It’s time to step up Charlie V

Posted · 12 Comments
Charlie Villanueva

It’s always tough when one of your players go down, but for the Pistons who were riddled with injuries last season the loss of their spark plug Jonas Jerebko with what looks to be a season ending injury in the starting minutes of their first Pre-Season game hurt.  What it also doses is put holes in the rotation and the starting lineup.

Sure the Pistons are stacked at the position, but who’s ready to be the guy that Jonas was.  Believe it or not Jerebko was a difference maker last season for Detroit.  How do you replace an unknown viking from Sweden who decided to wow us with his hard work, determination and fearlessness?

You don’t…

So here it comes.

Regardless of the fact that Jonas went down, it’s time for Charlie Villanuava to prove to this team and the NBA that he’s a player.

He said he was going to make a point of working all summer to prove it.  So now we want to see it.

The Pistons don’t need for him to lead the team in scoring, though I’ll bet that’s what he would like to do.  He needs to be the big man that Joe Dumars is paying over 7 million dollars a season.  We don’t need sulking on the floor or from a twitter account.  We don’t need 30 plus points a game.  We don’t need another big man that should be banging down low, but who hovers around the three point line.

Charlie VillanuevaPhoto/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com

What we do need is someone who Charlie can be…just ask Jonas.

Grab a board or two, or three, or four.

  • Post up sometime.
  • Play a little D.
  • Be happy with  whatever time you have on the floor and make the best of it.
  • Be a man…not The Man (that goes form Tracy McGrady too).

I’m not trying to be hard on the guy, he seems like a really nice person. We don’t need much in the “D”, hard work is what we ask for no matter what the result.

Just think of Pistons past who did so much when no one really expected it from them.

Remember the Worm Dennis Rodman, how about Rick Mahorn or Bill Laimbeer.  And noone will ever surpass expectation like  Ben Wallace.  You could ask them what it takes and I’m sure one of the first things that come out of their mouths is hard work and determination.

It’s time Charlie…you have Austin Day, Greg Monroe, DaJuan Summers, Jason Maxiell, Chris Wilcox and possibly Ike Diogou ready to send you to the bench.

Charlie Villanueva

Photo/Getty Images editing Need4Sheed.com
12 Responses to "It’s time to step up Charlie V"
  1. Brian says:

    Well said I have been saying all of this since about the first month of the season last year. Im better Austin outplays him.

  2. Raq says:

    Jerebko needs to be Jerebko and Charlie needs to be Charlie (Rip needs to be Rip and Tay needs to be Tay). EVERYTHING said here applies to everyone, not just Charlie. He does not need to be put on front like that. He was injured last year just like everyone else, but he was the only one who played through his injuries. If other players are out-performed by others, they can be sent to the bench too.

    Be a man…not The Man (that goes for Tracy McGrady too)????WoW! That should go to EVERYONE too! Why single him out? lol.

    So come on Pistons, everyone needs to step it up!

  3. DTown says:

    I have to agree with this, he totally deserves to be called out. Sure it applies to almost everyone at some point. Don’t chalk it up to injuries either, when he’s healthy he never even Seems to bi giving his all. Well unless maybe his shots going down. Dude gives up rebounds to guys half his size.

    It needed to be said!

  4. junior says:

    no it didnt. its a expectation, those dont need to be said.

    • I may not have to have said it Junior but I believe it. He’s got talent that we haven’t seen yet, maybe its about effort. Look at what JJ does every game no matter what the score and I believe Charlie had more talent than he does. There is nothing wrong with expectations.

  5. joe says:

    charlie v is never gona step it up. he is the type that talks the talk but only once in a while will walk the walk. he is super soft, he never hit puberty.

  6. Diogenes says:

    Damn good post. Like Jim Rome says – Rack it. That was kick ass.

  7. Diogenes says:

    And that guy that calls himself “joe” is Steve. Rack me.

  8. Greasy Bonds says:

    Nice concept, but that would be like me trying to ask a Pomeranian to step up and be German Shepherd. Not going to happen.

    CV’s season peaks when he annually proclaims on twitter that: “This is the year, I am ready to break out” in August. He goes downhill from there.

    Remember when both CV and Gordon said at their intro press conferences that they were going to play hard at both ends and focus on their D. As if for the past 15 years of organized basketball they just decided to not turn on the switch? We’re the suckers as fans.

  9. terry says:

    These injuries are just another reason to use a high rotation. Kuester should be going deep into the bench every game. That would enable the players to go hard and fast every minute their on the floor without getting gassed. They can overcome some of the defensive liabilities with a stronger commitment to transition defense, pressuring the ball, and faster defensive rotation to open shooters. the defense has to be more anticipatory and less reactionary. That requires a lot more effort as a team, and keeping a healthy rotation going will help that cause. So yes CV has to step up but every one is on the hook right now especially after that weak interior and perimeter defensive showing in Miami.

  10. gordbrown says:

    I watched the Miami game on the PVR, and spent a few minutes going back and forth trying to determine what was wrong. A couple of observations. Miami’s forwards spent a lot of time camped out in the key. If the three-second rule existed for teams other than the Pistons, they would have had a lot of turnovers. Speaking of which, unforced errors on the Pistons part were the difference in the game. The worst (or perhaps symbol) was Gordon breaking his pivot foot for no particular reason and getting called in the middle of the second when the Pistons were starting to show some life. The defense wasn’t actually that bad. Miami shot threes out of their mind early, but sure enough cooled off but by that point the game was out of hand. But it was the poor offense that put so much pressure on the Pistons defense. Finally, the Pistons were ahead when McGrady came into the game and the game was over when he came out. Hopefully jitters are over and a good home game will give us something to hope for in the future.

  11. NJ says:

    Great post, yea he needs to put alot more effort in his playing time, I’ve seen him countless times wondering around the court like a zombie with out a head and not helping out D or to make things better he expects the next guy to do something when he’s right there, and then talk about how things are going to be great for him and the team this season, we’ll see, first person that comes to mind is Jon Kitna when he was all public for saying the Lions are wining 10 plus games in the upcoming season and they go 0-16 lol, Awesome post, i agree with everything ya typed out in it, needs to be a make or break season for CV.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM