Down to the wire in Charlotte

Posted · 7 Comments

The Pistons lost to the Bobcats in the closing minute of their game Saturday night 95-99. Wins, losses and lottery balls aside, what happened to this team that suddenly got them pointing in the right direction, even though it may be detrimental to their future lottery chances?

Key Points:

  • Seven lead changes in the final five minutes of the game had Detroit right in there to win this one.
  • “There have been a number of games what we have played hard,” Detroit coach John Kuester said. “It’s good for the guys to know that they can compete against any team in the league. Our guys worked extremely hard, so I was proud of them.” Via NBA.com
  • No Rodney Stuckey, Rip Hamilton or Chris Wilcox.
  • Ben Gordon again led the Pistons with 21 points on 7-for-20 shooting (ouch). He couldn’t hit early, but got in his groove in the second half. He did add 7 assists, a steal, 2 boards and a blocked shot. He’s playing more D than Charlie V.

Ben GordonPhoto/Getty Images

  • Ben Gordon Highlights, check out the 2 pretty behind the back assists.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video Courtesy of the NBA and The Detroit Pistons

  • I don’t really care at this point to root for them to lose, sadly their three game winning streak did more damage than anything.  The Pistons are now sitting in the 6th spot for worst record in the NBA with just two games left.
  • Wallace with 10 boards, 6 points, a steal and a blocked shot. I sure hope he decides to come back next season. Boy I never thought I would be saying that.
  • Will Bynum with 12 points, 3 boards, 2 steals, 2 assists and a shot to tie the game in the closing seconds. Bynum is the kind of guy with heart, determination and pride that Detroit needs on this team. I have a feeling that some other team will be aware of him and give him that big deal he deserves this off-season. I just hope that team is Detroit. Either way I’m a “Trill” fan for life.
  • If you missed this one, all you need are these highlights of the game.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video Courtesy of the NBA and The Detroit Pistons

  • 14 points for Maxie, who’s looked so good the second half of the season.
  • Charlie V scored 12 with 7 boards in 25 minutes. Interesting article that I totally agree with on Charlie by Vince Ellis of the Free Press – Villanueva needs to take a good look in the mirror.
  • I can’t believe I will be going to the last game of this season. I can’t remember the last time I knew it was going to be the last home game…ah what a playoff run.
7 Responses to "Down to the wire in Charlotte"
  1. KleenGee says:

    It’s definitely weird knowing the last game is coming this early in the year and tomorrow’s game is not on NBA broadband :(

    If the Pistons do not get one of the top 3 picks, I don’t think it’s so bad. Many of the top big picks in recent years haven’t panned out yet for teams (Beasley, Oden, Griffin, Thabeet). It might be better to trade for someone like Kevin Love, who might be on the market this summer, and he’s already proven himself.

  2. J.D. Mo says:

    OK, so you played Ben Gordon and won some games, kinda like last year when Rip and Sheed sat out and AI and the kids won 8 out of ten. So, when will you wake up and get rid of Rip — or shall we run the Michael Redd/ Tracy McGrady cancer test?

  3. Drew says:

    Not a bad result considering we were playing a healthy playoff team and on our 4th game in 5 nights. Things keep looking up for next year I guess.

  4. #1 pistons fan says:

    nice job u start to win games when were kicked out of the playoffs?????
    heloo u should of done that a long time ago, and we need a good draft pick!
    why are you still winning games?????

  5. Jesse says:

    I know, this is driving me crazy….Just when this team starts doing something right like lose 11 in row and is climbing the lottery standings to where they can grab the 3 spot, they start beating teams they have no business beating and now we will probably be in the 5 to 10 range when we could have been 1 to 5.

    Even if you’re a player, shouldn’t you be looking at this like, “well, I suppose if I had a choice I’d rather play with Derrick Favors than Patrick Patterson for the next few seasons”? It’s really dumb that the organization has to pretend that they still want to compete when everyone knows it’s in their best interest to lay down and gear up for next year.

  6. Rick says:

    It’s definitely weird knowing the last game is coming this early in the year and tomorrow’s game is not on NBA broadband :(

    If the Pistons do not get one of the top 3 picks, I don’t think it’s so bad. Many of the top big picks in recent years haven’t panned out yet for teams (Beasley, Oden, Griffin, Thabeet). It might be better to trade for someone like Kevin Love, who might be on the market this summer, and he’s already proven himself.

  7. Patrick says:

    It’s definitely weird knowing the last game is coming this early in the year and tomorrow’s game is not on NBA broadband :(

    If the Pistons do not get one of the top 3 picks, I don’t think it’s so bad. Many of the top big picks in recent years haven’t panned out yet for teams (Beasley, Oden, Griffin, Thabeet). It might be better to trade for someone like Kevin Love, who might be on the market this summer, and he’s already proven himself.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM