The Pistons vs. The Trail Blazers

Posted · 17 Comments
The Pistons vs. The Trail Blazers

The 20-33 Pistons will host the 29-24 Trail Blazers Sunday evening at the Palace of Auburn Hills.

Detroit would love to get a win after the demoralizing loss to the Heat Friday night at home.  This game could give Detroit the momentum push they need to start gathering up wins before the All-Star break, especially with Brandon Roy and Marcus Camby on the sidelines for Portland..

Besides the fact that this is game is a sellout, most of the attention is based off court with the impending sale of the Pistons to billionaire and Michigan native Tom Gores.

  • The good: Not much, especially since the NBA’s trade deadline is creeping up on us.
  • The bad: Watch out for LeMarcus Aldridge, who’s having a great year and thrives against Detroit. Aldridge, who was passed over for next week’s All-Star game, Aldridge has scored at least 37 points in three of his last six games. After totaling a career-high 42 in Monday’s 109-103 victory over Chicago, the fifth-year forward-center had 14 of his 37 in the final 12 minutes of Friday’s 102-96 win over Toronto. He also grabbed 10 rebounds for his 26th double-double this season.
  • The unknown: Rip City

What’s better than going to a Sunday game at the Palace?  Great tickets available as low as $4.

Tip off is at 6:00 pm and will be broadcast on Fox Sports Detroit. If you can’t catch the game on TV, follow it live over at NBA.com or on the radio over at 97.1 The Ticket.

Leave your thoughts in the comments or Chat Live with your fellow Pistons fans during the game.

17 Responses to "The Pistons vs. The Trail Blazers"
  1. piston_fan_phl says:

    What’s wrong with Daye? He’s so sloppy tonight.

  2. piston_fan_phl says:

    Gotta love the “Will bynum to Chris Wilcox” combo.

  3. zeke khaseli says:

    Gotta dislike the coaching strategy

  4. edt says:

    am I late for “If I were coaching this team instead of kuester we would have won” party?

  5. Kevin (PHL) says:

    Missed the game… what did Kuester do this time?

  6. Detroit89 says:

    Monroe plays better when Ben Wallace is not in the starting line up. He slows the pace down for our team too much. He should come off the bench, because he already has limited minutes so we should put guys like Wilcox in his place.

    What the Line up should be:
    PG; T-Mac
    SG: Stuckey
    SF: Prince
    PF: Wilcox
    C: Monroe

  7. Lori says:

    Anyone who needs proof that Q is a moron just needs to look at that inane and insane substitution of Stuckey for Bynum at the end of the game. Even Blaha and Kelser sounded shocked and they’re pretty good at toeing the party line!
    Waah! I want Jerry Sloan!!!! Doesn’t mean we’d win, but at least that part of the puzzle would be fixed.

    • edt says:

      that was a standard defense for offense sub, that happens a lot in the last seconds of a game, you are behind and need to foul, so you sub your better offense guy, and then on the next possession you go back with offense (bynum). Bynum was having a lot of difficulties defending during this game, while stuckey had problems with offense.

      you’ve seen this before with ben wallace, we would have him in on defense, and then immediately out on offense and then back in again on defense in the last few seconds of a close game when you are behind.

  8. Kashmeer says:

    I really don’t know about coach Q

    HE IS ONLY A 2 YR NBA COACH !!

    he is learning, he clearly has a way to go in ego management
    but the guy has some strenght

    How many games did he basicaly won for the Pistons with his last second play call this season??
    So okay he screw up this time but that happens

    Prince, RIP & Wallace are un-coachable since LB left

    Taking RIP was demanding some guts s as benching Stuckey!!
    The developpement of Monroe is well driven

    Since the benching of Hamilton for whatever reason the defense is improving

    So i am no more a Q hater, I am not sold on him yet but I think he’s far from being a “total moron”

  9. Enoc (Mexico) says:

    lack of good arguments…
    Q must go!!

  10. Lori says:

    @edt- please read Piston Powered. You know, Daryl Walker objected to inserting Stuckey, as did Stuckey! The classic offense- defence does not hold water in this case.

  11. Lori says:

    Who wants a low cost sophomore coach? Jeez! I can’t wait until this team is sold.

    • Kashmeer says:

      I am glad the Pistons hired him over Avery Johnson back then
      that was a big name coach the Pistons could have sign for twice as much money as Q

      He’s doing nothing with a NJ roster way more balance than the Pistons one.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM