Quick starting Pistons give beatdown to lowly Wizards, 113-102

Posted · 13 Comments
Austin Daye

In a game that featured little defense – the Pistons were able to use a hot shooting 1st quarter to propel them to victory over the Washington Wizards at The Palace, 113-102.  7 Pistons players scored in double digits as the Pistons lead for the entire game.  While it was a fun game to watch for the high scoring, it’s definitely not the kind of basketball the old school Piston fans are used to seeing (or enjoying).

Super-rookie John Wall scored 24 points (including 12-13 from the free throw line) to go along with 7 assists and 5 rebounds (with 4 turnovers).  Slam dunk contest finalist JaVale McGee finished with 12 points and 2 rebounds, after scoring 20 points and having 16 rebounds in the last matchup in November.

Let’s look at the highlights, shall we?:

Tayshaun Prince

Photo/Allen Einstein/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Austin Daye, described by many as the player with the best jumpshot in last year’s NBA Draft, scored an efficient 12 points in 18 minutes off the bench to go along with 5 rebounds and 2 blocked shots.  Daye has really shown signs of improvement as the season has worn on, and it’ll nice to see what he can contribute as a starter, next season.
  • Need4Sheed fan favorite, Rodney Stuckey, had a near triple double and a +22 +/- for the Pistons.  Stuckey finished with 19 points, 9 assists and 7 rebounds.  In the words of Junior – “take that, Boney”
  • Wow – Detroit won rebounding matchup 45-29.  To be honest, if I’m a Wizard fan that total disgusts me.  The Wizards have 2 guys in the starting lineup who had a height advantage over the entire Pistons roster.  The Wizards are a young team that need to prove they’re ready for the big time.
  • LOL @ Nick Young’s hair
  • I don’t know about you but, Trevor Booker reminds me of a young Jason Maxiell.  Booker is a feisty post player, in his 1st year from Clemson.
  • Pistons super rookie Greg Monroe contributed with 12 points and 7 rebounds in 21 minutes.
  • Player of the night: Tayshaun Prince with 20 points on 10-19 shooting and the biggest poster of the year.
  • Tayshaun Prince DUNK and HL’s

[flashvideo file=http://www.need4sheed.com/videos/flash_video/march_6_11_tay.f4v /]
Video courtesy of the NBA and the Detroit Pistons

  • Richard Hamilton received the largest ovation on the evening when he checked in late in the 1st quarter

Need4Sheed’s thoughts and prayers go out to former Pistons coach Flip Saunders and his family on the loss of Saunders’ mother.  We may talk bad about Saunders occasionally, but he is a good man and helped this team win many games.  Saunders was not with the team tonight – he was in Cleveland with his family.

The Pistons now must pack their bags and head out for a 3 game road trip to face off against the San Antonio Spurs, Oklahoma City Thunder and Denver Nuggets.  It’s not going to be an easy trip, but the Pistons got off on the right start with a win tonight.

13 Responses to "Quick starting Pistons give beatdown to lowly Wizards, 113-102"
  1. pistonsfan101 says:

    McDyess is going to be playing in his 1,000th game against the Pistons!

  2. junior says:

    take tha bon. . . . wait YOU already said it. lol. stuckey is the man though right?

  3. junior says:

    boney you just made up for crossing off what i posted earlier in the year by mentioning me in your write up. that is sweet thanks.

  4. junior says:

    cant wait to get home from work and watch the pistons actually win.

  5. Drew says:

    If this were youtube I’d be saying, “Thumbs up if you like having Stuckey over Nick Young.”

    I say this because Stuckey was chosen a couple picks ahead of Young four years ago. We could have had Young with our pick if we wanted him. Since we just saw Young play, let the debate over Stuckey and him begin.

    • James (Australia) says:

      Stuckey. And it is not even close.

      Looking at that 2007 draft, there are only 3 players I would definitely take over Stuckey – Durant, Horford, and Noah – and I would have to consider taking Oden as well because he has shown how dominant he could be if he stayed healthy. Other than that, I would take Stuckey.

      Actually, looking back on that draft, who wishes we took Marc Gasol or Carl Landry with the 28th pick instead of Arron Afflalo? If Afflalo wasn’t in the long-term plans anyway, I woulf love to have Gasol or Landry alongside Monroe.

    • junior says:

      we have who we have and im more than happy with stuckey.

  6. Kashmeer says:

    No words about the way Stuck run the PG ?

    He seems to be more at ease on a more up tempo style…

  7. gordbrown says:

    It comes down to the basic debate. Is Stuckey a good player in a bad situation? Or is the bad situation because Stuckey was overrated and the Pistons would have been a better team if Stuckey hadn’t been pushed into the position that he has been (and still is) in. A lot of Stuckey hate comes from the sense that the Pistons could have returned to championship form without taking a step back. This was unrealistic in the extreme. Yes the team would have been better if it had kept Chauncey and dumped Hamilton. Hindsight is always 20/20. But I think Stuckey surrounded with better talent can still be a great point guard. My only hope is that saddling him with dead weight like Maxiel and Hamilton will have improved his game in the long run (although until players discover they can’t get offensive fouls on Stuckey by sticking their knees into him its going to still be a struggle .. maybe next year).

    • Drew says:

      Great outlook on the whole situation, although I don’t understand what you’re trying to say between the parentheses above.

      • gordbrown says:

        Can’t resist taking a swipe at the referees. It seems once a game Stuckey gets hit with an offensive foul where the defender has clearly stuck out their knee to make contact (which is of course entirely illegal). It’s gotten so bad, defenders don’t even attempt to hide it anymore. If the Pistons start to play better, I’m hoping these calls will stop. That’s all.

  8. junior says:

    19-9-7 enough said

  9. The Fan says:

    Stuck is Killin It! Go Stuckles!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM