Tayshaun Prince is out Indefinitely

Posted · 22 Comments

Bad news Pistons fans:

“The Pistons say forward Tayshaun Prince will be out of the lineup indefinitely due to a small rupture of a disc in his lower back.

The team said Saturday that the injury was confirmed following an MRI exam and evaluation by team doctors this week. The Pistons say Prince will continue to receive treatment for the injury.” Via ESPN

I’m not going to try to put a bigger cloud on this than there already is, but I know from first hand experience that ruptured discs are nothing to sneeze at (literally a sneeze can take you down).  Now it all depends on how serious it is, and if there are nerves involved, but trust me when I say Tayshaun isn’t gong to be on the court for some time.

Best case scenario is rest and some Arnie physical therapy, and worst case is surgery. Only time and more evaluations will tell, but it looks like Jonas Jerebko and Austin Day will probably be more important draft picks than we could have ever imagined.

This is so NOT Tayriffic.

Get well soon Tayshaun.

22 Responses to "Tayshaun Prince is out Indefinitely"
  1. Matt says:

    wow, this sucks. I new it had to be something more than a strain. Prince is a pretty tough guy to miss some games with just a strain. Get well soon!

  2. sam i am says:

    get well tay. lets hope we get rip back soon.

  3. Richie says:

    Horrible news. I feel so bad for Tayshaun. He played for so long so reliable, through so many small injuries, then he had this happen. I hope it’s as small as possible. :(

  4. Sleepy Crayfish says:

    Ultimately I think Rip’s absence has hurt us more, but having Tayshaun out indefinitely is still a huge blow to the team. He’s a real stabilizer out there, and he’s been part of the core for years.

  5. TC says:

    Thanks, Nat, for the rundown of the significance of the injury. Get well soon Tay….you’re everything that’s good about the Association, and the Pistons.

  6. Mark says:

    NBA BREAKING NEWS!!!!

    Allen Iverson has permission to leave his new team the Memphis Grizzlies! This guy is truly pathetic. Check REALGM.COM for the story.

    But back to the topic. I hope Tayshaun gets better. We need him out there!

  7. KleenGee says:

    Get well soon Tay. The team really needs him. Hope he heals for good. Back trouble lingers for some people, even after pt.

    Does anyone know how he hurt his back?

  8. Bryant says:

    Well I guess the rookies are gonna have to step it up.

  9. mannie32 says:

    disappointing news :(

  10. Dhrumil says:

    GET WELL TAY :(

  11. obiwan says:

    dang that hurt my dude

  12. obiwan says:

    i hate loookni at sheeds face…crybaby had to go to boston so kg wouldnt light him up one on one…dang tay get well

  13. Rashit Flawless (Russia) says:

    Get well soon, Tay!

  14. Sable says:

    Yes, get well soon. This is one of those injuries which, as an athlete, they just make you cringe. I wonder the story behind the injury. Was it during a game? During practice?

  15. pistonsfan101 says:

    They should also play Summers more.. I wanna see him play..

    I still hope Wilcox gets some mins today afternoon!!

  16. HIME1 says:

    GET WELL TAY. GO PISTONS

  17. Lori says:

    To all trade conspiracy theorists, get lives!

  18. Amer ican Prince says:

    I wonder if this happened in like the season opener or second game when he dove into the stands to try to save that ball

    Get well Tay dude.

    haha lori

  19. Damien W. says:

    OUCH! That hurts, get well Tay!

  20. KleenGee says:

    any of you find out how this happened?

  21. Spam says:

    He will miss one month

  22. Leslie says:

    Get well Tay! You are missed!!

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

Ball Don't Lie T-Shirt

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25       86-98
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26       104-98
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28       104-88
Golden State
Sun Nov 30       104-93
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2       106-96
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3       102-109 OT
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6       108-101 OT
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7       96-94
Portland
Tue Dec 9       98-86
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12       105-103
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13       95-90
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15       91-113
Dallas
Wed Dec 17       117-106
Toronto
Fri Dec 19       110-100
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM