Pistons are Kings in their Palace

Posted · 4 Comments
jan_15_11_bynum

Something odd happened at the Palace Saturday night. The Pistons not only won two in a row, but they outscored their opponent 51-36 thanks to a dominant third quarter to narrowly escape with a 106-110 victory over the Sacramento Kings.

Key Points:

  • The Pistons with almost not defense in the first half. To extra defense in the second half that led to the Kings shooting just 31%.
  • Tayshaun Prince led the Pistons with 21 points on 9-for13 shooting with 6 boards, a steal and 3 assists.
Tayshaun Prince

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Tracy McGrady left in early in the first quarter with a shin injury and didn’t return.
  • No matter, Will Bynum stepped in with 18 points and some key plays in the Pistons victory. This was one of them
  • Bynumite block by will in crunch time.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video courtesy of NBA.com

Kuester on the Block: “I had to ask somebody, ‘Was that Will?’ He had one of those games where he changed the complexion of the game.”

  • Detroit out-rebounded 45-30.
  • As is we didn’t know, Rip with another DNP while all teams involved try to get the trade done.
  • Charlie Villanueva was stellar off the bench for Detroit. CV31 with 16 points , 2 assists and 2 boards.

Villanueva: “We just buckled down in the second half, they were making everything.” “It was more of a mental thing. It was intensity, we got the stops we needed.”

  • Thank the Pistons bench for this one, who combined for 52 points.
  • Ben Gordon looking better after returning to the bench putting up 16 Saturday night.
  • Yes that was Detroit who held the Kings to just 10 points in the third quarter.
  • I’m liking what Chris Wilcox is doing every game. And boy can he throw one down with authority when he has the chance.
  • Stucktacular game from stuck who put up 19 points on 6-for-11 shooting and did a heck of a job defensively on Evans in the second half. Stuckey at the two…is number one in my book.
  • Highlights of the game via Pistons.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

4 Responses to "Pistons are Kings in their Palace"
  1. MattDaRealest says:

    FIRE KUESTER AND HIRE MIKE BROWN!!!!

  2. terry says:

    I’d uh… have to say no thanks to Mr. Brown.

  3. James (Australia) says:

    I really want to see three ‘blues’ in a row. Side note: I know it is Pistons red, white, and blue, but I really liked the green for wins. On with the comment:

    From the start, this seemed like a game that would be won by the team who could lock down first. Both teams scored really well, the Kings just got out to a quicker start, but the Pistons’ 59 points in the first half is a fair effort.

    Then I loved the second half. I liked the fact that we were able to recognize the fact that our defence needed more attention, and we locked down to hold them to 36 second half points. Great performances from everyone.

    Needed this one with the tough stretch coming – it would be nice to take advantage of the Mavericks while they are down, but I can already see Nowitzki coming out and knocking down 15/15 shots, 15/15 free throws, and getting 15 rebounds. The guy is a Pistons’ killer.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM