Beyond Bynumite – Will Bynum with 20 Assists

Posted · 34 Comments

Yes the Pistons swept the season series against the Wizards 87-101.  The real story was Will Bymum’s 20 assists on the night.

Key Points

Disclaimer – This will be a Bynum filled recap.

  • Things just started good in this one, Will had a handful of assists in what it seemed like a few minutes and Rip was on fire.
  • Regardless of the fact the Washington is not a great team, this team looked great and Will just dominated.
  • One of those pretty Rip to Tayshuan alley oops that reminded me of the good old days.  You can thank Maxi for it too!

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video Courtesy of the NBA and the Detroit Pistons

  • Speaking of Maxiell, he seems to be back! A double-double with 10 boards, 12 points, a steal and 2 blocks.
    Haven’t had that much fun at the Palace in quite a long time, thank you Will.
  • Tay and Rip both finished the game with 18 points.
  • I’m amazed every game with the amount of fans gained by Jonas Jerebko.  18 points for the Swede with 3 steal, 8 boards and a heck of a lot of swagger when Singleton got in his face.  That’s the kind of technical foul I like.  Jonas = he anti Sheed.
  • Will just looked like he had eyes in the back of his head and made a point of getting the ball to his teammates in any manner that he good.  The career high 20 assists where the most from a Detroit Piston since Isiah Thomas on April 12th 1985.
  • “That means a lot to me,” said Bynum, a Chicago native like Thomas. “I grew up watching Isiah play, and to do something that he did is huge.” Via The Detroit Free Press

Will Bynum 20 assists on the night

Photo/Getty Images

  • Will’s Bynumite Highlight Reel.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video Courtesy of the NBA and the Detroit Pistons

  • Can’t tell you how excited the crowd was, we knew something special was going to happen as soon as he hit his previous mark of 14.  The crowd went nuts after each one…I almost lost track.
  • Even the few points Bynum did score were pretty.
  • When will was at 18 the bench never sat down and when he kept feeding DaJuan Summers and he was missing it we all could feel the pain.
  • I really didn’t think he was going to pull off 20, but Ben Gordon finally made Pistons fans smile when he knocked down the last shot.  Here is the last play of the game, Will’s 20th assist.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video Courtesy of the NBA and the Detroit Pistons

  • Love how Maxiell handed him the game ball.
  • Will Bynum post game interview.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video Courtesy of the NBA and the Detroit Pistons

  • At the end of the first quarter, I thought I had a chance to get Kevin Porter’s (team) record of 25, but I don’t think the coach and I had the same mindset,” Via The Detroit Free
  • A meaningless game just turned into something special for Will and a whole lot of Pistons fans. Something tells me if you leave Will a message in the comments, he might just see it.
34 Responses to "Beyond Bynumite – Will Bynum with 20 Assists"
  1. Nick Miko says:

    I’m so watching this game on the DVR when I get home from work tomorrow. Got to see the last couple minutes and was cheering as loud as I could in the locker room store.

  2. adam says:

    Great game to watch!! Will was just everywhere, congratulations on an amazing game! I think he now has the attention he deserves. He will blossom next season as our new PG.
    More rhythm from BG and yet again a great game from the sweede, and the vets.
    Great game, hope to see more in whats left of this season, and the next!!
    We still miss and need you big ben!!!

  3. Raphael Dion says:

    will u are the man… love u for this… keep doing your thing… 20 assists!?!?? thats amazing… u really know how to run a team as well as take advantage of an opportunity!! congrats!

  4. junior says:

    as our new pg? where do u think stuckeys going? even though i do think that will n rip start and stuck n bg off bench match to others skills more. but i dont see stuck coming off of the bench, he cant play at sg its already a log jam. great game will. GO PISTONS

  5. loop says:

    Does this game prove that in a team w/ so many firepowers like us, needs a true 1 instead of another gun?

  6. Sharif says:

    Will may have proved his is the point guard this team needs to build around. Amazing game Will! That is DEEETROIT BASKETBALL!!!!

  7. adam b says:

    What more does Will need to do to prove he deserves to be our starting point? When he gets the minutes he’s electric. Either way, love the way you played tonight Will. You were amazing. Thanks for giving us such a good game to watch tonight!

  8. Franz says:

    Will the thrill showed it to us all. Again. This guy can play, even if he’s a couple of inches smaller than the other PG, he equalizes it with his strength and quickness.

  9. James (Australia) says:

    No Lava ball????????

    BYNUMITE!!!

    Glad to see he is taking his opportunities with the absence of Stuckey.

  10. jacob says:

    simply amazing if you didn’t miss any games you should’ve been a candidate fer 6th man

  11. Janet says:

    What a Bynumite performance by Will and also a Sweedtastic one too by Jonas…

    Thank you Detroit Pistons for the “W” on my birthday :-)

  12. Aaron says:

    That’s 2 Isiah records Will Bynum is tied with now, correct?

    – Most points in a quarter (25? 26?)
    – 20 assists

  13. Heather says:

    Will u were so amazing last night. Everyone acted like they wanted to be on the floor which was great. Everyone did real well. I was so excited when BG hit those last shots to get Wills 20 assists! I hope that the Pistons will play like this the rest of the season and next season, if they do the palace will be filled every game. We all still hope that Stuckey and Ben gets to 100% we all miss them. All in all, great game Will!!!! Go Pistons!!!!!!

  14. BigBen says:

    nah, i want Stuckey to still be the starter because he can score, pass, steal and has a lot of speed. Will can get more minutes though if Stuckey alright with it.

  15. Rubbo says:

    Atta boy willy!

  16. HIME1 says:

    I know it was thw wizards but, thats what happenes when you play like a team.even if stuckey was out the team took a page from larry brown last night. they ” played the right way” great game to watch pistons ..
    GO! PISTONS!

  17. HIME1 says:

    I know it was the wizards but, thats what happens when you play like a team, they took a page from larry brown. they “played the right way” even if stuckey was out there uou play like that thats a win. great game to watch ..GO PISTONS!

  18. #1 pistons fan says:

    can we make playoffs????????????

  19. Josh says:

    Will Bynum…….The Pistons TRUE point gaurd!

  20. Chris says:

    Thank you Will! After a season like this us Pistons fans needed something like this that would put a smile on our faces!

  21. josh says:

    Man, what a game. So much fun. Piston fans really needed this excitement! Thanks to Will and the ENTIRE team for an exciting, action packed night! PISTON FAN 4 LIFE!!!!!!

  22. Yasir Saleem says:

    is it wrong to feel bad for stuckey now?

  23. Amer ican Prince says:

    cant believe the one game i miss and didnt tape will goes off for 20 assists. Sounds like a rip roaring good time. Good job Will, and also good job to everyone else for making the shots haha

  24. CTCR says:

    Congrats Ill Will, great game! :]

  25. debo_toledo says:

    There is absolutely no excuse for Bynum to not get 35 minutes a game, start or off bench. Can’t wait to see more minutes from Daye. Future is bright. I see you Joe!

  26. Corey says:

    Coach and Will were not on the same page?

    Does will not like Kuester?

  27. JJ says:

    Backcourt is too crowded one of Bynum or Stuck is most likely too go. Gordon and Rip would be hard to move. Just like the Lakers only rotate 3 bigs.

  28. detroooooiiiit says:

    nice game will!!!

  29. Brandon says:

    Great performance! Great team win! Go Bynum! Go Pistons!! Dear Will: Please sign a contract this offseason to play for Detroit.

  30. Nolan says:

    Maybe stuckey can learn how to pass the ball from watching Will Bynum from the Bench Stuckey IS NOT A POINT GUARD!!!!!!

  31. riley says:

    Will Bynum is gun needs way more court time grt stuckey OFF!

  32. Kid Marshall says:

    i remember when will first came to the D, he was instantly one of my favorite players cuz he reminded me so much of Linsey Hunter. I been waiten for this dude to show out like that man, haha thats what Kid talkin bout Mr. Bynum!!

  33. I bookmarked this website a while ago because of the good content and I have never been let down. Continue the outstanding work.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM