Team Need4Sheed Podcast – To Trade or not to Trade

Posted · 15 Comments

Need4Sheed PodcastOur good friends Bennie and Jeff are back with their pre-trade deadline podcast. With the deadline just days away, do the Pistons make a deal or not?

Don’t forget leave Bennie and Jeff your thoughts in the comments. They are waiting to hear what Team Need4Sheed has to say.

Team Need4Sheed Podcast #33- To Trade or not to Trade

Download itunesSubscribe in iTunes Subscribe in a reader
15 Responses to "Team Need4Sheed Podcast – To Trade or not to Trade"
  1. Ben's Fro says:

    Man i wanted Amar’e Stoudemire on the Pistons soo badly, too bad.
    Dont Trade Big Ben nor Rip, maybe Tay. Lets see how it plays out.

  2. James (Australia) says:

    No need to trade. We aren’t going to be big players in free agency, we aren’t contenders. Let the team finish the season, see if they can salvage something, get a bit of chemistry, then with a healthy sample size, we might be able to see what moves we need/can make.

    We can get better via the draft, free agency(exceptions), and internal growth. Not making a trade doesn’t mean we can’t get better.

    The only trade I might entertain is that one of Ben Wallace going to a contender. If we could get a number 1 draft pick and then Wallace comes re signs with us in the off season. That would be pretty good. Don’t know if we could.

  3. Nat_Turner_Wit_Tha_Burner says:

    no trade will happen

  4. tduke53 says:

    How about making a smaller trade? like one for Ronny Turiaf, he plays D and we could get him for Wilcox and Summer. I think he definently an upgrade from Wilcox and most importantly he plays Defense.

  5. terry says:

    Unless a trade lands a true center (cough, cough David Lee cough, cough)don’t do it. Boozer wants way too much money. It would not be smart to trade Stuckey. The Pistons FINALLY got healthy, so it wouldn’t be a bad idea to let them play the season out. This team is better than the record indicates, which is a good thing cause Joe could be looking at a top 5 lottery pick. People act like 2010 is the last season for free agents or something. Look for alot of teams to be butting heads this off season. The truth as I see it is: 1. this team has a great young core and is 1 good center away from contending, 2. if Joe gets any pick in the top 5 picks he can’t miss this draft is looking to have some nice young bigs, 3. don’t underestimate the number 1 offensive boards stat; that is going to be mighty helpful now they got their scorers back, and 4. did I mention all the scorers have been injured on this team (except Stuckey) practically the entire 1rst half of the season? That’s a fact not an excuse. Healthy we have one of the deepest rosters in the league.

    • Jesse says:

      What great young core are you talking about? Stuckey is good, may even be an all-star someday, but you’re not winning a championship if he’s your best guy, JJ has been good but is probably nothing more than a reliable starter, both Daye and Summers are question marks, Maxiell is average at best, Villanueva and Gordon are both one demensional streaky scorers. I don’t see a starting-caliber big man, a go-to scorer or a legit franchise player in that bunch.

      I think most teams in the league have better young players than us…
      CHI: Rose, Noah, Gibson, Thomas, Deng
      GS: Ellis, Curry, Biedrins, Murrow, Randolph, Wright
      LAC: Gordon, Griffin, Jordon, Kaman, Outlaw
      MEM: Gay, Mayo, Gasol, Thabeet, Conley, Young
      MIN: Flynn, Love, Jefferson, Brewer, Ellington, Gomes
      NJ: Harris, Lopez, CDR, Lee, Yi, Williams
      OKC: Durant, Green, Westbrook, Sefalosha, Harden
      POR: Roy, Oden, Aldridge, Batum, Fernandez, Bayless, Wesbster
      SAC: Martin, Evans, Greene, Thompson, Cassipi, Hawes

      …. Just to name a few, I’d take any of those cores over ours. Don’t get caught up in overrating your own talent, Dumars seems to have fallen victim to it, otherwise we would have had a trade by now.

    • terry says:

      Alright Jesse we are all entitled to our opinions however your statement is debatable to put it lightly. Stuckey maybe an all star some day? If Rondo made the allstar game Stuckey is definately going I give it 2 years tops. JJ is better than good, he is developing an excellent overall game, he does the dirty work hustling, crashing the boards and can score and hit the three ball what more do you want out of a guy his rookie year? Maxie is a bit inconsistent but then again so are his minutes, yet and still I love watching him gorilla dunk, snatch rebounds, and swat dunk attempts on the regular, that aint average. What’s the question mark about Daye? He can score anywhere on the court, he’s got nice post moves, and can take it off the dribble, oh and he’s 6’11. Ben Gordan only, I don’t know, carried that squad you got listed for the Bulls against the Celts no less. He’s one of those guys you want on your team because he only gets better in pressure situations like the playoffs. Charlie V. is an efficient scorer that is getting better and adding more facets to his game. You forgot about Will Bynum huh? Now lets look at your youngins. You just saw what we did to Minnesota so dump them lames. Tyrus Thomas is over rated. 3 years in the league and already getting shopped JJ’s already better. Wasn’t that Rose that Stuck roasted for 40 last year? I’m just saying. NJ: Harris, Lopez yes, the rest of their squad NO!

    • terry says:

      Clippers? No. Golden State? eh, I like Curry. Sac beat us but I’m still not convinced. I’ll give you Oklahoma, Memphis, and Portland, but you want to talk about question marks there should be one on Greg Oden’s jersey I’m not sold on Brittle players ( growth hormones?). I could sit here and disect your offerings player by player but I’ll just state the fact that I didn’t say the Pistons were the best young core in the league….. yet, just that they have a great, solid young core in place and are a player or two from being back in the mix. That’s my opinion though and calling it crazy would just be pure speculation. I’ve been right so many times. }; )

  6. #1 pistons fan says:

    19 houres left….. i think no time only butler to mavs…and camby blazers i think no on will trade……….maby pistons i hope!!!!!!!

  7. The Fan says:

    Everytime a Podcast comes on it seems like we start playing better.

    What Benny and Jeff failed to mention is another possible scenario. That Joe D would be showcasing Tay and Rip the first half of the year. However, they were injured and thus their trade value went down.

    Had they been playing the way both have played the last week before the all start break and last night. Their value would have been there.

  8. Richie says:

    Call me crazy, but I like the current team. I think that the current team with 12 healthy men, maybe a successful draft etc. would make the playoffs. Certainly this year we’d be at least a 7 spot if not the injuries. If we leg go of Ben Gordon right now because he had a rough year (only after his ankle was hurt) we’ll be sorry for it next year when he’s playing big again because he had time to heal and we were too short sighted.

  9. Chris says:

    Yea, I say let the guys play this year out. This is the first time all season we’ve had the full roster, and even so some guys STILL aren’t 100%. Given what our record could be, we got a great chance to land a solid young big in the draft. I say let the guys ride it out, continue to mesh, take the lottery pick and pick up the pieces we need. We can pull things together.

  10. Davi says:

    I wouldn´t get excited after a win against Minnesota.
    This team is not good, because there are too many good guards and no centers.
    PERIOD!

  11. Jesse says:

    Terry,
    I’m not sure what you’re arguing here, I agree Stuckey is probably an all-star, just not a franchise player. Your right JJ, he’s developing an overall game…. like a reliable starter, but not a star. Maxiell is inconsistent, just because he’s good for a weekly monster highlight doesn’t mean he’s necessarily an effective player.I say Daye is a question mark because is, what has he proven in the league? Gordon is fine, but ideally he’s a bench player, realisticly he’s paid like a starter. Villanueva isn’t efficient, he’s madingly inconsistent, that along with his D forces you to bring him off the bench. And yes, I forgot about the great Will Bynum, who will probably be re-signed for too much this summer…that’s Dumars’ specialty afterall.

    So, I’m left with the same criticism: No legit franchise player, no starting caliber big man and no go-to scorer. Look beyond this season, Minny and NJ both have brighter immediate futures than us: They have 20-10 guys, legit pgs and young swingmen… I don’t care how badly we beat them this season, I care about how badly they wil be beating us two years from now.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM