Tom Wilson joins Ilitch Holdings

Posted · 12 Comments

A little birdie (who’s in the know)  made mention of this yesterday….

Via Craines Detroit

Former Palace Sports & Entertainment President Tom Wilson will be introduced at noon today as the newest executive with Detroit’s Ilitch Holdings Inc.

The press conference, announced by the Ilitch organization, will be held at MotorCity Casino, which is owned by Marian Ilitch. Ilitch Holdings President and CEO Chris Ilitch will introduce Wilson, who resigned as president of Auburn Hills-based PS&E last week. Tom Pyden, vice president of corporate communications for Ilitch Holdings, confirmed he will be introduced today.

….It’s unknown if the Ilitches are interested in buying the Pistons and the Palace.

Great move for Ilitch and glad to see Tom stay in the Detroit Metro Area.  It’s a win-win.

Presser at 1pm.

12 Responses to "Tom Wilson joins Ilitch Holdings"
  1. lou korpas says:

    who better to build a new Arena downtown??

  2. basketballnmike says:

    good to hear, lets hope this means they want to buy the Pistons now too. I heard a rumor that Wilson was interested in joining a group to do so, and obviously he can’t sell the team to himself while he is still an employee of the team… So I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this means bigger things than just a new Red Wings stadium.

  3. Mr. Miller says:

    If Joe D, is smart he would leave also Ms. Davidson is in her own world and the Pistons are not a priorty!

  4. junior says:

    mcdyess: (On ovation)
    “I wasn’t expecting it at all, I was kind of emotional when I looked up and saw everyone clapping. I gave a lot of good years here to this organization and to get an ovation like that was heartwarming. I was trying to look around and hope that no one was looking at my face because they could see it on my face that I was a little emotional. It was definitely good to see that. Just seeing the guys and being in this arena again, I didn’t think it would be this tough, but it was.”

    glad we could show mcdyess that we really appreciated all the hard work he gave us. thank you to the pistons fans who stood up and cheered for dyess for all those who wished we could of been there to do it ourselves. GO PISTONS

  5. PF says:

    Meh

    Wilson always worked for the Palace/Pistons and competed against other Detroit teams/sports venues so it’s going to be weird to see him actually competing against the Palace/Pistons now.

    I wouldn’t be able to do that. I wouldn’t be able to work for the Pistons, defending them, doing my best to make them successful from a business standpoint and then, all of a sudden, leaving them and accepting to work for a competing team, which essentially means competing against the Pistons now.

    But that’s how business works, I guess.

  6. DieHardPistonsFan says:

    PISTONSFAN101- THEN Y DID THEY HAVE A PRESS CONFERENCE 2DAY 2 ANNOUNCE THE HIRE?

  7. PF says:

    Ilitches denied it at first, but after a few hours they confirmed they hired Wilson. So the news is not false.

    Maybe the Pistons will move in downtown Detroit once the Wings get their new arena? At least in this way Wilson wouldn’t have to compete against his old team, the Pistons.

  8. SW says:

    Here’s what is going to happen…Ilitch Holdings (with Wilson and others as large contributors) buys PS&E, and builds a new arena downtown for both teams (doubles the collateral for private funding, eliminates the red tape with the city, maximizes profit since you won’t owe them concessions and portions of the money from the gates)…The Palace is retained as a high-profile concert and event center for the suburbs…even better than a NY or LA (whose large venues in those cities compete against each other just like the Wings and Pistons used to) you can bring big time attractions for a show or set of shows at both the new arena and the Palace (different markets — downriver/northern Ohio and the suburbs while stretching to areas north), they don’t have to compete at that point, they can leverage each other. And only a person like Wilson could actually pull that off, the Palace was named to best venue in the country after 20+ years last year.

    In general, you simply DO NOT hire a person of Wilson’s caliber (who easily would have had ANY job he wanted in this entire country with a franchise/entertainment conglomerate) to oversee all of Ilitch’s holdings just for a new Wings arena when you already have plenty of people in executive positions who can handle that themselves. The Red Wings have enough brass of their own to where AT MOST they could have used Wilson as a consultant, not hiring him in with a job description “to be defined later.” Wilson is widely known as a shrewd businessman who was part of Davidson’s brass to privately finance the Palace, got them out of huge financial penalties when they sold the Lightning, etc.

    And remember two things: 1) The Wings and Pistons started talking over a year ago about a plan to share the Palace for 5 years, the Wings’ only viable option to pass them by while a new stadium is built, and 2) Wilson is not overseeing the Red Wings, he has supreme control over the whole Ilitch enchilada, for again, no other purpose than to grow their business significantly. Wilson leaves the Pistons and within days is with the Wings??? Speaks volumes because there is no way something much, much bigger hasn’t been in the works for quite a while. If something wasn’t planned to that scale, Ilitch had no reason to hire a person like him.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Indiana
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Orlando
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Houston
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Miami
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Denver
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Chicago
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Washington
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM