The Good, the Bad, and the HORRYble

Posted · 29 Comments

We went over the Joy of the Eastern Conference Championship in 2005, now it’s time to look back at what almost was.

Blame it on Sheed…we all do.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video Courtesy of the NBA and The Detroit Pistons

29 Responses to "The Good, the Bad, and the HORRYble"
  1. ali bazzi says:

    thats how every second in the nba counts!! u get away from a shooter and then he drains a 3. so the pistons hard work in 2005 all came down to that split second where sheed stepped away from horry. it still haunts me to this day and i was only 10 when that happened! screw u sheed but thanks from the championship in 04!!

  2. Amer ican Prince says:

    i wonder what haunts pistons fans more. The horry three or that bird steal and layup against boston during the bad boy era. I wasnt old enough to remember the bird one though so i have to go with the horry 3

  3. PaulyD says:

    I still vividly remember watching Sheed letting Horray jack up that 3 with out any contention, and then I remember being pretty grumpy for the next month.

  4. The Fluidics says:

    That was Championship #4 being lost right there, no doubt there would have been a different outcome to the season.
    Still can’t blame sheed though, nobody plays perfect, all the time. Coach was still shopping jobs, and the rest of the guys would still have too much swagger for the amount of work they put out, but I’m pretty sure the stones would have won that ring.

  5. Jesse says:

    In general, I’ve never quite understood why NBA defenses seem to sag off shooters so much. If everyone blankets their man, it cuts off passing lanes and makes players have to create for themselves. Whenever a defense collapses good teams take advantage and make extra passes.

    That being said, it doesn’t haunt me that much. Sure, it was an all-time bonehead move, but it was a great series (despite what the rest of the country thinks), Poppavich is a great coach, Duncan is the best to ever play his position and the Spurs were a great team, no shame in losing a close fought 7 game series to them.

  6. JHigh says:

    I know everyone blames Sheed for that, and I did too, but after watching this clip it looks like Tay was kinda late getting to Ginobli so Sheed had to rotate over.

  7. junior says:

    who cares? its the past we didnt win. sheed is a bonehead for way more reasons then that! im personally glad we can start fresh and have a new younger team. it might take a couple of years but we will be right back at the top. people can put down the way joe d has done things. yah we might have a couple bad seasons sooner then we would have had he kept the team till they were too old to win anything, then tring to rebuild. the way joe d has done this we should be back in 1 or 2 more seasons, instead of the 8 years it took last time when the upper brass left the team together too long last time. im sure you guys remember the teal years? lets not get back to that, and that is what joe d is trying to prevent. you watch what is going to happen to the spurs when duncan, ginobli parker and mcdyess retire in a couple of years they are going to fall hard. kept the core of there team together too long. with that rant off my chest. get a good draft pick and as always. . . . GO PISTONS

  8. junior says:

    and also i agree with jesse, get up on your man!! it does not matter if he has the ball or not play some damn defense!! like they do in college have some passion about it.

  9. taobao正品 says:


  10. Jesse says:

    Egaladeist, you suck.

    Junior, most fans agree that it was time to break up the core (probably past due), and understand that building a winner again will take time; the critical fans think Dumars’ moves are ensuring that this team won’t return to glory for quite a while.

    Personally, I’m frustrated that the actual rebuilding process hasn’t even really started yet. Joe tried to pull off a quick transition and picked the wrong pieces…. and paid them too much. Rebuilding teams don’t spend $90 mill on bench players and give Afflalo and Amir away for nothing; instead they collect young players and draft picks, cut salary, give young players burn, move veterans for expiring contracts…. many of which the Pistons failed to accomplished this season. And unless we hit the jackpot int the draft, I’m not expecting a big improvement next year, because I don’t expect Tay to fetch an impact big man on the trade market.

  11. junior says:

    i agree with the afflalo part jesse, why did we get rid of him? i was ecstatic when we drafted him i watched him at ucla he is a great 3 ball shooter and a great defender 2 things that we really need. amir i could live with even though he is a talent and we gave him away for next to nothing. also still young 22 ithink.

  12. daddy says:

    ill take amir over gordon anyday. first he plays d and he is a better fit for our half court style of play. as far as sheed goes on that play he had to roatate because tay got caught on the pick and manu was open. if he didnt rotate we would of bitched its just lame that horry had to hit another cluth shot. amir over cv anyday but it looks like we are stuck in these contracts for a long long time sorry guys.

  13. terry says:

    That was the play that should’ve gotten Sheed traded.

  14. Diogenes says:

    I disagree with this whole premise – one play does not a game make. If this play would have happened in the first quarter no one would even remember it. I distinctly remember how giddy the Pistons were way too early in this game. Sheed was the only reason we ever made it the finals at all – let alone to a game seven in 05. It’s pretty jacked up how you cats dump on him in return. He aint no Billy Buckner.

  15. Ryan says:

    Yes, one play makes a game when you’re up by two with seconds remaining and you’re supposed to play man-to-man defense to not allow a three point shot.

    Had they won that game, I’m pretty sure they would have won the series.

  16. Diogenes says:

    If one play makes the game we should scrap the other 46 minutes and see who makes one mental lapse. That cat can single handily take the blame for the loss and we can all take turns pooping on him. It’s easy to have zero talent and sit back and criticize these guys.

  17. ripcity32yessir says:

    i was at this game w/ my uncle, i was 8 and started crying lol we sat in our seats after that game for about a half hour… if they woulda won this i wouldve been able to see a championship vitory live!

  18. Amer ican Prince says:

    speaking of san antonio they are up 2 to 1 on Dallas, not sure if they have the tools to go all the way but im cheering for dyess for sure.

  19. Tycoon says:

    Spurs now up 3-1. Smells disaster again for Mavs. =)

  20. Diogenes says:

    Is it possible to trade coaches? I think Rick Carlisle is available. We could trade Q, a rack of towels, a bucket of ice, and two 9 dollar watered down beers – that’s about even as far as I can tell.

  21. Diogenes says:

    So I have a conspiracy theory – the morale of a team gets low – the team (players) holds management accountable for making poor decisions – the team wins games like the last game against Minnesota to strike back against Joe and a decision of poor decisions. What a statement this would be! Tank. Nah – I think I’ll put up a double double. Tank. Nah – it turns out I’m not injured after all. We slip from 3 to 7 and now the future of the club went from franchise to role player. It’s possible. I hear Oliver Stone is making a movie about it.

  22. Ian says:

    If one play makes the game we should scrap the other 46 minutes and see who makes one mental lapse. That cat can single handily take the blame for the loss and we can all take turns pooping on him. It’s easy to have zero talent and sit back and criticize these guys.

  23. edt says:

    q is a really good coach. the problem is joe dumars blew everything up.

  24. Brando says:

    I attended Game 1 in San Antonio on my 32nd Birthday!

  25. Diogenes says:

    Ian – you just posted my post – OR – you just happened to post the exact same thing. What are the odds – I mean it is theoretically possible – like the twelve monkeys who type randomly for eternity will eventually type Hamlet – word for word. What do you think? Very curious.

  26. Jesse says:

    EDT, out of curiosity, what makes you say Q is a good coach? I’m not trying to be argumentative; I just want to know what you see that I don’t. Other than Ben, I don’t think a single Piston played to their potential this season. Obviously that is not all on the coach, but it has to reflect somehow on him. I guess the only positive I noticed about Q is that he’s not Michael Curry.

  27. Diogenes says:

    I think Q needs to go back to Sesame Street – they’re missing a letter of the day. Number 3 is also on the wrong jersey. Charlie V plays defense like Telley.

  28. Jonathan says:

    Is it possible to trade coaches? I think Rick Carlisle is available. We could trade Q, a rack of towels, a bucket of ice, and two 9 dollar watered down beers – that’s about even as far as I can tell.

  29. Diogenes says:

    I don’t get it – why are you cats re-posting my posts?

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment


2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM