Pistons Snap the Losing Streak – “The Plane” Explination

Posted · 8 Comments

The Pistons 124-103 win over the Sixers snapped the Pistons 11 game losing streak. Plenty to not in this game that had the Sixers and Pistons tied at 61 at the half, until Detroit turned up the D and on Piston (Charlie V) tried to make his wrong right.

Key Points:

  • Before the tip Eli Zaret explained the reason for the Charlie V and Austin Daye venting tweets. The official response was that Charlie and Austin were “a few minutes late” for the team plane and it took off without them. That’s why they were upset and that’s why they both flew to Philadelphia commercially. Me, I’m not buying it. What about the heated practice?
  • Austin Daye alludes to the tweets in his post game interview as frustration at himself due to bad play, NOT a missed flight.  When asked..”you missed the plane”  Austin replays., “that had nothing to do with it.”
  • Austin’s post game…you be the judge.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video Courtesy of the NBA and The Detroit Pistons

  • So if that’s what it takes to get Charlie Villanueva to play ball, so be it. Charlie led the Pistons with 25 points on 8-for-11 shooting in 23 minutes going 4-for-5 from downtown. Where was this guy for 75 games?
  • Austin Daye did a little making up too, 9 points and 9 boards in 22 minutes. Both Charlie and Austin sparked the run early in the second half.
  • Honestly, surprised seeing either of them on court for Detroit.
  • Season high in points for the Pistons.
  • Big Ben Wallace season high in points anchoring the offense and the defense for Detroit.  Ben finished the game with 18 points on 8-for-10 shooting with 6 boards, 3 assists and 3 steals in just 24 minutes.  Please come back next season Mr. Wallace.

Ben WallacePhoto/Getty Images

  • Pistons and Wizards are tied for the 4 worst record in the NBA after this win.  That stat for the lottery ball counters.
  • The Pistons 67% shooting on the night over 70% in the second half.
  • The plus/minus in the box score for Detroit is the best I have seen all season long.
  • No Rip, Atkins, Brown, Atkins and Maxiell and Wilcox were inactive.
  • JJ for the play of the Day!

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video Courtesy of the NBA and The Detroit Pistons

  • Jonas played so hard and for so many minutes (38) he war drenched with sweat with no sign of hair gel left on his head.  Jerebko scored11 with 5 boards, 4 assists  a blocked shot and 2 steals.  The Pistons found a heck of a starter, and a fan favorite  in the second round of the Draft.
  • Ben Gordon actually knocked some shots down….commence celebrating.  (13 points on 6-for-10 shooting with 2 assists, a steal)
  • Board war won 33-26.
  • Seven Pistons in double figures.
  • Bynum a quiet 10 points, 6 assists and 2 steals.  Can we keep him Joe?
  • 47 points from the Pistons bench.
  • Stucktacular – the great games keep coming from Rodney.  Stuck with 24 points, 5 assists, and 2 steals as SHOOTING GUARD.  He also came back from a really bad elbow he took in the ribs.  Kid has heart!

Rodney StuckeyPhoto/Getty Images

  • Same with Tayshaun, as soon as he had that one breakout game after his injury, he hasn’t stopped.  Tay with 14 points on 5-for-8 shooting with 7 boards, 4 assists and 2 steals.  And this Tayriffic DUNK!

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video Courtesy of the NBA and The Detroit Pistons

  • Did I mention they played great D?
  • Atlanta again for the second to last home game for Detroit this season Wednesday night.
8 Responses to "Pistons Snap the Losing Streak – “The Plane” Explination"
  1. Azure Acerbus says:

    According to the Box score JJ had 5 rebs. But yeah nice game.

    Pistons only played good D in the 2nd half. thats another correction. Tho even if we didnt play good D Philly wasnt going to be able to out score us tonight.

    Ill say it again. Stuck makes a better point guard when he plays Shooting Guard. At SG his Scoring goes through the roof. all of a sudden 15-17 shots isnt that many. And His ast go up.

    Will probably get 1 of the first 4 picks hopefully 3, meaning we have a good chance to get a Pg . Wall if we get really lucky. and If Jersey gets Wall like they should, theyll probably look to trade Devin Harris. A Wall Stuck Back court or a Harris Stuck BC sounds good. I Doubt theyd keep Harris despite wall, they have a glut of young SG’s to pair with him.

  2. junior says:

    @ azure. how many guards you think we got? we dont need to draft one we need a center. we will start will and stuck next year with bg coming off the bench daye will help fill some minutes at sg as well as sf. rip will be traded. we need monroe or cousins. GO PISTONS

  3. terry says:

    Why pistons why? Now that yall got it out of your systems get back to winning; lottery balls that is!

  4. terry says:

    Oh, and Stuckey actually put up better numbers at point guard

  5. James (Australia) says:

    @azure. Why do you say if the Nets get Wall as they should? Only twice has the team with the worst record won the lottery. Let me say this, I know the more lottery balls you have in play the better chance statistically you have of winning the number 1 pick, but what will it be a 8-12% chance? If we win the number 1 pick it will take a LOT of luck, tanking just doesn’t carry enough benefit which is good.

    As to the twitter saga, seems like the Pistons have been in a hole the past few months and all of a sudden decided to look at the standings and realized they aren’t going to the playoffs this year – maybe that is why they have been playing so poorly, they thought they were going to the playoffs all along lol. Actually, Villanueva’s latest tweet suggests what everyone suspected and that is a communication problem presumably between Coach and player.

    Great win, and, although I still think Stuckey could make a good PG, his play at SG is compelling. Just seems to be more consistent when he plays SG.

  6. daddy says:

    he is more consistent at the 2 because he doesnt have to think as much. he can play his natural position without having to think if he is shooting too much or not. i think he will make a fine point guard he just needs some more time and some better players around him. will does like to shot and i dont blame him but he knows how to distribute it is most likely playing in europe and having a bit more experience. hopefully we get ben to come back, get some trades, and a decent big man and YES THAT ORDER and we should be fine next year. ps thanks for the great season wallace hopefully you teach these youngsters the meaning of D in detroit

  7. The Fan says:

    WOOO HOOO A BLOWOUT!

  8. edt says:

    you cant just look at the stat sheet for this game. Ben Wallace made everyone around him better.

    Ben Wallace came to make a statement last night.

    If another team offers him $3 million he’ll be gone for sure. It’s not like the pistons can match, we got all our money tied up on long term contracts. Luckily the pistons stink so much, none of the other NBA coaches have noticed what a high level old Ben Wallace is playing at. They still remember him limping around in cleveland.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM