Despite 35 from BG the Pistons lose at MSG

Posted · 5 Comments
Ben Gordon scores 35 against the Knicks

The Pistons, despite holding their own with the Knicks thorough three quarters, just couldn’t keep up with the high scoring pace as Detroit dropped their third in a row to New York 106-124.

Key Points:

  • No Ben Wallace (personal reasons), no Stuckey and Rip was out with the “flu”. If Rip’s “flu” keeps lingering like this the Pistons had better call in Dr. House to get to the bottom of whatever it is that’s ailing him.
  • 91-91 at the end of the third quarter. The Pistons couldn’t go blow for blow against the high scoring Knicks. No D and a 10-2 run for New York in the fourth did the Pistons in.
  • The Pistons shot 50% for the night and 54.5% from behind the arch. And they lost!
  • Defense anyone?
  • Fifth double-double of the season for Greg Monroe who scored 15 points and grabbed 17 boards (career high). The most rebounds from a Pistons rookie since Grant Hill had 16 in his rookie season. Monroe had 14 and 16 before the third quarter but had to sit with foul trouble. It’s not just the rebounds or the points for Monroe…it’s everything he does. From the hustle to the assists (2) to the steals (2) to the tips, he’s doing it all.
  • Greg Monroe Highlights

[flashvideo file="http://www.need4sheed.com/videos/flash_video/jan_30_11_monroe.f4v /]
Video Courtesy of The NBA and The Detroit Pistons

  • Add Russian rookie Tim Mozgov to one of those no name guys that the Pistons make look like an all-start. Mozgov averages 2.3 points and 2.0 rebounds in 10 minutes a game had a career night with 23 points and 14 rebounds.
  • The Pistons were led by the extremely hot hand of Ben Gordon, who scored 35 points and went 7-for-11 from downtown. Gordon scored 16 points in the third quarter in 42 minutes. Nice to see that shot go in like that, especially since we really haven’t seen it with Gordon in a Pistons uniform.
Ben Gordon scores 35 against the Knicks

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Ben Gordon Highlights

[flashvideo file="http://www.need4sheed.com/videos/flash_video/jan_30_11_gordon.f4v /]
Video Courtesy of The NBA and The Detroit Pistons

  • Give it up to Chris Wilcox who really is becoming a sold backup for this team (though he did start in place of Ben Wallace). Chris scored 5 points with 6 boards and 4 assists in 31 minutes and did his best to help defend the beast the is Amare Stoudemire.
  • Stoudemire with 33, Gallinari with 29 and Mozgov with 23 for New York.
  • Was it me or did T-Mac look like he was exhausted by mid third quarter? He finished with 12 points, 3 boards and 3 assists.
  • Charlie Villanueva hit some timely 3′s finished with 11 points in 19 minutes.
  • Limited time for Austin Daye who was 0-for-3 in 10 minutes.
  • Maxiell fell way out of the rotation. Jason logged a whopping 26 seconds while DaJuan Summers played 12 minutes and scored 4.
  • As solid as they come, it seems like the Pistons can always count on Tayshaun Prince this season. He put up 16 points, but struggled doing it. His posterizing dunk over Gallinari…a TP classic.

[flashvideo file=http://nba.cdn.turner.com/nba/big/games/knicks/2011/01/30/0021000705_det_nyk_play2.nba_nba_576x324.flv /]
Video Courtesy of NBA.com

  • Despite all the drama and the Pistons record, they really seem like they are finding their way. Dare I say they have finally meshed?
  • Don’t forget that Wednesday is Pistons Social Media Night…so brave the massive blizzard that the Metro Area is bracing for and head out to the game to meet Jonas Jerebko!
5 Responses to "Despite 35 from BG the Pistons lose at MSG"
  1. Detroit89 says:

    honestly the pistons played solid for the most part. for missing, Wallace, Stuckey and well Rip if you still want to count him, we played in the last few games.

    - What happened to Charlie V’s Defense, he was grabbing more boards not that long ago, but now he was not. Its nice that he comes off and scores high, but if he is not using his size then we are struggling.

    - Austin Daye is a terrific athlete but he needs to develop his game. his athleticism is true raw and needs to be developed because he has good games when he makes his shots but he needs to learn to play when there is traffic and not when there is an open shot

    - Greg Monroe played terrific but I think that he was such a good passer in college and that he has been compared to Kevin Love during college, a passing big man, he needs to start passing again. If he can average 2 more passes a game with his other numbers we will be much better team

    I think that they should adjust the line up if Stuckey or Wallace is not ready to return to this:
    PG: T-Mac
    SG: Ben Gordon
    SF; Prince
    PF: Villanueva
    C: Greg Monroe

  2. Marcell says:

    Very good article at the Detroit New this morning that says it all. I have to agree with 99% of it. It’s worth reading if your a die hard Pistons fan.
    http://www.detnews.com/article/20110131/SPORTS0102/101310354/Pistons%E2%80%99-future-hinges-on-sale

  3. Ryan says:

    It’s a shame that BG’s 35 points went to waste. Neither team played D in this one.

  4. I told you – Tim Mozgov was a force in Russia, he will put up 15+10 every night if he gets 30mins
    He’s a nice find for NY, and I wonder why NY found Mozgov without draft, summer league, SAS found Splitter, Houston found Scola and Joe D didn’t find anyone like those guys.

    I would love to have Tim in our team for his money

    He will be ok, trust me, nothing strange he had 23+14 against our soft forwards

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM