Dallas downs Detroit Amavzing 42 from Dirk

Posted · 12 Comments
nov_23_10_mcgrady

The Pistons started off Tuesday nights game in Dallas in a big 16 to 2 hole, that was until things drastically changed. The new Detroit Pistons turned into the old Pistons. By the end of the first quarter Detroit has the score at 16-24 and by halftime they had a 42-38 lead.

Where did things unfold? Not in the third quarter like you would think. Detroit played a very good game, but just stopped making shots late in the fourth and Dirk absolutely turned it on, putting up 42 points and sealing the win with a 3-pointer with 6:09 remaining to put the Mavericks on top for good at 73-70.

No DIRK Please

Key Points:

  • A season high 42 points with 12 points for Dirk.
  • The Pistons had a 12 point lead in the third quarter and were ahead by five entering the fourth.  The Mavericks scored a season-high 32 fourth-quarter points…insert sad face here.
  • Rip went from hot (Sunday) to not (Tuesday).  Rip missed his first five shots, sat the entire second quarter and finished with five points on 1-for-7 shooting.
  • Hope after all…20 minutes on the floor with 6 points, 4 assists, 3 boards 3 STEALS and 3 BLOCKS! T-Mac looking like the McGrady of old.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • SometimesI think Arnie Kander has made a deal with the Devil and to that I say…thanks Devil.
  • Just 2 points on 1-for-6 shooting from Charlie V who though not hitting his shot, grabbed 7 boards in 17 minutes.
  • Is it me…or does Big Ben look tired?
  • A DNP for Daye.
  • Jason Maxiell started again in the place of Daye and seemed to be all over the place. Jason scored 10 and, grabbed 7 boards, with one very nice putback jam.
  • Rodney Stuckey and Tayshaun Prince both put up 19 points.
Rodney Stuckey

Photo/Gety Images editing Need4Sheed.com

  • Alarming 11 assists for Detroit, while Dallas shared the ball to the tune of 21.
  • Rebound war won 46-42.
  • A Rip to Tay alley oop brought back the good old days.
  • I love me some Bynum, but he made some bad decisions last night.
  • Plain and simple…Ben Gordon needs to start. Ben had 10 points on 3-for-10 shooting.
  • Greg Monroe getting some burn and showing that he needs more. Monroe grabbed 8 boards and scored 4 points in 18 minutes.
  • I understand some people are questioning Kuester’s decisions, I have to say no coach is perfect and from time to time you pick on issues and instances in coaching, but coming from Curry…anything is better. And I always hate to put the blame on one person.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

12 Responses to "Dallas downs Detroit Amavzing 42 from Dirk"
  1. edt says:

    we wanted this game. the effort was there. the mavs saw the pistons come into town thought we would lay down. why? Cause that’s what the pistons do, they lay down. Not this time. this stat tells the entire story: Dirk Nowitzki : 40 minutes.

    If we play with this amount of effort the rest of the season we’ll make the playoffs.

    greg monroe had his best game of the season. he’s too little to pass to in the post, which is a shame because he does have passing skills, he’s too slow to play the 3, he’s too raw to guard anyone, he has no vertical leap, so he has difficulty converting near the basket, he’s slow to go up and down the court, but he has the effort and ability to box out, and can grab the rebounds. 3 white shirts all around him, they are standing around, monroe fiercely grabs the rebound. that’s what I like to see. Monroe is never gonna become a great leaper, he’s always going to be more of a finesse player, but as long as he grabs the boards like this, he’ll stay in the rotation.

    If you saw Ben Wallace in Chicago, he looked there like he does now. He’s seems hurt, knee, hamstring, something. He never complains because he doesn’t like to get taken out of the rotation so it’s impossible to tell what it is, but he seems injured is playing like the ben wallace from 2008.

  2. JHigh says:

    Greg Monroe has hops he just needs to realize this and use it you his advantage.

    I agree Big Ben doesn’t look right.

  3. edt says:

    he has no vertical you can tell just by looking at him. here’s the nba combine measurements
    Player greg monroe
    no step vert 25 inches
    max vert 29 inches
    bench press 185 pounds 15 reps
    lane agility 12.1 seconds
    3/4 court sprint 3.35 seconds

    for comparison here’s derrick favors, cousins and john wall
    Derrick Favors 31.5 35.5 14 11.74 3.25
    DeMarcus Cousins 23.5 27.5 -N-a 11.4 3.55
    John Wall 30.0 39.0 -N-a 10.84 3.14
    Terrico White 31.0 40.0 10 11.38 3.15

    You can tell by looking at greg he can’t really jump, just like you can tell that Terrico White can, you don’t need the stats, they just prove what you see on the court. NBA players dont turn from non-leapers into leapers. It’s not like you can put Larry Bird on a training program and all of a sudden he can start leaping.

    Not that you can’t be a great NBA player without a great leap, it’s not a requirement.

  4. JHigh says:

    I wasn’t saying he had Terrico White hops, but he has more than he has shown so far this season. He needs to give it his all when it comes to leaping to be more successful close to the basket. Hopefully he realizes this will try harder so he doesn’t his shot blocked 40% of the time.

  5. Jaime says:

    I really the way they fought all the way through. I agree with the earlier comment the effort from last night will produce wins..
    Go Pistons.

  6. Drew says:

    Ben Gordon shot 3 for 10 and should be starting? Joking, right?

    • rai_from_the_philippines says:

      Sensible for me. Don’t look at stats per game. Think about what BG is capable of bringing, which is the three point threat. With the current starting line-up, opposing teams can clamp down on the inside and close down the driving lanes because there is nobody stretching the defense. This makes it hard for the other Pistons players to make mid-range jumpers and slash into the rim.

  7. edt says:

    greg doesnt have hops. I can tell you what he has to do to improve his offense, 1) develop a bank shot so he can protect the ball by shooting it off glass, 2) learn to protect the ball by putting it in from the opposite side, 3) learn how to protect the ball with a half hook.

    I dont think he will ever be able to gather himself go up with strength and fight through the other big men in the league. He doesn’t have the right kind of body for that kind of game.

    also when monroe puts the ball on the floor he will dribble it 4 or 5 times, this is far too much, in the post you want ideally 1 or maybe 2 dribbles maximum, in the NBA if you put the ball down that long, the weakside help will come over and either block it or steal it.

    This is all finesse basketball, which he can learn. In college he was able to get away playing like a true power forward but in the NBA none of his old college moves work, so he will have to learn more of a finesse game.

    he also needs to recognize the defense much much quicker. When he receives the ball he needs to be able to pass it within 1/2 of a second if he sees a weakness in the defense. He can catch and pass, but he can’t see the right thing to do yet.

    The NBA game is played at a frantic pace compared to college, and this is just the regular season.

  8. daddy says:

    and ppl didnt want use to sign t mac. i think ernie is the magic man in this case but i hope t mac still plays at a high level throughout the whole sesason. my mans still got ups.

  9. James (Australia) says:

    How ironic that we have a team full of versatile scorers – Stuckey, Hamilton, Prince, Villanueva, Gordon, Bynum, McGrady, all of whom can dominate a stretch by getting hot – and we lose a game @ Dallas because we no one could score.
    Hamilton and Villanueva have shockers after their sublime games against Washington, and Gordon couldn’t outplay Jason Terry.

    I liked the effort, sure, but we need these sort of wins to encourage us to keep this effort up.

  10. J.G says:

    James – It wasnt that we couldnt score, we couldnt defend. Nowitzki especially torched us and thats mainly because of our lack of size.

    Joe’s gotta make a trade for a couple big guys if he wants to save this team and his job.. cause i dont see him staying here any longer if he tanks this season

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM