The Pistons get their first win of the Season

Posted · 8 Comments
nov_5__10_gordon

Detroit started the game off strong, jetting off to a 22 point first half lead.  But the broken record of what has been their season thus far nearly gave this one away, letting the Bobcats right back into the game in the third quarter.  The victory ended a 0-5 start of the season and hopefully calmed whatever tension that has built up in the locker room.

Key Points:

  • Rodney Stuckey did not play.  We really won’t ever know what went on behind the scenes (as it should be) but I’m happy with the decision by Kuester to take matters in his own hands.  Stuckey did not comment about the situation and in fact told media member before the game,

“Why are you following me around, I ain’t got nothing to say.”

  • I can think of plenty of times in the past few season where Pistons players have had attitude issues and haven’t had to suffer any consequences.
  • Tracey McGrady was the Pistons starting PG and did one heck of a job taking the reins and setting the tempo for a 32-15 first quarter lead.  This is the best he’s looked in a Pistons uni this season, playing out of position and over his 15 minute limitation.  T-Mac scored 10 points with 3 boards, 2 assists and 2 steals in 23 minutes.  Nice to see him recovering.

“Whatever coach wants me to do,  I’m willing to do whatever this team needs, and tonight they needed me to be the point.”

  • Vintage T-Mac

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Is it going too far if we start throwing confetti? I was going to make the site rain confetti, because that’s how I felt after finally getting the W, but then I came to my senses.
  • What was not cool,  letting the Bobcats right back into the game.  Charlotte cut the lead to three twice with less than two minutes in the game.
  • Will Bynum played his second game of the season coming off the bench for the Pistons.  Will played 22 minutes with 6 points, 2 boards, 2 assists and a steal.
Will Bynum

Photo/AP

  • Tayshaun Prince looked totally different Friday night. With Prince, body language always tells the story. Tay scored 14 on 7-for-17 shooting, with 2 assists, and 4 boards. He said after the game that fans at the Palace were booing the team. Not cool…sure they aren’t doing well, but to get on a team who’s trying to win is really not what a true fan does. If you’re not happy with the way the team is playing or their record, why bother showing up at the game. You may feel different, but that’s just how I feel.
  • Huge buzzer beater to end the third quarter for Charlie V…right when the Pistons needed it.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Charlie finished with 10 points on 3-for-6 shooting (5 of which were 3 pointers), with 6 boards, an assist and a blocked shot.
  • DNP for Jason Maxiell.
  • Detroit lost the war of the boards 31-38.
  • Newsflash – I still can’t stand Stephen Jackson.
  • Charlotte with 22 turnovers and 9-for-20 from beyond the arc.
  • Thankfully Detroit made their free throws, going 26-for 27 from the line.
  • Austin Daye looked like the player from the pre-season. 3-for-6 shooting for 8 points, 2 boards, and a steal in 17 minutes.
  • HUGE rebound in the closing minute for Greg Monroe who’s playing well and racking up boards. In close to 20 minutes on the floor he scored 9 with 6 boards and a blocked shot. LET HIM PLAY more.
  • I’m absolutely fine letting Ben Gordon start the next 76 games.
  • Rip Hamilton off the bench – 2-for-7 from the floor for 16 points, 3 boards and assist in 27 minutes. A perfect 11-for-11 from the line.
  • The team looked like they were playing as a team all night long. Good ball movement…some suspect shot selection late in the game.
  • Ben Gordon again led the team in points with 20 on 7-for-16 shooting with 3 boards, 3 steals, and an assist.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Can they make it 2 against Golden State Sunday evening at the Palace?
8 Responses to "The Pistons get their first win of the Season"
  1. Steve says:

    “Why are you following me around, I ain’t have nothing to say.”

    I can’t resist… Rodney does realize he said that he actually has something to say, right?

  2. Amer-ican Prince says:

    tracy mcgrady reminded me what having a pass first point guard feels like, i enjoyed it.

    i love jmax but to be honest he really is not all that good on the block with his decisions so sitting him was probably a good idea.

    in the mist of the GREAT ball movement throughout the game there were two black spots, tayshaun was overtly selfish at times trying to pad his stats, same with rip.

    Tay used to be my favorite, now even when he makes a shot its usually such a selfish move i get mad when i see him shoot, i want him traded just cause he annoys me now. AND because he’s a whiny little baby who is so quick to blame to other people he cant see the small things he does to hurt this team every game

    • Agree…great ball movement. Wonder if that was ONE of the issues with Stuckey.

      • Amer-ican Prince says:

        yeah i dont see why we cant put tracy at the point instead of the 3 same thing i think the heat should do with lebron. Magic johnson was a huge point guard thats one of the reasons he was able to see over the defenses and make those passes

  3. terry says:

    When Tay is aggressive Pistons usually win. He is one of the most unselfish players in the league sometimes too unselfish. The coach has been riding him to be more aggressive on offense and sometimes you got to call your own number. I don’t know about whiny, pissed off maybe, and why not his team was 0-5 and just begging for someone to step up and be a leader and at times he seems to be the only one willing to do the little intangible things to help this team win. Not to mention the horrible fair weather fans we have in Detroit, so quick to turn their backs on you and trash you when you’re struggling, who walk out on you with a 1:40 to go in a game because you’re down by 4 points. I’d be a little pissed off too. Kuester showed he had some real stones benching Stuck, he had to get control of this team , and what better way than to bench your starting point guard for doing something so immature as sulk on the bench when the coach calls your number. I think that will help Stuck way more than hurt him. Let’s go Pistons.

  4. Keith (Australia) says:

    Hard fought victory well done boys.

    Still don’t quite get why Q insists on playing small ball in the fourth.
    Monroe impressing needs to get the ball in the post when he establishes position.
    Gordon living up to his contract.
    CV still scared of anything inside the 3 point line.
    Great to have Bynum back – he has the fire.
    T-Mac the old man looking good.

    Hopefully we can build on this win.
    Go Stones!

  5. James (Australia) says:

    Yeah, Aldrich. I really want to join the bandwagon Celtic fans who disappeared for 20 years through the ’90s and ’00s until they bought a title in ’08. I really want to join fans who can’t even spell ‘losers’ correctly.

    True fans stick by their team through good years and bad years. But I really don’t know why I am bothering talking to you about true fans since it is obvious that you are clueless when it comes to how to support a team.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM