The Pistons vs. The Hornets

Posted · 7 Comments
The Pistons vs. The Hornets

The 7-15 Pistons are on a second game of a back to back in New Orleans to face the 13-7 Hornets.

The Pistons aren’t the only ones with issues, the league announced Monday it was purchasing the team from owner George Shinn. After another potential deal fell through, the NBA is hoping get them stable financially and attract a local buyer who will keep the team in New Orleans.

David West, the Hornets’ leading scorer, who’s averaging 18.5 points per game, called the situation a “mess.”

Chris Paul is averaging 14.4 points over the last nine games after getting 17.5 during the previous 11. Despite his drop in scoring, he’s among the league leaders in assists with 10.4 per game.

On the Pistons side of the ball, it’s a homecoming for rookie Greg Monroe.

The Scouting Report via Pistons.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Tip off is at 8:00 pm and will be broadcast on FS Detroit . If you can’t catch the game on TV, follow it live over at NBA.com or on the radio over at WWJ 950 AM.

Leave your thoughts in the comments or Chat Live with your fellow Pistons fans during the game.

7 Responses to "The Pistons vs. The Hornets"
  1. Seif-Eldeine says:

    Jeremy Maus of Mountain West Connection has a son with autism, periventricular leukomalacia and mild cerebral palsy. He is trying to raise money in order to get his son a service dog so that his son does not wander off or get lost. This is a cause worthy of your attention and donation if you can afford it. You can read Jeremy’s take on the subject and learn how to donate at http://www.mwcconnection.com/2010/12/6/1855365/please-help-my-son-get-a-service-dog#add-comment

    You can also re-post this message or a similar one to your own blog or to your facebook page in order to drive more traffic to his page.

  2. edt says:

    The pistons packed it in and gave up on this game about 5 minutes in during the 1st quarter, and decided to start jacking up threes. chris paul by himself had 14 assists. the entire pistons team had 15 assists. Must be nice to have a power forward, a center, and a point guard, instead of a team consisting entirely of wing players. pistons didnt make the hornets work too hard.

  3. rai_from_the_philippines says:

    ho-hum. another loss. no teamwork. no effort. what else’s new?

  4. James (Australia) says:

    I’m sorry, I need to rant.

    Normally, I am a pretty positive guy. I like to believe the spin and cliches thrown around by the Pistons. The excuses sound so good. “Hey, we are just having a rough patch,” “It was the second night of a back to back on the road,” “We had good shots that just didn’t go down,” or “We just had a momentary mental lapse and all of a sudden were down by 20 points.”

    ENOUGH WITH THE EXCUSES! Sorry, but everyone else in the NBA can see that this team looks totally disinterested. Hey, I reckon we are better than the Wizards, but I watched them push the Lakers in LA to the final siren because that team wanted to play basketball. There is NO excuse for being 0-6 on the second half of back to backs. There is NO excuse for having a 2-11 road record. NBA players KNOW that they will have to play on the road, and they will have to play two nights in a row occasionally. Yet, they have, recently, packed it in by the end of the first half.

    I will fully support a lineup change, rotation, or a trade (so long as it is actually helping the team, and not just a trade to look like we are doing something). No player deserves to start because you only deserve to start if you are helping your team win. At the moment, we are not winning. The guys who need to pick up their games in particular are Hamilton and Maxiell. Gordon had another good game, and surely it is only a matter of time before they try Gordon starting….what have we got to lose at this point? We can’t do any worse (and if we continue to lose, at least a high lottery pick is the light at the end of the tunnel) and if we win well then lets celebrate.

    Sorry to be so negative, but I have been hiding this frustration since the beginning of the season pretty much.

    A positive note: this team still can turn it around, but they need to show some guts to want to play basketball.

    • Drew says:

      Actually, Max just had one of his better games of the season. Nonetheless, it’s time for a youth infusion. We need to start:

      Stuckey
      Daye
      Prince
      Villanueva
      Monroe

      Prince gets to stay because of his defense and he’s been one of our best players all year (sans last night).

  5. edt says:

    we are a soft team, we fold under the slightest pressure.

    stuckey and prince right now are our two best players right now and they do not fit. stuckey needs to run, he can make buckets in transition. Prince cant run he wants to play half court and jump shooters. we are a team that plays best when we run the court, yet we play with the slowest pace in the nba.

    we have no post presence. greg monroe, maxiell and ben wallace, none of them can make a shot further than 2 feet from the basket and greg monroe cant even make one 2 feet from the basket because he always gets blocked.

    any time rip hamilton decided he wants to leave and go enjoy a movie and a steak dinner, he quickly throws out a double tech.

    ben gordon is a $50 million dollar space cadet.

    and ben wallace got old.

    so here we sit waiting for Karen to sell the team and she cant get someone to write the check because apparently $300-$400 million from a homer who will take care of the fans isnt rich enough for her. aint saying she is a gold digger but she aint messing with no broke n****

  6. Jimmy says:

    I will bear losing the rest of the season if it means we get a number 1 or two pick.

    J.D pls buy out rips contract or bench him for the rest of the season.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM