A Sign of Hope and Heart – Pistons Win in OT

Posted · 15 Comments

It seems a little over the top to be celebrating a two game winning streak, but after last night’s 104-110 OT victory over the Hornets  that is exactly what I’m doing.

Stucktacular

Key Points:

  • Still not Will Bynum, Tayshaun Prince or Ben Gordon.  Gordon sat dressed in his uniform on the bench, but did not enter the game.
  • The Pistons started like gangbusters, outscoring the Hornets 31 to 16 in the first quarter, but Chris Paul started heating up and with him his team.
  • Team work was evident, Detroit finished with 27 assists on the night.
  • 42 minutes from Jonas Jerebko who seems to have a clone on the court when he’s out there. Jonas is  everywhere all the time.  J.J. finished with 13 points, 8 boards a blocked shot with 2 assists.  I don’t know about you, but it seems to me that when he’s in the starting lineup good things happen.
  • Though Chris Wilcox played just 12 minutes, scoring 3 points, it was this assist to Ben Wallace for the reverse jam that was really impressive.

[flashvideo file=http://www.need4sheed.com/videos/flash_videos/jan_15_09_wallace.flv /]

Video Courtesy of The NBA and The Detroit Pistons
  • Oh my goodness,  Ben Wallace with 21 boards on the night, surpassing his season high while adding 13 points.  Another double-double for Ben, who’s constant control of the glass and the defensive end helped the Pistons control the game.   At this point in the season, it’s hard not to put Ben at the top of the list for team MVP.
  • Charlie Villanueva with 13 points, 7 boards and 2 steals.  I know he’s been hot and cold all season long, but I’m hoping the Pistons current play will help him out of whatever funk he was in.
  • Austin Day was great in his 14 minutes on the court.  Daye finished with 12 points and assist and a rebound.  He’s not afraid to take the big shot, and it always seems like he’s hitting them.  Is he our new 3 point go to guy?  Day was 2-for-2 from downtown.
  • Rip Hamilton led all scorers with 32 points, 10 assists, 3 steals and 3 boards. If Detroit ever needed a double-double from Rip it was last night. Rip, stepped up and helped control the flow of the game with Rodney feeling far from 100%.

Rip Hamilton

Photo/Getty Images
  • It may have been upsetting to watch Detroit let their lead slip away in the fourth, but this time they didn’t fold when their back where against the wall.  Had they not have broken their losing streak before this game, their spirit may not have willed them to fight for this one.
  • Detroit had the ball for the last shot in regulation, but couldn’t convert on a Rip Hamilton jumper. Nothing to knock Rip’s fantastic night, but he took the ball up for the last shot and fell short. That’s where we miss Chauncey most of all. I wanted the ball in Rip’s hand, but not that way. Coming off a screen and getting the ball for the last shot is where Rip is money.
  • With Rodney not feeling well and not having a great game, it was most likely that we would have seen more of Chucky Atkins down the stretch, but Atkins fouled out and back came a hurt and very tired looking Rodney Stuckey. I don’t know what got into Stuck, but he put his team on his back in OT converting two three point plays, helping Detroit secure the win. Check out Rodney’s fire.

[flashvideo file=http://www.need4sheed.com/videos/flash_videos/jan_15_09_stuckey.flv /]

Video Courtesy of The NBA and The Detroit Pistons
  • Six Pistons in double figures.
  • 30 points in the paint.
  • Board war won 46-34.
  • The Pistons biggest lead was 18 points at one time.
  • Check out the Highlights via NBA.com with the ridiculous Charlie Villanueva slam.

[flashvideo file=http://nba.cdn.turner.com/nba/big/games/pistons/2010/01/15/0020900575_noh_det_recap.nba_nba_576x324.flv /]

  • Another night, another game. Tonight against the Knicks.
15 Responses to "A Sign of Hope and Heart – Pistons Win in OT"
  1. ka'no'b says:

    here we go pistons here we go

  2. ka'no'be says:

    i enjoyed the game my boys played hard i think they will win 7 straight you heard from the first guy to get banned from need4sheed…can anybody ask nat why she’s blocking me from the site?

    • Obiwan,
      For being insulting in general to me and other commentators and calling me a douche.

      It takes enough of my time to run the site, I don’t need to be a babysitter to immature people who can’t have a conversation without putting commentators opinions down and being rude.

  3. o'b'wan says:

    that boy austin daye needs more pt the boi can shoot

  4. Besnik (from Sweden) says:

    We proud of u JJ, keep up the good work!!

  5. Jesse says:

    Rip also almost had a triple double… with turnovers.

    As far missing Chauncey and Rip taking the last shot and all, my guess is that BG will probably be the one taking those when he’s healthy. I have always trusted Rip in the clutch though (and Prince to a lesser extent), its a nice luxury when you have multiple guys you can go to at the end of games, and the Pistons do always seem to 2 or 3 of those guys on their roster.

  6. HIME1 says:

    go piston!

  7. Lori says:

    Natalie, since you are well informed, have you heard any news of Will’s return? Poor Rodney looked like he’d been hit by a truck by the end of the game. I imagine he’ll feel pretty awful today. Some Bynumite would really help!

  8. Findawg says:

    Great game, loved the heart we showed especially down the stretch. I can’t wait for this double-header, I will be at the second game on Monday at the MSG, seeing as that I currently live in NY. Should be a fun two games.

  9. Lori,
    Nothing official on Bynum but the fact that they are not updating his status tells me he’s nowhere near to coming back yet. From the looks of it Ben Gordon is the one that will return the quickest.

  10. shawn says:

    i still want a trade and john wallllllll lol

  11. terry says:

    Wow, Stuckey is fast emerging into a great point guard. Gutsy win, secured down the stretch by a gutsy young point guard!

  12. Russian Mad Pistonst Fan says:

    Nat, take care. Don’t pay attention to crazy fans. Pistonts Forever! Thanks a lot for your job . Tonight we’ll win. I have no doubt. +11

  13. Drew says:

    I don’t know why we weren’t posting up Rodney on Chris from the start. Rod could have been doing that all night! Sometimes I wonder where Kuester is going with this line-ups and plays…but at least he’s implementing more things than Curry ever did.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New York
Wed Nov 5        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Utah
Sun. Nov 9        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Orlando
Mon Nov 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM