Three’s a Charm – Detroit logs their third straight against the Mavs

Posted · 37 Comments
jan_16_11_tmac

The Pistons celebrated Martin Luther King day at home with their third straight victory. A feat that unfortunately the Pistons hadn’t accomplished since April of 2009. Despite 32 from Dirk Nowitzki, the Pistons, who shot a season high 57.5% for the game, took the matinee at the Palace 89-103.

Key Points:

  • Rodney Stuckey led Detroit with 20 points on 6-for-8 shooting, with 6 assists, a blocked shot and just one turnover, with a +14 rating. Raise your hands if you think Stuckey is flourishing at the two.
  • Another DNP for Rip Hamilton, who sits while the Pistons wait to see if the trade goes through. I wonder what Rip was thinking when he heard the Palace crowd chant “we want Rip”
  • Got to love Pistons fans…after the Rip chant. @Chris_Iott heard a fan chant “We want Troy Murphy.”
  • Good to see T-mac bounce right back after his slight injury against the Kings. Tracy with 8 points and 3 assists in 25 minutes

McGrady: “That foundation has finally been set. Guys know their role in the starting group and guys (know) their role coming off the bench, and you can see it’s just clicking right now. That’s something we’ve been searching for for quite some time and I think we finally found it.

  • OMG how is Brian Cardinal still getting a paycheck in the NBA. If you didn’t know he was drafted by the Pistons. I wonder if anyone out there has a Pistons/Cardinal jersey?
    After giving up a ridiculous 71 points at the half against the Kings Saturday night, the Pistons held the Mavs to 37.
  • Ben Wallace rested his ankle.
  • Highlights of the game via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Dare I say that this game was surprisingly easy?
  • So is this starting five a winner?  When you win three in a row using it, especially the way the Pistons have you have to say yes.
  • Want more Stucktacular statistics on Rodney as the two guard? Stuckey is averaging 19.3 points on 17-for-28 shooting 60.7% since moving to the starting shooting guard position the last three games.
Rodney Stuckey

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Another solid game from Charlie V, who I have to say has really played well all season long, but it’s particularly nice to get his shooting off the bench.  Charlie V finished with 15 points in the victory.
  • Tay with 19 on 9-for-12 shooting with 5 assists and a blocked shot.  This really is the best Tay has played in quite some time. Tay recorded one block but really got robbed on a very clean block on Jason Terry that they called a foul.
  • Will Bynum contributing again.  He’s ready when called upon.
  • Reports surfaced out of Dallas over the weekend that the Mavs have targeted Tayshaun Prince, among a handful of NBA players, as a possible fill-in for Caron Butler.
  • He plays defense and he dunks, Greg Monroe with the steal and the drive.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Monroe solid, solid and solid.  The kid put up 16 with 9 boards and 4 steals!  He will be playing in the all star rookie game right?  With every game you see his confidence rise and his shots fall.
  • Ben Gordon put up 11, but still really doesn’t have his shot back yet.  When he does…you’ll know it.
  • Really….what have they been feeding Chris Wilcox?
37 Responses to "Three’s a Charm – Detroit logs their third straight against the Mavs"
  1. This game was easy. I don’t kno how, but it looked really easy even tho Dirk scored 30plus again and stuff
    Monroe is playing I expected from him, doing his thing!!! Barea should not be happy, lost the ball to Monroe on the dribbling, such a shame for pg if pg is under 6’0 and the defender in about 6’10
    I like T-Mac as pg, he creates lots of mismatches, moves players the right way, he’s good!

  2. Tycoon says:

    I have to say this is surprising. We are the kind of opponent that Mavs are looking forward to finally break their slump and yet we beat them bad.
    Nice Win!

  3. zeke khaseli says:

    Starting to get greedy. Beat Celtics!

  4. Kevin (PHL) says:

    What have they been feeding Chris Wilcox? Good passes, thats what. With a “true PG” finally on the team, we’re finally seeing what we’re capable of.

    Wilcox was a very athletic player on the Sonics back then… if anyone was paying attention. Not a go-to guy but definitely a serviceable big man. I’m not surprised at all to see this come out, now that someone is actually sharing the rock.

    On Rip – nice to see some fans still appreciate the guy. Not like some on this board who show no respect for someone who has helped bring a ‘ship to the city. I’m hoping the NJ trade goes through, and he flourishes in his new team and people will see how Rip can be used properly. One expression comes to mind – “You never know what you’ve got til its gone”

    • piston_fan_philippines says:

      i completely agree with you on rip

    • Sable says:

      The same could be said for Rip. Don’t get me wrong, I love him to death and appreciate all that he’s done for the franchise, but the team that won that championship got a bit too full of themselves. That’s why they always throw coaches under the bus. Hate to break it to these guys but there is only one Larry Brown and if you can’t make the best of it for any other coach, then that’s going to create problems. I think a change of scenery will be good for Rip and it will be good for the Pistons. Once he’s gone, he’ll appreciate what he had in Detroit, much like Ben did.

    • Sable says:

      I should also add something else. Even back during the championship years, Rip would play caffeinated. That is, he’d play too fast, run himself out of position on defense and hurry his shots or turn the ball over. That’s pretty much how he’s played this season. Yes, he plays very hard, but he’s played out of control. He had Chauncey and Larry Brown to tell him to slow down and focus, but now? Perhaps this is an indictment on Kuester, but Rip is a veteran and there comes a time when you’ve got to be able to figure this out for yourself.

    • Asad T says:

      I would still like to see Rip play a before the deal goes down (if it does) He just hasnt been the same since they shipped Billups away

  5. Just a note: do you remember how Okur was contributing for the Jazz? Did you see Kwame the potatoe hands lately? Darko? Did you see Milicic this season?
    Where have they been when they were in Detroit?

    • Kevin (PHL) says:

      Please don’t tell me your comparing Rip to Darko and Kwame.

      • No, but there is some talent in Darko, at least he’s a starting C in NBA team.
        What was wrong with him all these years? Did it take him several years to start to play or is it his new contract? Why couldn’t he show anything here in Detroit?
        It’s a rhetorical question…

      • Drew says:

        I came across the box score showing Kwame scoring 15 points and grabbing 16 boards last night. Couldn’t believe it, but happy for him I must say.

    • edt says:

      yes i have and both kwame and darko are still TURRIBLE

      you play those guys when you got nothing else

      • Enoc says:

        Not at all, I agree with J.G. he didn’t have time to play here… Now that he’s been playing you can see the results he’s among the league leaders in Blocks per game and in his las 3 games he has put up this nice numbers:
        34 min. 22 points, 8 rebounds, 2 steals, 4 blocks
        19 min. 13 points, 6 rebound, 1 assist, 3 blocks
        33 min. 14 points, 11 rebounds, 2 assists, 2 blocks

        pretty nice huh??

        Darko might not be an ALL-STAR but he’s a good player

  6. J.G says:

    He didnt get enough playing time

  7. Jake says:

    good win fun to watch. really impressed with monroe hope he can keep it up. and stuck is soo much better at 2 hes just not forcing anymore taking good shots i love it i think they will get the 7 or 8 seed

  8. Drew says:

    It’s funny how many fewer comments there are after a win. Not much to say. We’re just content.

    That was the halfway point for the season. We’re on pace for 30 wins now, which may not seem like much, but I’m sure most of us will take it. Our pace might seem inflated, given we just won three straight, but I think even if we continue play at a bad clip for the season’s second half (comparable to most of the first half) we’ll still win a game here and there, and then we can count on a handful of wins in our last six games (check out the schedule). Peace, I’m out. Have a good day, y’all.

  9. Joe says:

    “Money” Monroe, that’s what I’ll call him

  10. asdf says:

    I get that Rip isn’t playing because he’s likely to be traded. Any reason Jason Maxiell isn’t playing? Has he just fallen that much?

  11. pistonsfan101 says:

    I would feel really bad if this Melo trade doesn’t go through. Rip will be stuck in a very awkward position and will probably be stuck on the bench until he gets traded to another team. I hope there is a plan B to this.

  12. I don’t even want to think about it.
    That’s a terrible situation, RIP deserved a good team two years ago

  13. Kashmeer says:

    Great game to watch

    Love the new backcourt; I wanted to see it but never thought Stuck will be so good off the ball, he had very good slash to the basket & he was able to get in rythm without using more than 2 or 3 bounces getting to the hoop…

    BUT looking more closely at the game i’ve notice ( I actually rewatched it today) Stuckey & T-mac did not simply switch their roles !!

    They both share the point & both play off the ball ; It seems that we re finally seeing what Joe had foreseen…A new type backcourt made of two combo guard that makes the Pistons not so predictable on offense …

    I also love the fact that the team did run ( at least a couple time ) the offense through Greg on the High post

    Now I wonder who would be the perfect fit next to Stuck if Tmac walk this summer…

  14. Jake says:

    i hope tmac dont leave. i cant bring myself to believe hes just doing this to prove himself then go to a better team, i rly like him here

  15. edt says:

    bynum is almost exactly like a shorter stuckey. That’s your combo guard right there.

    the problem is of course, this means we never use ben gordon, we just rotate t-mac, stuckey & bynum, and rely on charlie V, Daye & Prince for our 3’s.

    like stuckey, bynum has never really gotten the chance to play at the 2, since he gets paired with shooters.

    • Drew says:

      Bynum is too small to EVER play the two.

    • Kasshmeer says:

      The defensive end scares me!!

      I do not know if Bynum would be able to run the 2 with his lack of size & his weak defense…

      But it seems we had a pretty nice 2nd half against SAC with this backcourt( “seems” since i felt in sleep at halftime!!)
      So it deserves another shot against a tougher opponent

  16. MattDaRealest says:

    Sad to say, but out winning streak is most likely going to end tomorrow :(

  17. Mike from the ATL says:

    Great read Natalie. Always enjoy it.

    I like Stuckey at the 2, and it’ll be interesting to see how Boston adjusts to him. This game will show us if Kuester can coach (insert joke here). The past three games Stuck has been on fire and Boston will look to shut him down. With who? I don’t see Ray spending the energy on D, so it’ll probably be Rondo. If that happens, you have Ray on Mcgrady. As good as Rondo is defensively, Stuck is too strong. You can’t put Rondo on Mcgrady…See what I’m getting at?

    I think we are going to more than hang tonight…

    • Joe says:

      If they’re really focused on trying to shut down Stuckey they’ll put Pierce on him, with Rondo on T-Mac and Allen on Prince.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM