Detroit with a Dunktacular win over the Timberwolves

Posted · 12 Comments

Well this Pistons team didn’t get the memo that unlike their predecessors, they usually come back from the All Star break with a less then stellar performance.  The Pistons all but took a bat to the Timberwolves in one of their 108-85 victory.

Key Points:

  • I lost count after about 5, but this was the most dunk filled night ….ever?  (Blaha counted 12)
  • So many, that the plays of the night were all the Dunks.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video Courtesy of The Detroit Pistons and The NBA
  • This game was dead even at the half at 52.
  • Pistons ran out of the gate as soon as they returned from the locker room and never looked back. They were clearly in command even before the third quarter ended. Detroit was up by 20 when the third was over.
  • Sharing the basketball was an understatement, and it started off that way.  The Pistons with 37 assists on the night.
  • Oh my, Jonas Jerebko kick started the night with point after point for Detroit.  He was one short of tying his career high at 21 on the night.  Why did he miss his career total? The Pistons pulled ahead and he only had to play 20 minutes on the night.  Jonas added 2 steals, 3 boards in one of his best performances of the season.  And that’s saying a lot for the guy who’s been the spark of the season.  Rip to the Swede for the Jam….priceless.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video Courtesy of The NBA

  • Rip Hamilton, sharing the ball like he was a point guard. Rip finished with 12 points. 7 assist and a steal in 28 minutes.
  • The Pistons were shooting 57% in the first half and the game was tied.  The defense helped that effort once the second half started.
  • Stuckey with 10 points, and 6 assist in 20 minutes.  Nice game for Rodney, who didn’t have to carry the load for once.
  • Ben Gordon with 8 points on 4-for-11 shooting…for a shooter, that’s still not good enough yet.
  • Ben Wallace simply amazes, he put up 8 points (all I think were dunks), with 8 boards 2 blocked shots and a steal.  I don’t know what he did during the break, but he shook the floor with this dunk like he was drinking Hulk juice.

Get the Flash Player to see this content.

Video Courtesy of The Detroit Pistons and The NBA
  • I got my hopes and dreams back for Jason Maxiell and since I have he’s done me right. Jason looks like the guy we know he can be, 10 boards, 6 points and a block that I’m counting that was a bad call in my book. The Baby Eater is back.
  • Charlie Villanueva with 11 points, 6 boards, a blocked shot and 2 assists in 23 minutes. I hate to criticize when we blow out a team (which rarely happens these days) but please Charlie do you really need to take 6 threes?
  • Tay with 11 points, 3 assists, 5 boards and a blocked shot in 31 minutes.  Prince was a +34 for the game.
  • BYNUMITE – Will with a career high 14 assists on the night adding 6 points and a steal. Will still looks like his ankles are bothering him, but he’s still over producing.
Will Bynum and Rodney StuckyPhoto/Getty Images
  • We were even treated with a nice windmill jam from Chris Wilcox.
  • Board war won 38-44.
  • Detroit shot 53% on the night.
  • A Daye treat,  Austin with 9 points on 4-for-7 shooting in 7 minutes.
  • Yes this was the Timberwolves, but the way Detroit came out and played really shows you what they can do if they put some heart and effort in for a full 48.
  • Finally a fun game to watch.
  • At Orlando Wednesday.
12 Responses to "Detroit with a Dunktacular win over the Timberwolves"
  1. KleenGee says:

    Looks like they might be over their second half blues.

    Jason definitely got a bad call on that block.

    Tomorrow: Big Ben vs. Superman. I can’t wait. GO PISTONS!!!!!!!!!!

  2. The Fluidics says:

    I noticed a lot of the guys jerseys were looking faded around the collars, particularly Max and Jonas, aka guys who have played all season. Jonas’s jersey was so tattered that the “Mr. D” on his collar was completely worn off.

    Nice game tonight. Spurs better not move McDyess at the deadline, I kinda want to see him come home this weekend.

  3. Joshua P says:

    The Swedish Cowboy strikes again! NEW NICKNAME!

  4. rai_from_the_philippines says:

    this was better than the All Star Weekend Slam Dunk Challenge! LOL!

  5. 3point stunna says:

    josh thats’ not a new nickname mikey v has been calling him that since the begining of the season

  6. 3point stunna says:

    i hope they have a run like that part on major league on of the greatest movies…i just hop the lakers stop joking off that movie

  7. rai_from_the_philippines says:

    @zkranc: the name of the contest was appropriate though, it was a CHALLENGE to watch it through the end. ROFL!!!

  8. The Fan says:

    What an awesome game to watch! The entire team came to play, unselfishness, and a balanced game between everyone. If we can play every game with this kind of effort and balanced attack, and I mean every game. We can hope for a shot at 8th seed.

  9. daddy says:

    thats how we need to play. check out how many assist i thought every did a really great job. will the thrill and maxy sure did prove themselves again. jj is going to be the face of the pistons after ben is gone. ben and rip are working together again nice off the pick and rolls, same with rodney. im glad to see some of the younger guys getting mins as well. i dont think we are going to make a trade but if we do it will be for tay cause jj is just too nice.

  10. Lillian King says:

    i always collect the greatest movies from all decades including the 60’s. i love to watch movies.`.:

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment


2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21        105-110
Fri Dec 26       109-119
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28       103-80
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30       109-86
@ New York
Fri Jan 2       97-81
Sun Jan 4       95-114
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6       105-104
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7       108-95
Fri Jan 9       106-103
Sat Jan 10       98-93
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12        114-111
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14       105-94
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16       98-96
Sat Jan 17       89-107
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19       82-93
Wed Jan 21       118-128
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24       86-101
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25       110-114
Tue Jan 27       103-95
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28       69-89
Sat Jan 31       101-114
Tue Feb 3       91-108
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4       109-114
Fri Feb 6       88-98
Sun Feb 8       112-101
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10       106-78
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11       104-87
Fri Feb 20       91-100
Sun Feb 22       89-106
Tue Feb 24       102-93
@ New York
Fri Feb 27       121-115
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28       95-99
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4       85-88
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6       93-103
Sun Mar 8       108-101
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10       85-96
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM