Nothing good happens in New Jersey

Posted · Add Comment
jan_21_11_fi

The Pistons dropped their second straight in New Jersey losing to the Nets 74-89. Any loss is disappointing, but to the team and its fans is the fact that they went down to the wire on Wednesday night against the Celtics and then put up a dud against the struggling Nets is just another sign of the issues the Pistons have.

Key Points:

  • Really…what are they going to do with Rip Hamilton? Another game goes by that he’s glued to the bench even when the trade deal is off the table. Are there other reasons why Rip isn’t playing? I’m tempted to put up a poll on the site on how many more games it’s going to take until Rip explodes to the media. It’s an bad situation that’s only getting worse as the days go on.
  • Are they blaming energy on this one?

Ben Gordon: “We were definitely flat. I don’t know why but for whatever reason we were definitely flat. Whether you’re tired for one game or just can’t get into it you just have to dig down and try to find whatever we can. Guys came in the 4th quarter and we really didn’t have a rhythm. That’s pretty much the game right there, they just came in they had the momentum and we didn’t and that’s the difference.”

  • The most exciting thing about this game was the Will Bynum lob pass that when it.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video courtesy of NBA.com

  • Greg Monroe struggled to score going 2-for-6 and 1-4 from the line for 5 points. Shooting issues aside he still grabbed 10 boards and playing solid defense on Lopez and Favors.
  • T-Mac with 10 points, 6 boards and 6 assists.
  • Shooting woes – Detroit struggled in the first half on the offensive, shooting under 30 percent and finishing at 33 percent for the game.
  • Tayshuan Prince led the Pistons with 16 points on 6-for-17 shooting with 3 assists, a steal and a blocked shot in 33 minutes.
  • Charlie Villanueva went down awkwardly late in the first quarter. He left the game and returned to start the second quarter, but only played nine minutes leaving with a sprained ankle and didn’t return. It looks like he’s going to be sidelined for a game or two…or more.
  • Stuckey struggled with his shot going 3-for-12 but thankfully was perfect from the line. Stuckey, who in the first six minutes shot 0 for 5 with two shots blocked, another layup missed and two turnovers. He finished the game with 14 points and an assist in 28 minutes.
  • The Pistons waived the red flag in the fourth quarter. Rare sighting of DaJuan Summers.
  • The Nets shot 50% from the floor.
  • Highlights of the game via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video courtesy of NBA.com

  • When is Ben Gordon going to shake this shooting slump?
  • Not much more to add, this one was just hard to watch considering they really could have pulled this one out. With no Charlie and no Ben it’s going to be tough for the Pistons. Will Saturday’s game with Phoenix add to the mess or get them back on track?
  • You do remember what happened the last time these two teams met?

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Indiana
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Orlando
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Houston
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Miami
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Denver
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Chicago
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Washington
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM