Thanks Nets – From Pistons Fans

Posted · 11 Comments

Pistons fans can thank The New Jersey Nets for putting some smiles on our faces. After a miserable night in Indiana on Friday, the Pistons bounced back with an impressive 92-99 win Saturday night.

Key Points:

  • A whopping 52% from the floor for the Pistons.
  • Rodney Stuckey with a double-double. A tale of two days for Stuckey who went from zero assists Friday night to 11 on Saturday. He may have went 4-for-13 on the night for 10 points, but when you help you’re teammates get buckets that is good enough.
  • Really, how do you let Kris Humphries put up 21 on you? The Pistons always have the habit of letting role players look like all-starts against them.
  • One of the best crowds at the Palace all season long.
  • Charlie Villanueva 4-for-4 from downtown for 12 points, with 2 boards and 2 blocked shots in 16 minutes.
  • SWEDETASTIC night for Jonas who was a perfect 9-for-9 on the night with 7 boards.  Jonas led the Pistons with 20 points  in just 24 minutes.  Jonas didn’t even play a minute of the fourth quarter thanks to the solid play of Jason Maxiell.  Personally I thought Jonas should have been in the game in the closing minute over Prince with the game he was having.

Photo/Getty Images
  • Ben Wallace with 4 block on the night and it should have been 5 if you count the block on Lopez that was called a foul.  It looked clean to me and Ben was so sure it was good he got a technical foul for it.  Huge night for Ben who really drove this team with 10 boards, 9 points and a steal.
  • 29 Detroit Pistons assists on the night…huge.
  • DNP for Austin Daye.
  • The collision between Harris and Hayes looked horrible in person.  I hope both are ok, it felt like it took them forever to move.
  • “Maxiell had it going at the end,” Pistons head coach John Kuester said. “We sort of rode him and that’s why we didn’t put Jonas back into the game. He had two key rebounds and a dunk.” Via NBA.com
  • Let me tell you that this Maxiell Dunk shook the ground and the crowd at the Palace.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video Courtesy of NBA.com and the Detroit Pistons

  • Jason has really started to pick his game up the last month.  Maxiell finished with 13 points a blocked shot and 6 boards in 24 minutes.

Photo/Getty Imaes
  • New Jersey scored just two points in the final 2 minutes.
  • Jonas Jerebko just gained a whole lot more fans last night.
  • The Pistons biggest lead was 12, the Nets 2.
  • Rip scored 17 on 5-for-14 shooting with 5 assists. Rip tried to connect with Tay again on an all oop that almost had the crown on their feet.
    Just 4 points for Tay.
  • Ben Gordon 5 points on 1-for-5 shooting. From hot to not.
  • Another great performance from Will Bynum who returned a few games ago after his ankle injuries. Bynum scored 9 with 4 assists in 19 minutes.

Highlights Via NBA.com

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video Courtesy of NBA.com and the Detroit Pistons

  • Loved the guy I saw with a red t-shirt on that he took a permanent magic marker to that said “Devin Harris Loves (it was a heart) Snookie” !
  • Yes it was the Nets, but at least they played defense, were hitting their shots and put forth a lot of effort. Talent aside, win or lose it’s the effort that fans want to see. Thanks for making my drive home from the Palace bearable. Wait, do I thank the Pistons or the Nets?
11 Responses to "Thanks Nets – From Pistons Fans"
  1. Nolan says:

    I don’t know anyone else notice that stuckey hesitates to shoot when hes wide open say I don’t know 6 feet out, he’ll decide to try to drive the ball instead of trying to make a wide open look, and Charlie V, since when does he think he’s Magic Johnson all of a sudden??? Ben Wallace was great, it’s a good thing they have him because I don’t think they get by the Nets last night if they don’t even though Brook Lopez did good.

  2. The Fan says:

    Nat. I completely agree that Jonas should have been in the game at the end. I’m not sure why he doesn’t get the call to close games out and Tay who does virtually nothing all game does.

    POLITICS… UGHHHHHHHHHHHH.

  3. Lori says:

    Thank the Pistons. It was their 4th game with an almost full roster (wasn’t Chucky in a suit?) and they were good. I was surprised by the Nets toughness, they don’t act like a team that has an awful record. They get out there and try hard.

  4. Richie says:

    We’ll take it!

  5. radtad says:

    you’ll take it, but im not too pumped about it

  6. Nolan says:

    Tayshuan doesn’t really gets plays drawn up for him, plays they used to call for him in the past he isn’t getting, That’s all the coach man, plus he’s been injuried for most of the season, who really knows how injuried he still is……

  7. junior says:

    chucky was in a suit becuase he was inactive not becuase he was hurt. when we have bg stuck rip and bynum healthy we dont need another guard(chucky) thats why he was in a suit. it was a good win because it was a WIN. it does not matter who it is against right now. the TEAM is starting to look a lot better, but bg still needs to get a little more into the game be more assertive or something. 1-5 does not cut it. o well. GO PISTONS

  8. James (Australia) says:

    I prefer a win, no matter how we get it, to a loss.
    Anyone else think that Ben Gordon might just be struggling mentally? Against the Pacers when the pressure was really off, he nets 26 points including 4 3 pointers. But then the next day he is 1-5 or something??? I just hope he gets it together soon.

  9. Diogenes says:

    Come on James – we know better than to dish you dirt on the ‘stones – we are just pessimistic yanks with no perspective, remember? Ask a question when it is more than a rhetorical device mate.

  10. Normal 2 says:

    I was at the game. I’ve been to about 4 or five pistons games and they lost all of them. I told my girl that if they lose this game to the nets, the worst team in the leage, at the palace then i wasn’t going to go to another pistons game until 2011..hahaha. they won and out of all the games that i went to, this one was the livest from the beginning to the end. More people was there then i thought would be there. I thought it would be almost empty..haha great game though.

  11. Bo says:

    I was there

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM