That wasn’t fun – The Heat dismantle Detroit

Posted · 7 Comments
Ben Gordon with 16 against the Heat

Despite playing well for the past couple of weeks, the Pistons flaws were put on display Friday night at the Palace of Auburn Hills.  The Heat glided to a 106-92 victory over the Pistons in what looked an extremely easy game for Miami.

Key Points:

  • TURNOVERS!
  • The Pistons starting lineup was outscored by the Heat’s by 36 points.
  • All Miami’s startes scored in double figures.
  • Stuckey and T-Mac were a combined 6-18 with 6 turnover between them.
  • Tay was the only starter in double figures with 11.
  • The first Miami dunk resulted in heavy applause at the Palace (not cool).
  • I was told to ask any of the Miami Heat fans bandwagoners if they knew who Ronnie Seikaly (did you know he was a DJ now?) was…needles to say they all looked at me like I was crazy and one even thought I was looking for a Detroit area restaurant.
  • Not fun to watch…even more sad to be there.
  • The Heat’s 12-2 run in the second quarter really just deflated the Pistons chances of even being in this one. They almost looked like they had given up late in the first quarter.
  • Did Maxiell go from eating babies to being the janitor?
  • D Wade had a free pass right to the rim all game long.
  • Miami looked like they were just toying with Detroit all game long.
  • Jesse Jackson in the house with Aretha Franklin. And now staple at the Palace Ndamukong Suh was in the house.
  • 30 fast break poins for Miami.
  • Biggest lead for the head 25, but quite honestly if felt like 50.
  • Lowlights via Pistons.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • The Pistons were led by Austin Day with 18 points on 6-for-13 shooting with 3 from downtown.
  • T-Mac with 5 turnovers.
  • The Pistons never led in this one.
  • Another DNP for Rip.
  • Unfortunately the best part of the game was a BYNUMite putback dunk from Will that didn’t count.
  • Monore with 8 points and just 4 boards.
  • Ben Gordon with 16 off the bench (where he really does belong until he gets his game together).

Kuester: “That second group came in and got good shots,” John Kuester said. “Unfortunately, they got lost in transition and they made us pay every possession. Their ability to get momentum plays … sucks the wind out of the crowd. That period where we were 1 for 9, that hurt. Having four turnovers in our first seven possessions, those are things that bite you in the butt against a team of that quality.”

  • Let’s just hope the next two (Portland and Atlanta) don’t look anything like this game.
7 Responses to "That wasn’t fun – The Heat dismantle Detroit"
  1. Drew says:

    Gotta get a replay up of Bynum’s follow-up dunk that didn’t count for points.

  2. Do the Pistons have any chances to trade RIP to a contender in the next 11 days?

  3. Drew says:

    All I know is Detroit needs to go after Kendrick Perkins during the offseason.

  4. terry says:

    You heard it here first. Detroit will win the next 11 games.

  5. JC says:

    I’m disgusted that there is people in Detroit that honestly cheer for LeDoosh and the Heat, does anyone not remember that at one point in the last decade the Heat and more noteably the Cavs were our biggest rivals in the East? Freakin’ bandwagon fans, GET A LIFE AND DON’T SHOW YOUR FACES AT THE PALACE IF YOUR GONNA PULL CRAP LIKE THAT!!!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM