Pistons scratch first road win against undermanned Clippers in OT

Posted · 12 Comments
nov_12_10_villanueva

When you’re struggling to win on the road, it’s good to get one in place where they seem to be given away like free candy.

The Pistons survived a hot Eric Gordon, a beastly Blake Griffin, and another bad third quarter to get their first road win 113-107 again the Los Angeles Clippers Friday in at Staples Center.

Detroit was lead by Charlie Villanueva, who scored 30 points, but only pulled down one rebound.

The Clippers were lead by Gordon’s 28 points and Rookie-of-the-year candidate Griffin’s 18 points and 18 rebounds.

Unlike the previous game in Portland, the Piston starters got off to a great start, building a double-digit lead in the first quarter led by Austin Daye’s 9 points.

The lead would reach 10 at the break after a second quarter that saw Villanueva hit 3 treys.

Similar to the previous game (and seemingly all of the others) the third quarter saw the large lead evaporate faster than the Clippers last playoff appearance.

The Clippers surge back into the game thanks to Piston turnovers, rushed shots, and a series of Blake Griffin dunks that electrified the crowd.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

The fourth quarter saw the lead change several times before the Clippers took a four point lead with just under 3 minutes to play.

Charlie V then knocked down two consecutive triples to pull Detroit within one each time. Then LA’s Rasual Butler hit one to put the home team 102-99 ahead with 29 seconds left.

After some free throw makes and misses both ways, the Pistons found themselves down 2 with 15 second remaining until Rip Hamilton tied things with a left corner jumper.

Rip then made a steal as the Clippers tried to inbound the ball after their timeout, and missed a pull-up jumper at the buzzer that would have won it.

In overtime, Rodney Stuckey and Jason Maxiell converted on free throws and field goals that put Detroit ahead for good.

Ben Gordon

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

Key Points:

Being that I now live in Los Angeles, I took this one in.

  • Charlie V was on fire in the first half, and clutch in the fourth quarter. Clipper fans were amazed or astonished by his shot making down the stretch.
  • This was Detroit’s first road win in five tries this season.
  • Blake Griffin has one of the ugliest jumpers I’ve ever seen.
  • The Clippers played without two starters: Baron Davis and Michigan native Chris Kaman.
  • Why doesn’t Ben Wallace finish games anymore?
  • Hey, a Jason Maxiell sighting!
  • Austin Daye was hot in the first, but disappeared the rest of the way.
  • Fans at Staples Center began leaving at around the 3 minute mark for some reason although the game was still in the balance.
  • Ben Gordon was non-existent, but picked up a technical foul for arguing with the official.
  • There was a Clipper fan who was so into the game that during a timeout when the team dancers were on the floor, he stood in the aisle and followed the routine step-by-step as people were trying to walk to their seats. We were very entertained.
  • Tracy McGrady gave to Pistons a brief lift in the second quarter.
  • The Clippers seemed to get to the rim at will in that third quarter.
  • Why did Will Bynum continue to shoot jumpers late in the game?
  • Shout out to that drunken fan who kept screaming “Deeeee-troit Baaaaa-sketballllll Sucks d**k” at the Piston fans in the house. He was also trying to pick up teenage girls at the arena.
  • Next stop: Sacramento Sunday Night.
  • Tom Gores attends Pistons game – Says he still wants to buy the team. (hat tip EDT in the comments)
12 Responses to "Pistons scratch first road win against undermanned Clippers in OT"
  1. edt says:

    Tom Gores attends Pistons game, says he’s still interested in owning team
    Vincent Goodwill / The Detroit News

    Los Angeles — Tom Gores, once considered the “frontrunner” to buy the Pistons, sat courtside for the Pistons-Clippers game Friday night and expressed his love for the Pistons franchise.

    “I’m a Michigan man, I love the Pistons,” Gores said. “And I’m only here for that.”

    Advertisement

    Gores sat next to Clippers owner Donald Sterling, and Sterling introduced Gores to a friend as “The guy that wants to buy the Pistons.” Gores didn’t elaborate about possible negotiations with the Pistons ownership group, but spoke for the first time since being named a possible suitor.

    “I can’t say anything about that, but I’m a big fan,” Gores said. “Would I love to own the team? Absolutely.”

    Mike Ilitch, owner of the Tigers and Red Wings, was in exclusive negotiations with Karen Davidson, widow of longtime Pistons owner William Davidson. However, a source close to the situation said the negotiations have stalled and Davidson and her agent, Citibank, have decided to reopen the process to allow other bidders to negotiate.

    Gores, a Michigan State alum, owns Platinum Equity. He’s made a habit of taking unsuccessful companies, changing their business model and making them successful again. He has great admiration for Ilitch.

    “I think Mike Ilitch has been great to the Detroit community. If he’s able to buy the team, great,” Gores said. “If not, I’d like to be involved in a different way. I want to make a difference.”

    Gores, a Flint native, attended the game with his wife Holly. He spoke of the youth teams he coaches in California and also the love he has for Michigan and the Detroit area.

    “I’d like to be a part of the Detroit community in some way,” Gores said. “That’s what I’ve done my whole life. When I talk to my kids, I talk about doing the right things. I’ll make families better, I’ll make communities better.”

    From The Detroit News: http://detnews.com/article/20101113/SPORTS0102/11130384/Tom-Gores-attends-Pistons-game–says-he’s-still-interested-in-owning-team#ixzz15Ah2MLe1

    http://www.detnews.com/article/20101113/SPORTS0102/11130384/1127/SPORTS0105/Tom-Gores-attends-Pistons-game–says-he%E2%80%99s-still-interested-in-owning-team

    * * *

    how cow. it is going to be a loooong season. karen please just take a haircut and sell the team, either Tom Gores or Mike Illitch would make fine owners but please just sell the team. quit trying to haggle so much already.

  2. I thought the process is about to be done for Ilitch, now it’s all over again…
    Hard times for the team, but as I think, it can’t be much worse than this, Pistons will rise in some time.

    “Deeeee-troit Baaaaa-sketballllll Sucks d**k”, that’s true)))

    But I love the team, we must just wait for good times to come, I hope it will be sooner than later.

    I really care about Jerebko, when he will bу 100% it will be other team, trust me, he is our best player what comes to energy and hustle – that’s what we need

  3. I thought this thing was a done deal for Ilitch too…especially since I saw Tom Wilson walking around the Palace like the good old days on opening night.

  4. gordbrown says:

    I was surprised when others pointed out that CV had but one rebound in the box score. He seemed to be active on the boards and contributing to me. I know he made some tips that resulted in the Pistons getting the ball, at least one to Stuckey and another to Gordon. So don’t be led astray. He contributed there as well.

  5. terry says:

    I think the Pistons should come out of half time with a different line up, even if only for a few minutes. It will possibly throw off some of the half time adjustments of other teams by giving them a different look, and set the tone for the third quarter with high energy guys or scorers. Bynum, and CV have said they wanted to start this year. So throw them in a third quarter starting line up with Ben Gordon, Austin Daye at SF, and Monroe in the middle. This line up gives you a small but quick and versatile back court, a lanky 6’11 front court featuring two lights out shooters and a high quality passer. At any rate the formula for Pistons success is going deep into the bench with at least a ten man rotation every night letting every one get involved and wearing other teams down, so i’m glad Maxiel was able to get involved last night.

  6. RiZ says:

    Coach Q Needs help with his lineups. Ben Gordon and cv need to be starting period. Rip should be coming off the bench and daye is not a better starting pf than Charlie. Rip couldn’t buy a basket all night but he played most of the fourth quarter and overtime even though Eric Gordon was burning him every play. Ben Gordon is our closer and if he’s not on the court at the end of games that’s just bad coaching. Rip would benefit from coming off the bench and playing with bynum a more pure pg and setup man. We paid cv and bg 90 mill they need to get minutes and shots cuz they are both playing well. this should be obvious to an NBA coach.

  7. edt says:

    much rather start rip & tay so they have better trade value in january. theres a lot of baggage with those two, benching them sends the signal they are damaged goods and no team will want them.

  8. RiZ says:

    I understand your point. I was saying what gives us the best chance to win ballgames. Tay is playing great and should be starting. Rip other than the 27 point game has played like junk and it’s not all his fault he needs to be taking a majority of his shots running off screens and curling and I don’t see those plays being called for him. Coming off the bench as the main scoring option with bynum to set him up he has a better chance to be effective. Everyone already knows he’s one of the best conditioned athletes in the NBA so to start him and have him be ineffective isn’t help showcase him to anyone.

  9. edt says:

    maybe. I guess rip is not there mentally any more so it shouldn’t matter if we just cut him as a starter. you know rip is a lot better than ben gordon on defense so even when rip’s shot doesn’t fall he is still able to guard without fouling.

    we are either last or next to last defense in the league starting ben gordon will make it even worse, but maybe that’s what you do

    Ben gordon does make some ferocious fouls especially on the bigs, he nearly tackles them.

  10. jayg108 says:

    Did anyone see how the guys on the floor got bummed out when Q called one of those last timeouts? (kinda reminded me of how i reacted to my dad’s “lectures” when I was a kid)
    Looks like someone else noticed:
    And one: “Still some residual issues with Stuckey and Kuester http://www.mlive.com/pistons/index.ssf/2010/11/three-pointers_charlie_villanu.html

  11. pistonsfan101 says:

    Yeah I saw that too jayg108… At first I thought he said the F word when Kuester called timeout.. but still, there is still some beef between the two.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM