umero uno flopper”
    I have an old injury that hasnt been cured yet

  5. Armand says:

    Keep ur cool Stuck. u, monroe and probably sweede and daye are definitly the future of this team. For the rest i realy dont have too much love. Rip and tay it was nice while it lastet, go get another ring please

  6. Freezy says:

    funny when Rip or Tay does go “somewhere” and get another ring, WTH will you say then? Ppl here seems to hold the sickest grudges. It ain’t nothing that this man can do? Yea I get it he didn’t take the buyout offer.. Come on would you? Knowing that you’ll prolly never see that type of $ again? Sheeeit I would be trying to make amends (even tho some of y’all are so stuck on your silly grudges) The point would be tho I want the money, I can still play… I may have wrongfully checked out on this city (which was very wrong Rip), but these things happen all the time. This person above will be the same person cursing out Pistons mgmnt when Tay and Rip gone to there newly respective teams and putting up huge numbers… then your caught bitter and reminiscing. Maybe it is time for a change, but I don’t wanna hear no shit when these mofos come back to The Palace and torch our boys for 20, or 30, or a new season/ new team high.. Then you gonna hate him even more… the mind of jilted fans… we can be interesting. Because I am a Pistons fan 1st as I told Nat… so I too will be jilted, albeit for total different reasons.

  7. Armand says:

    U dont have to get hot freezy. Wait, how can freezy get hot? LOL
    Obviously u misunderstood my point. Tay and rip are my two of my favorite pistons but they both are stuck on the team that wont be competin for several years i would like if they went elsewhere and get another ring specialy beeing still at a good age and with all the experience they got. If we still had chauncey here and had a good center and powerf f obviously we wouldnt talk about tradin them would we. Instead we would be tryin to get another ship

  8. Freezy says:

    I suppose and I do apologize… I am a hothead… when it’s cold out yes you can see steam from my head too. But especially about my Pistons… sorry.. I understand where you are coming from Armand. I really and honest think that this team will get better with or without Tay or Rip… as hard as it is for me to say that. I don’t wanna see what is inevitably is going to happen at the end of the season… but it will be hard as it is seeing Chauncey or Sheed or Dyess in anything other than Piston Blue… damn hurts me to talk about that still.

    Hey A, I’ll ask you this… but ppl are against me here when I said I believe if a good post/rebounder/second chance bucket type of guy Detroit could possibly get would Zack Randolph in my opinion. The boy go H.A.M. Every night! Not sure if he’d faux with Q but… come on… this is a guy I’d go after… would you?

  9. Armand says:

    I believe Randolph is 30 yrs old and i have no freaking idea whats going on with the team, its front office or the players
    I guess it all depends what the new owner has in his mind, if Joe D still believes that we can compete year in and year out which we havent been in last 2 then u go and get a guy like Zach because he is in his prime right now and in that case we keep rip and tay and get rid of charlie or wilcox or max or wallace or at least 2 of them but if we are thinking for a few years down the road then we get rid of everyone 30 and older and bring in some young bllod and try to develop them and raise them to bleed detroit basketball. Thats my opinion. But what do i know
    I think a big reason why we are where we are is a couple of bad signed contracts and the fact that karen doesnt care about the team which means that she doesnt want to spend money beacuse if she gave the green light to Joe to hire avery johnson insted of kuester im pretty sure we would have had 7-10 more wins this year and at least make the playoffs
    So the bad news are that untill there is a new owner in town i dont expect this team to make any big moves with either the coaches or the players
    Hang tight my pistons fans, theres going to be turbulance on this mission to make this team better the same type of turbulance the areas economy has seen for the last 5-6 yrs
    Be cool freezy. No need for apology
    Try to keep a balance; not too hot – not too cold LOL

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM