The Pistons vs The Celtics

Posted · 18 Comments

The Pistons vs. The Celtics

The 23-43 Pistons are in Boston tonight to take on Rasheed Wallace and the 41-24 Celtics. I realize the Pistons aren’t the team they used to be, but this particular opening sentence to the NBA.com preview of the game sort of made me mad.

“It was a rough week for the Boston Celtics. A visit from the lowly Detroit Pistons to open a brief home stretch could help them get back on track.” Via NBA.com

Lowly….really? We aren’t New Jersey just yet.

Ben Wallace is still listed as day to day and as we know Rodney has no timetable on his return.

The Scouting Report via Pistons.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Tip is at 8:00 pm EST and will be broadcast on ESPN with the radio broadcast over at 950 AM WWJ or follow the action online over at NBA.com.

UPDATE

We had to Cancel Celtics Late Night Show tonight.  Sorry I won’t be able to take your calls after the game but I am sure we’ll do it again soon.

NEED4SHEED GAME CHAT

18 Responses to "The Pistons vs The Celtics"
  1. The Fan says:

    absolute garbage…

  2. Brent says:

    we are just as lowly as the nets with this performance..We finally get an nationally televised game and this is what we do?

  3. The Realist says:

    I can’t wait to hear all the excuses……

  4. pistons 4 life says:

    So what exactly have the Pistons done this year that doesn’t make “lowly”? I can remember a headline from years ago that said “The lowly Hawks beat the Spurs”. Now the Hawks are one the best teams in the east. The tables are always going to turn back and forth. The Pistons will be good again some day. But don’t expect it any time soon.

  5. Sebastian says:

    That injury on Prince is going to cost us. Hope he is OK…
    Regarding the season I have to quote myself “This is a transitional team” better days are comming the question is How much we have to wait?

  6. Lori says:

    I hate to say it, but I was mortified by how awful the team was tonight. So mortified that I turned it off! I never do that. But after the announcers starting going on about how even if you are getting beaten badly, you should still try to compete, I just couldn’t take it. How low can this team go? Without Big Ben, it’s just a travesty.
    Natalie, I am glad that the post game show was cancelled. I was really feeling sorry for you. What on earth could you have said to defend such a dreadful performance?

  7. Tycoon says:

    I guess players are unmotivated to win as they all are thinking about tanking while Celtics needed this win badly. Why feel bad, we’ll be back next season!

  8. The Fan says:

    Cleveland anyone! Woohoo!

  9. KG says:

    What awful fans some of you are we all knew we’d have to go through this every team does with maybe the exception of the lakers just cause they still had Kobe..There will be better days for Detroit and who knows when it will be near or far. Gotta stay positive don’t be like those celtic and clev fans that abandoned their teams when they were in the cellar and are now bragging…I have faith that things will turn around, at the least we’re gunna get a solid pick in the draft to hopefully get us some low post scoring and defense.

    As for the game Celtics needed this one and we’re not really playing for anything sadly, that and the prince injury killed anything we had going tonight.

  10. terry says:

    Tayshaun’s back is a definite issue now, with it going out on him for the third time in what equals to be less than one season worth of games. It’s time to put him on the shelf for the rest of this year and for him to take it easy in the off season. Time to start Austin Daye. Every win hurts at this point so good job guys!

  11. Drew says:

    We sucked we sucked we sucked. What the f… we sucked we sucked!

  12. NJ says:

    Damn Detroit got Whooped !!!!!!

  13. JJ says:

    Come on Evan Turner!!!

  14. James (Australia) says:

    With 3 of our 4 best defenders out of the game, the Celtics would have had to bury themselves in a hole for the next 3 months if they didn’t post 110+ against us. I’m not surprised by the result. Hurts to go through it, but I’m not going to get down on my team.

    Prince’s injury was a freak accident. If he and Stuckey have to sit out the rest of the season, it may not be the worst thing. Not for this year, but for seasons ahead.

    If Prince is out for a while, should mean more time for Daye and Summers, possibly another good thing.

    What do you reckon about the starting lineup tomorrow?
    C-Maxiell
    PF-Jerebko
    SF-Summers/Daye
    SG-Hamilton
    PG-Bynum

    Or

    C-Maxiell
    PF-Villanueva
    SF-Jerebko
    SG-Hamilton
    PG-Bynum
    ?

  15. Tycoon says:

    Starting CV over Summers/Daye will help his pride. Time for him to show up.

  16. Lori says:

    Every team goes through this, for sure! Just look at the Celtics before KG! But, the team could do it with some class. Look at the “lowly” Nets. They try to win every game despite the glaringly obvious statistics that say they suck. They frigging try and so should the Pistons. That is the mortification factor. It’s totally unprofessional to go out there and play like you just wish the season was over.
    It doesn’t matter how bad they are. Everyone knows that the team is in transition and that injuries have decimated the ranks. They still should make an effort.

  17. PF says:

    I hate to say it, but “lowly Pistons” is waaaay too kind after last night’s performance, on national TV noless. It’s much worse than lowly at this point. At least the Nets are playing much better as of late and came close to winning several games.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Indiana
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Orlando
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Houston
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Miami
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Denver
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Chicago
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Washington
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM