Pizza for All – Ilitch wants to Own the Pistons

Posted · 11 Comments

Via The Detroit Free Press:

“Michael Ilitch said today he wants to buy the Detroit Pistons and move the team to a new arena in downtown Detroit.

The Ilitch bid is for the entire Palace Sports & Entertainment organization, not just for the basketball team itself. If successful, that means that the Ilitches would also own the Palace of Auburn Hills arena, the DTE Energy Music Theatre and other aspects of the Palace network.

In a statement issued this morning, Ilitch said he and his family are committed to building a new arena in downtown even if their bid for the Pistons fails. The new arena would serve as a home for the Red Wings, which continue to play their games at the aging Joe Louis Arena.

“No one should get too excited just yet, because this is the first step in what could be a long process,” the Ilitch statement read. “There is a lot of due diligence to take place, and who even knows if the Pistons would accept any potential future offer.

“But I can tell you that we are serious about this, we’ll be aggressive in the process, and we’re going to take a real hard run at it because it makes sense for our organization.”

The statement added, “Whether or not we end up buying this Piston team, we remain focused on a new arena in the city of Detroit, and that will serve as a great catalyst for future economic development in the city.”

The statement said the Ilitches were formally notifying the Pistons today of their interest in buying the team, a required first step. Negotiations are expected to take several weeks.

If this happens…..Pistons fans can breathe a sign of relief We will even have Tom Wilson back….I feel SWEDEtastic right now.

11 Responses to "Pizza for All – Ilitch wants to Own the Pistons"
  1. The Fluidics says:

    Illitch buying the Pistons keeps them in Michigan, so that’s a win.
    I kinda like the Palace though.

  2. Friggins says:

    I wonder if Illitch would give the green light to spend over the salary cap.

  3. GODETROIT says:

    COME ON! another reason I love this team is because I can actually go and watch the game without being scared out of my wits being murdered in Detroit. This is about to ruin it.

  4. Damien W. says:

    I agree with The Fluidics, it’s good that Lillitch could buy the Pistons. But, I’m not so sure about a new arena. Wasn’t it The Palace voted multiple times as one of the top arenas in the league? Why would they build a new arena when The Palace is such a successful area?

    I wouldn’t mind seeing Tom Wilson again, just not a new Palace.

  5. KG says:

    Because by moving it to the D your closer to your fanbase IMO.
    All the surrounding suburbs of Detroit, I know personally if Illitch does buy them and move them down to Detroit I will go to more games because its a shorter drive for me.
    It saves some money for fans and thats huge in this economy.
    Now I do believe that Illitch will be more generous with spending as far as Joe D’s leeway.
    In terms of trades and siginings and what not.
    And as far as the atmosphere in Detroit, I’ve yet to hear of ANYONE getting attacked or killed while at a sporting event down there.
    Police are everywhere down there and i’ve never been bothered down there personally.
    People are just being ignorant, fact of the matter is you stay on the beaten path down there you’ll be perfectly fine for God sakes…

  6. The Fluidics says:

    Never been panhandled at the Palace.
    Ever not been at the Joe, or Comerica?

  7. Amer-ican Prince says:

    in terms of new arena in my opinion if it aint broke dont fix it. It is one of the best arenas still to this day even though its older then a lot of them. I hope new ownership doesnt mean attention to detail is forgotten, will davidson was the best cause he paid attention to the little stuff that fans appreciatied. and that trickled throughout the organization. hopefully that mentality stays

  8. junior says:

    will? u mean BILL. i guess u dont pay much attention to detail do you? i could care less what arena they play in as long as they are still the DETROIT PISTONS and i can still go see them, by the way i live 3 hours away and i still went to 6 games last year. if you want to see them u will.20 miles either way isnt going too make a difference.

  9. junior says:

    o and i have been haggled by a few bums outside of the tigers stadium.

  10. Amer-ican Prince says:

    junior its the same name dude, it wasnt a type i just like saying will davidson. will and bill are both short for william. ok? do i now have permission from the junior to say will instead of bill? in fact i think i will replace ‘will’ for ‘bill in everything from now on.

    ex; went to greektown paid my will. i decided i was a big baller so i paid in 100 dollar wills then i went to the pool hall to play some willards and btw im still mad that joe d traded away chauncey willups

    oh and did anyone notice how a day after we were all saying we’re glad a local buyer was trying for the pistons an article comes out claiming thats one of the reasons he decided to try and buy the pistons? im not saying he’s lying but the timing of it seems a little suspect. maybe some of those higher ups are reading need4sheed interesting

  11. edt says:

    im reading between the lines here but what I think Michael Ilitch meant when he said he was building a new stadium downtown is that he will get the MI state government to subsidize it 100% with michigan tax payer dollars, and use the bonds raised by building the stadium to obtain tax free loans, all in the name of revitalizing downtown detroit.

    I suspect if the new governor says “No Money for you” he’ll explain he decided not to “buck tradition” and remain at the palace.

    it’s just business.

    building new stadiums is almost always a way for the owners to bilk the tax payers and make us pay for new fancy high rent seats.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM