Tom Gores reaches a deal to buy The Pistons

Posted · 13 Comments

Finally!

Los Angeles financier Tom Gores has struck a tentative deal to buy the Pistons from Karen Davidson, a person familiar with the situation told the Free Press.

The sale, which must be approved by the NBA, is expected to be announced Friday.

The agreement was reached earlier tonight at the office of a Birmingham law firm, after several days of intense bargaining over details.

Details on the base selling price, the implications of a looming labor dispute in the NBA, and to what extent current ownership may stay involved with the team were said to be key points of debate.

The total value of the deal, which includes the team, the Palace of Auburn Hills and DTE Energy Music Theatre, is expected to be announced at $420 million. That doesn’t mean Gores will pay that much immediately, though. Current ownership is expected to retain a minority stake of perhaps 10% for up to several years. via The Detroit Free Press

13 Responses to "Tom Gores reaches a deal to buy The Pistons"
  1. detroitKG says:

    Thank God it was Gores that bought this team!
    Now maybe we can actually make some moves to improve this team!
    Best piece of news all season in my opinion!

  2. James (Australia) says:

    FINALLY! Great work getting this up on the site so quickly, Nat. Great news.

  3. Pistonsforever says:

    Finally!!! Now let’s back to our winning tradition. Best news of the season.

  4. Drew says:

    Thank goodness! Thank God! Things are looking up for this team. Let’s hold our breaths until the deal is finalized.

  5. Keith (Australia) says:

    Let’s just hope that Gores is going to be the owner we all want him to be and not Donald Sterling.

  6. Demitre Riley says:

    Yes yesyesyesyesyesyes a thousand times yes

  7. steve says:

    just in time to trade rip

  8. edt says:

    dont let the door slam you on the way out karen. 420 is about 50 million more than they are worth right now, but I can still see karen killing this deal because she still wants more money.

  9. daddy says:

    hopefully this gets done quit and we can make some moves before the trade deadline. i have this bad taste in my mouth and the only remedy is detroit winning multiple games. We got this game in maimi if we dont get robbed, again.

  10. terry says:

    Great news they need to hurry up and seal the deal. K’s probably just stretching it out so she can keep feeling important….We need to beat Miami and wipe them goofy smiles off their stupid faces, I’m just saying…..also, if yall aint checked it out yet there’s a nice piece on Jonas Jerebko at http://vimeo.com/19428690, or through detroitbadboys.com.

  11. Marcell says:

    One article stated that she “ Karen ”still might retain a certain percentage of the team for a few years. Now lets see if the new owner is really going to care about the team or is it just a business venture

  12. Swan says:

    Second great news of the day :

    Pistons to retire Dennis rodman Jersey :

    http://www.pistonpowered.com/2011/02/reports-pistons-to-retire-dennis-rodmans-jersey-in-april/

    Too bad for Greg !

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Indiana
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Orlando
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM