11th but Positive

Posted · 16 Comments

The Hawks handed the Pistons their 11th loss in a row last night.  Despite the fact that is was a L and it did add to what has turned out to one of the most surprising season for Detroit fans, this team competed.  The  85-91 final score doesn’t tell you that he Pistons went neck and neck with the Hawks and had a good chance to take this one.

Key Points:

  • Kwame Brown started the game for the injured Jason Maxiell, who was starting for the injured Ben Wallace.  Two words…GO KWAME.  Kwame started off the game with a thunder dunk that had my surround sound rattling.  Brown finished with 8 points, 8 boards, a steal, an assist and a blocked shot in 29 minutes on the floor.
  • This was the second Thundering Slam from Kwame, watch and listen. Via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

  • Ben Gordon 0-for-7 in 22 minutes, I’m sure we aren’t the only ones waiting for his season to be over.
  • Horford and Smith 14 boards each for Atlanta.  Would love to have either of them on this Pistons team.
  • Jamal Crawford 29 points of the Atlanta bench.
  • Pistons shot 37% on the night and 35% from downtown.
  • Rodney Stuckey, back starting (playing the 2) lead the Pistons with 22 points on 8-for-19 shooting.  Stuckey just looks so comfortable at the shooting guard position.

Rodney StuckeyPhoto/Getty Images

  • What’s with all the different shoe colors this season?  If I remember correctly, the NBA was a stickler for socks and shoes when it comes to on court uniforms.  It used to be that the whole team had to wear the same color shoes and socks.  And back in the day, Jordan was banned from wearing his signature shoes.  Things sure have changes, because Mike Bibby’s red kicks almost blinded me from my seat at home.
  • This was the kind of effort that you wanted to see every night if you are a Pistons fan.  The L really doesn’t hurt that much when you know that they had a chance and gave it all they had.  If they played like that all season they would have given themselves a chance to win every game.
  • Jonas had a few really swede moves against the Hawks.  He even knocked down a three.  Jonas finished the game with 11 points, 9 boards and yes 4 steals!  How his overall game has improved is dramatically.  Not that he was bad to start the season, but he picked up the NBA game very quickly.
  • Charlie V 3-for-13 for 8 points, 6 boards and a steal.  I think I have been hard enough on V.  I just hope I can comment differently next season.
  • Minimal time for DaJuan Summers, but he did score 2 points on his only shot in his 4 minutes on the floor.
  • Tayshaun with 17 points on 7-for18 shooting with 7 boards, 4 assists and a blocked shot.

Tayshaun PrincePhoto/Getty Images

  • No Rip, no Wallace, no Wilcox or Maxiell.
  • 13 for Bynum on 5-for-7 shooting with just 2 assists.
  • This game was tied 11 times with 5 lead changes.
  • If you missed this game, I’m sorry.  After how Detroit has been playing this game was not only fun to watch, but it gave hope.
  • Highlights via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

16 Responses to "11th but Positive"
  1. KleenGee says:

    Nat, I’m glad you see the positives. But, why do we get killed by the 3 pointer? Crawford should’ve been guarded more closely beyond the arc. I would’ve welcomed the Hawks getting the ball inside over his 3 pointers. I haven’t checked the stats lately, but I think this team has a weakness guarding against 3 pointers.

    The game on NBA Broadband was called by ‘Nique who spoke very highly of Jonas. He had some other good points that should be considered: He said that CV31 should be less of a finesse player inside and try to use more power moves. He also criticized Gordon for not going to the basket to get out of his slump. All obvious, so I’m sure these points will be addressed this offseason.

  2. blam says:

    u guys are serious? I’m glad they lost, they should keep it up until the end of the season, it doesn’t matter now, it only helps.

  3. NJ says:

    Positive???? that what the Nets were saying all season long lol

  4. Paulyd0021 says:

    Tonight was a great night for Pistons fans, both the Wizards and Golden State won!! We’re now tied for 3rd. Unfortunately the pistons won the 2 meetings with Washington earlier so I believe we hold the tie break :( but we’re getting closer! John Wall, come hither….

  5. Paulyd0021 says:

    starts John Wall chant*

  6. Gogol says:

    Ties are broken in the NBA by random drawings, not head to head records.

  7. zkranc says:

    we beat the Wizards four times this year, but we are tied with Warriors at one a piece

  8. daddy says:

    it was a good weekend fake show lose as well as the cry baby caves and we lose as well. plus indiana and wasington win as well? i couldnt be any happier with this we get more lotto balls. now if they mavs played and lost it would of made it complete but cant complain about almost having it all. rdy for next season JOE D please draft right and trade better.

  9. Jesse says:

    Is that true about ties as it relates to the draft? I don’t believe it, but can find anything that confirms or denies it. I know for playoff ties they have a series of numbers they turn to in order to declare who gets the higher position: record against your division, against your confrence, point differental, ect. I imagine they would do they same with the draft… unless they just decide that everything draft related will be detrimined by chance… The going by the numbers way does reward team for being bad and punishes other for being good (r better), but the whole draft system is pretty much based on that concept.

  10. Hlmk says:

    why do u guys want john wall so much? hes just what you DONT need, another guard. Of all the problems Detroit has a guard isnt one of them, they need a big man who can score, rebound and play defense.

    How much time do you think John Wall would get with Rip Hamilton, Rodney Stuckey, Will Bynum and Ben Gordon in the roster?

  11. Brady says:

    John Wall is a better PG than anyone on the roster, that’s why he would be a good fit. At this point they need to draft the best player and move from there. Wall, Turner, and Cousins are really the only franchise-shaping players (from what we know right now) in this draft, so drafting a guy like Hassan Whiteside (project) or Derrick Favors (less projecty) won’t help now.

    I think the team needs a scoring big, but they need a guy to run this offense, that’s why Chauncey was so valuable, he knew how to run a team. Wall can run an offense and score when he needs to; a back-court of Wall-Stuckey with Thrill and BG off the bench would be able to score a lot. I mean, Thrill, Stuckey and Wall can ALL get into the paint at will, which helps BG and everyone else get open shots.

  12. edt says:

    I think we can draft anyone as long as we dont get a small forward or shooting guard.

    If we fill any other position, power forward, center, or point guard, the rest of our team will get better. If we fill the point guard, dont forget this means we will be dumping bynum. Then we will have a starting rotation of wall + rip hamilton and coming off the bench will be stuckey and ben gordon.

    Do you know how incredibly pissed they will be? Gah. I really don’t want to have to take John Wall just because of the personality conflicts it will create. Maybe we can deal rip, if we pack him with bynum and jerebko. But if we deal jerebko, that means we will be starting tayshaun, and rip hamilton who arent getting any younger.

    If we get a real power forward, everyone else will magically look a lot better, including Charlie V, whose only power move on defense is to grab someone from behind and foul.

  13. daddy says:

    i do not want john wall id rather have cousins or a big man. im pretty sure the tay will get traded because his contract is about to end and ppl will want to move some money off the books. as i said before i dont think ppl will make too much fuss for bynum good for us. it seems like real point guards are a dying bread. i dont think wall is as good as everyone thinks just like derrick rose. they are pretty good point guards but nothing to build around, but that only im opinion on the situation.

  14. Jesse says:

    You guys are crazy. Wall has superstar writen all over him. You’re basically saying “I don’t want this great pg prospect because he have a backcourt that got us 22 wins”. When you are as bad as the Pistons are you take the best player and figure the rest out later. Were not knocking on the door, or just a few moves away here; we are terrible without much hope of getting better in the near future… If elite talent drops in your lap be smart enough to grab it.

  15. Brady says:

    /\ /\ Agreed. Personally I don’t think Cousins will be with the team that drafts him, his attitude is so awful, he’s a mix of Sheed and Zack Randolph. I think Simmons said it somewhere, but I’d rather be the team that gets DeMarcus Cousins in 4 years then the team that gets him right off the bat, just for attitude reasons.

    If John Callipari can’t keep him in check 24-7 then what makes one believe coach Q can?

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM