Austin’s Three Saves the DAYE – Pistons over the Sixers in OT

Posted · 12 Comments
He Saves the Daye!

With 3.5 seconds on the clock in regulation and the Pistons down 96-99 the Pistons had a chance. That chance when right into the hands of second year SF Austin Daye who calmly hit a corner three to tie the game and send it into overtime. After Daye tied the game with his triple that sent the game into OT he went on to score the first five points of overtime in the Pistons 109-112 victory over Philadelphia.

Key Points:

  • Daye’s Triple to send it into overtime.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video via NBA.com

  • Daye had some key plays throughout the game that lit the crowd on fire. He finished the game with 15 points, 6 boards, a blocked shots and three assists in 24 minutes.
Austin Daye

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • The Sixers just wouldn’t go away in OT even though the Pistons pulled away fast. In fact they had a shot to take it into double overtime when the Sixers Meeks had an off-balance triple shot that almost went in. I’m actually surprised he didn’t go to the line for three free throws.
  • Greg Monroe recorded his second career double-double – and his second straight double-double with an NBA career high 16 point, 13 rebounds, three assists and three steals. If that’s not improvement, I don’t know what it. There has been many people who would like to see him start and to be quite honest he may just improve even more with more minutes on the floor.

Greg Monroe: “I just kept on working, coming into this league you’ve got to earn everything every day. I didn’t lose focus, things get frustrating, but I just kept on working, kept on learning, got in the games and just tried to do my best. As time came along I started playing more, now I’m finishing games and I’m trying to work to stay in that position.”

  • Highlight reel Dunk from Monroe via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Stuckey with a 20 point night came out shooting right from the opening tip. Stuckey added 4 assists with 7 boards, and 2 steals in 35 minutes.
  • T-Mac played 39 minutes with 7 assists, 4 boards and finished with 7 points. He also had a really nice dunk thanks to a great alley-oop pass from who else…Austin Daye.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • On of the better crowds at the Palace, who actually didn’t need the big screen to help them scream defense at the end of the game.
  • Highlights of the game via NBA.com
  • Get the Flash Player to see this content.

    • The second pick in the NBA draft Rookie Evan Turner, who hasn’t really wowed yet this season did just fine against Detroit going for 19 points, on 7-for-11 with 5 assists. I guess the Pistons just do that to players.
    • Detroit’s first half defense was abysmal. In fact (although I was at the game so can’t be sure) at one point I think that the Sixers were shooting well over 60% from the floor.
    • Looks like Will Bynum is the one stuck on the bench now. Bynum with another DNP, but he was a heck of a cheerleader all night.
    • Ben Gordon and Rip Hamilton were both off all night long and combined for 4-for-17 shooting between them.
    • Daye and Monroe aside, if it weren’t for Tayshaun Prince the Pistons would have never been in the position to even get into overtime. Tay willed the team back with some key makes in the closing minutes and finished with a game high 23 points adding 8 boards 2 assists a steal and a blocked shot.
    • Prince Highlights of the game.

    Get the Flash Player to see this content.

    Video Courtesy of the NBA and The Detroit Pistons

    • I don’t care what uniform he’s in, I still can’t stand Andres Nocioni.
    • The effort put in by Monroe always seems to stand out now. One play in particular that he didn’t give up on added 3 rebounds, a basket and a trip to the line to his box score stats.
    • Ben Wallace said a few choice words that got him a technical foul with 2 minutes left because of a no foul call on him. The technical foul and the free throw put the Sixers ahead 93-90. Wallace finished with 6 points, 5 boards, a blocked shot and YES, 5 assists in 31 minutes.
    • Issues with free throw shooting lately. The Pistons were just 64% from the line and two misses freebies from Prince at the end of OT left the door open for the Sixers.
    • Not much time from Rip. He played just 17 minutes on the night. The only Piston with less minutes was Maxiell, who had 7.
    • Hard fought game that you just knew was going down to the wire. This one was tied 9 times and with 12 lead changes.

    Kuester: “The thing I was impressed with was we never gave up. We came up and kept battling. The last play ended up Austin (Daye) doing a great job, Rodney Stuckey that did a great job setting up a screen to get Austin open but guys helped each other. Great win.”

    • It’s not going to be easy to take on in Chicago on Monday.
    12 Responses to "Austin’s Three Saves the DAYE – Pistons over the Sixers in OT"
    1. fire_kuester_now says:

      “The play actually wasn’t for me to start off and then (coach John Kuester) changed it around,” Daye said. “I got a great screen and as soon as I let it go, I knew it was going in.”

      If anyone watched the game on TV you could see and hear Kuester originally called the final play of regulation for T-mac, but thank god assistant coach Darrelll Walker stepped in and suggested Kuester to give it to Daye. Daryl Walker should be our head coach.

      • Leftos says:

        I mentioned that via a tweet to Nat yesterday the moment I saw it. Q hadn’t even thought of Daye, and Walker said something along the lines “What about Daye?” just at the moments the players stared to leave the circle and Q called them back.

        Walker saved the game for us, as far as play-calling goes. Period.

    2. gordbrown says:

      A couple of points. Wallace technical was because he was fouled by two players clearly and with no call. Hard to blame him but it almost cost the game. Also one of the great things about Chuck Daly was that he brought in really good assistants and wasn’t threatened by them. To me, what Kuester did was a recommendation not a strike against him.

    3. Drew says:

      I agree about Nocioni. I’m surprised he didn’t kill us like usual. I also believe McGrady had 9 points, not 7.

      And where is the replay of Stuckey breaking Jrue Holiday’s ankles? I hope nobody’s so biased that we can’t applaud a sick play by him when there is one.

    4. piston_fan_philippines says:

      Great game last night. I really thought its all over until Daye hit that 3! Gonno download this game today.

    5. Leftos says:

      “Detroit’s first half defense was abysmal. In fact (although I was at the game so can’t be sure) at one point I think that the Sixers were shooting well over 60% from the floor.”

      Keith Langlois (via Twitter) mentioned something around 75% as the first half was closing.

    6. Leftos says:

      If anyone wants the Stuckey vs. Jrue ankle breaker highlight…

    7. Matt Selke says:

      I was at this game in section 117 row E seat #1 ! Great game. Hey Nat did you notice all the people leaving when we were down 3 and Philly had 2 free throws? People loose faith too quickly. My friend and I stayed until the very end.

    Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

     

    2014 - 2015 Schedule

    @ Denver
    Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
    @ Minnesota
    Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
    Brooklyn
    Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    New York
    Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Milwaukee
    Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Utah
    Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
    @ Chicago
    Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
    @ Washington
    Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
    @ Oklahoma
    Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
    @ Memphis
    Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
    Orlando
    Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Phoenix
    Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Atlanta
    Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Milwaukee
    Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
    LA Clippers
    Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Milwaukee
    Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Golden State
    Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
    LA Lakers
    Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Boston
    Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Philadelphia
    Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Oklahoma
    Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
    Portland
    Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Phoenix
    Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
    @ Sacramento
    Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
    @ LA Clippers
    Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
    Dallas
    Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Toronto
    Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Brooklyn
    Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
    Indiana
    Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Cleveland
    Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
    @ Orlando
    Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
    @ New York
    Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Sacramento
    Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
    @ San Antonio
    Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
    @ Dallas
    Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
    Atlanta
    Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Brooklyn
    Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Toronto
    Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    New Orleans
    Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Indiana
    Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
    Philadelphia
    Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Atlanta
    Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
    Orlando
    Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Milwaukee
    Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Toronto
    Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
    Cleveland
    Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Philadelphia
    Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
    Houston
    Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Miami
    Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Indiana
    Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
    Denver
    Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Minnesota
    Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
    @ Charlotte
    Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
    San Antonio
    Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Chicago
    Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Washington
    Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
    Cleveland
    Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ New York
    Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Washington
    Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
    @ New Orleans
    Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
    @ Houston
    Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
    Charlotte
    Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
    @ LA Lakers
    Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
    @ Golden State
    Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
    @ Portland
    Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
    @ Utah
    Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
    Memphis
    Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Philadelphia
    Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
    Chicago
    Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Boston
    Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
    Toronto
    Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Orlando
    Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
    @ Miami
    Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
    Atlanta
    Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    @ Charlotte
    Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
    @ Chicago
    Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
    Miami
    Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Boston
    Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Indiana
    Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
    Charlotte
    Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
    @ Cleveland
    Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
    @ New York
    Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM