Pizza for Everyone! – Detroit Pistons owner to sell team to Mike Ilitch

Posted · 10 Comments

The owner of the Detroit Pistons and Auburn Hills-based Palace Sports & Entertainment Inc. has chosen to open negotiations to sell the basketball team and venue management company to Detroit pizza and sports industrialist Mike Ilitch, Crain’s has learned.

It’s believed that a deal will be worked out in the next 30 days.

Any sale of the Pistons will require a vote by the National Basketball Association’s other team owners.

It’s unknown how much Ilitch might pay for the team and PS&E, and a final purchase price is likely still not set. Crain’s reported in September that bids were submitted around Labor Day. This Via Crains Detroit

Need4Ceasars

I honestly was very skeptical when the news was that Ilitch was trying to buy the team. I know of bad blood between the the Red Wings and the Pistons in years past, so it was hard to believe that anyone in the Davidson family to hand the team over to Mike.

What makes me, and most Pistons fans happy is that Karen Davidson is putting the bast behind her and selling the team to a man who will do right by them and keep them in Motown where they belong. I’m not sure what Mr. D would think, but if history repeats itself when it comes to Mike Ilitch, he will represent this team with the utmost pride and respect.

Welcome back to the D…we were worried there for a while. And a special welcome back to Tom Wilson.

10 Responses to "Pizza for Everyone! – Detroit Pistons owner to sell team to Mike Ilitch"
  1. The Fluidics says:

    Business is business. She wants to get the deal done.

  2. The Duke says:

    At least the Pistons stay in Detroit.

  3. KG says:

    Lost in all this is Tom Wilson, I LIKE!

  4. Josh says:

    Not what I was hoping for, but you really can’t complain. I am just glad that this will all be over soon.

  5. daddy says:

    im gonna buy a little c’s pizza today to show a sign of gratitude for keeping it in motown.

  6. Amer-ican Prince says:

    can someone wiser in the ways of business explain why the other teams have to vote on the sale? what business is it of theirs?

    im not too happy the pistons are going to be moved. i live close enough now to go watch them. oh well

    its cool tom wilson is coming back. he was great as palace sports and entertainment guy. I remember a couple seasons ago in the playoffs that we were on national tv and they had the intros with the fireworks the big drumline etc etc and the announcers for tv i think it was marv albert or the guy who works with hubie brown said “THAT WAS ENTERTAINING” haha

  7. JD says:

    Because all the teams (franchises) and potential owners have and will sign off on the NBA Constitution which calls for a league vote on all changes of ownership of the franchises. Don’t like it don’t buy a team.

  8. James (Australia) says:

    We don’t need to worry about it American Prince; we aren’t going to be buying a team anytime soon LOL! I’m just glad this process is over. The side effects won’t be fully felt for a couple of seasons, but it is a start.

  9. downtown says:

    I guess this means the Illichopoly builds yet another big stadium in the city. A place with crumbling schools and police depts that is occupied with knocking down sports arenas and casinos to build new sports arenas and casinos.

    That said, the Pistons in the city again would finally make getting to a game after work a realistic proposition for downriver fans.

  10. Amer-ican Prince says:

    thanks JD

    james how do you know im not a secret multibillionaire? haha maybe i invented shoelaces or something and am filthy rich :)

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM