Impressive Start to the Season for The Pistons

Posted · 37 Comments

The new players impressed and the seasoned ones did the rest. The Pistons pummeled the Memphis Grizzlies in the season opener 96-74, led by 25 from Rip Hamilton while Ben Gordon added 22.  The big question has been could the two exist together, and I think they answered that one emphatically with 47 points between them.

Key Points:

  • The Defense?  Well it didn’t look that bad, holding the Grizz to just 74 was a nice way to start.
  • I mentioned before that Charlie Villanueva was a little (and that’s being nice) lax on playing “D” but he looked like he was really trying to step it up before he got into very early foul trouble. Let’s hope that’s not an issue.
  • Coach Kuester started his tenure with Detroit the right way.
  • This was the team I was hoping to see this season.
  • First official points from Ben Gordon as a Piston… leaning glass gunner with the shot clock expiring. Four point play,  followed by a buzzer beater at the quarter. Ben impressed with 22 points on 7-12 shooting in 25 minutes on the floor.
Video Courtesy of The NBA and The Detroit Pistons
  • You know how it feels for Pistons fans to see Sheed on the hated Celtics. Well just bask in the glory that Bulls fans are killing themselves right now watch Ben Gordon don the red, blue and white!
  • Charlie Villanueva and Ben Gordon’s first Pistons points – triples.
  • I love the George Blaha (don’t we all?) poster in Memphis…priceless
  • Bynum is really trying to cement this whole point guard position. Bynumite with 5 points, 5 boards and 7 assists in 23 minutes.
  • Rip tweaked his ankle late in the game after a very impressive performance. Hopefully he will be just fine. I was worried about him as the game started as well as the preseason but he looked great. He loses his ducktail and he gets his shot back, coincidence? I think not.
  • Ben Wallace back to his “Big Ben” status? Fear the fade?

Photo/Getty Images
  • Wallace not only started for Detroit, but he was very impressive making his defensive presence felt while making it contagious to his teammates. Ben finished with 9 boards, a blocked shot and 3 points in 28 minutes.  Pleasant surprise…
  • Rodney Stuckey 12 points on 6-for-10 shooting with three assists and two boards.  I’m hoping his assists are better this season, but either way I think he’s going to be substantially better than last season.
  • Tayshaun Prince looked good with 14 points, 5 boards and 3 assists in 31 minutes.
  • Will rebounds be a problem? Probably – Pistons outboarded 39-49.
  • I was thinking that Rip’s ego might be a little bruised by Ben Gordon but the fact that Gordon scored the coveted Dr. Rahmani commercial was like writing it in stone.  That’s Rip’s gig, my man.
  • Rip started slow but totally stole the show with 25 points on 10-for-19 shooting with 4 assists and 3 boards.  Great start for Rip who was looking a little confused during the preseason.

Photo/Getty Images
  • I’m hoping Jason Maxiell really plays the way I think he can play. Maxi with 2 points, 6 boards and a ton of hustle in 14 minutes on the floor.
  • 51% shooting on the nigh – WOW.
  • Charlie V started the game and scored 7. A great dunk but he’ll have to watch the fouls.
  • No Austin Daye or Jonas Jerebko, (The Second coming of Detroit Bad Boys) who were both suspended for their skirmishes in the preseaon.  Pistons dressed just 10 players.
  • 37% for three.
  • Highlights of the Game

  • Nice way to make Pistons fans feel after the mess that was last season.
  • I can’t wait to see what the crowd is like Friday night at the Palace. Ben Wallace with a serious ovation during the intros I predict.
37 Responses to "Impressive Start to the Season for The Pistons"
  1. James says:

    Nice write-up Nat. Great start by the Pistons. Really liked the fact that Hamilton was consistently finding and knocking down the Mid range ‘J’. Can’t expect it every night, but the efficiency of Gordon and Hamilton was great. Hope we don’t have to rely on Kwame, Wilcox, or Big Ben to win us a game with their free-throw shooting :) but that’s really the only negative(…and the offensive rebounds).

    Tayshaun played great by the way…who said we should get rid of him????

  2. Sable says:

    Don’t worry about the assist numbers for the point guards. This is a Larry Brown offense and the point guards just manage the game. The offense is predicated on ball movement so the assists will be more distributed through the team, unlike a Flip Saunders offense where one pass and a shot was common.

  3. Shawna says:

    Love your post as usual, nice to see that Pistons get back to work.

    By the way, really like the new style of need4sheed.com

  4. Junior says:

    Very impressive win. I am hearing people say don’t get too excited it was only Memphis. I disagree. I thought they looked very sharp. Its hard to win opening night on the road. I loved Maxiel diving on the floor for the ball. This is a really good team with fight and heart. I am excited to see this team grow. Also love the new layout Natalie. I think I might love our new coach. However our home opener will be tough. Kevin Durant is the BEST player in the NBA and is on a good young squad. Should be a good game.

  5. ben says:

    hey natalie look at this.. over at a celtics blog they think rip is on the move.. what do u think about it?? http://www.celticsblog.com/2009/10/28/1104643/could-rip-hamilton-be-on-the-move

  6. Diogenes says:

    Man – if we get a center – look out. Kaman?

  7. Serbiaz Piston says:

    “Hamilton suffered the injury while being fouled by O.J. Mayo with less than five minutes remaining. X-rays were negative, but the ankle was so sore after the game that he had to be carted around the locker room in a wheelchair. We should know more after the Pistons re-evaluate him on Thursday.”

    Hope Rip will be fine…

  8. aaron says:

    good start…I hope Joe is patient and waits till mid season to make a move(if he makes one at all). For all it’s faults, I think this squad has a big upside and could be a big time spoiler in the east. Let’s see where we are at after 20, 40 games.

  9. Josh says:

    What a great start to the season. I agree Natalie, WB is going after that pg position hard. Nice wrap of the game and the site looks amazing.

  10. KleenGee says:

    Great post Natalie. Yeah, Hamilton was awesome, and he showed me, since I lost faith in that quick release jumper of his. Must be his trip to the barber. Maybe knowing he’s the leader will make him even better.

    Thank God that the xrays were negative.

    The biggest suprise for me was that Ben gave 28 minutes. 28 strong, defensive minutes. So glad Kue chose to start Ben. Now I hope he moves Kwame into the starting rotation and Ben to PF. CV31 doesn’t have the d yet.

  11. steve says:

    Good game..feels good to have a real scorer.. i dont see how tayshaun had a great game he missed every shot he took same old dude.. i seriously think this team is 1 move away to compete again.. and no dr ramani is pavel datsyuks gig if anyones.

  12. Marcell says:

    I love the what you did to your web site, Natalie. Excellent! We had to listen to the Memphis telecast down here in Florida. Those guys kept saying, “This isn’t the way the Pistons are supposed to play this season!” Made us laugh. They looked well coached too!

  13. DetroitBasketball says:

    yea that celtics blog is talking about rip for ray allen? It would b good for the pistons because ray allen’s contract is up after this season and we could sign a boozer mayb? I like rip i want him to stay but we’re not a championship team rite now so moves have to b made

    • Richie says:

      Oh come on! The team’s looking great right now and swapping Rip for an older pure shooting gaurd won’t make us better. Can we FINALLY stop with the trade talks for a while?

  14. Amer ican Prince says:

    I still wish the bigs would be rewarded for their hard work on the offensive end. But with that being said I think Will Bynum is really sacrificing his shot numbers in order to embrace the point guard roll. I really love him for that. I really want to see more Wilcox and especially MAX. Tayshaun diving into the stands, Max on the floor. I love seeing stuff like that

  15. DetroitBasketball says:

    lol ben gordon was on sportscenter top 10 in his 1st game i kno chicago fans r sick lol

  16. sam i am says:

    i love rip and he was very impressive yesterday. but we need to trade for either kaman or marcus camby. marcus camby would be even better cuz he has an expiring contract. thoughts?

  17. BIGPISTONS FAN-NET says:

    Natalie nice job on the website. I hate to start with negative thoughts so…..Gordon was great, Tay was involved, the PG’s brought it, the C’s effective and the bench was impressive. BUT I know everyone can see that CV31 is absolutely dreadful on “D”. I’ve watched him look completely lost at times and just get over powered in the post. He is just too big to get pushed around like he does. Although he does make up (a little) for the lack of “D” by giving us that step out 3. Does anyone else think someone needs to step up and tell this guy to BRING IT OR SIT ON THE BENCH. Offense sells tickets and defense wins games.

    Oh and CV31 should be with Daye in strength workouts.

    • Amer ican Prince says:

      well they are a little bit. Notice how much Ben and Kwame and the others played while CV was on the bench. Weird thing is he actually had the most blocks. Think it proves numbers can be liars.

      oh and is there any way to request halftime shows? I was so psyched when i was watching the halftime show and saw the Jabbawockeez dancing in the background. I love them. I want to see them in Pistons uniform at halftime. So cool.

    • Sebastian says:

      He had 3 blocks. That’s not too shabby “D” if you ask me.

    • Richie says:

      Charlie’s D is only going to get better from practicing with Ben every day.

  18. Sebastian says:

    Great change in the web. I loved it. Also the Pistons had a nice start but let´s not forget that there is a long way to playoffs

  19. Richie says:

    That was a fun game to watch. I love the inspirational defense Ben Wallace brings, including knowing when to go for blocks and when to position himself for charges. Most importantly, his method of taking a charge rather than flopping makes me happy.
    What I was the most excited about was Kuester’s use of all 10 players. I wasn’t happy with starters being on the floot during the last 5 minutes of a blow out, but I did enjoy that everyone played and if our other 2 rookies would have been there this blowout may have been bigger.
    We don’t have the best starting 5 anymore, but we do have a solid starting 5 who can hang with other starters and a bench that is very deep. Combining that with Keuster’s willingness to use them, I think we will beat a lot of teas in the 2nd and 3rd quarter rather than having the starters do all the work in the 1st and 3rd like we used to see.

  20. Rashit Flawless (Russia) says:

    The first I wanna say: Ben Gordon is a huge scorer. Like it was last playoffs vs C’s, he will score when the team needs it the most.
    2nd: I wish RIP is healthy. When I saw this incident, I remembered Bowen’s feet D. He might be on the move? If it’s true, there must be no variants like Steph Jackson+Monta+Turiaf for RIP+Stuckey+Tay, like a man on C’s forum wrote, that’s sick!
    We need a good frontcourt player now, our rebounding is awful.
    3rd: CV needs to be more aggressive playing D!

    We will have many nights like +10. But we sould be ready for nights like -20 vs contenders…unfortunately…

    • Drew says:

      Why would we do that trade when all three of Detroit’s players are (arguably) better than the corresponding Golden State guys they are getting swapped for? Let’s chill on proposing dumb stuff that’s gonna mess our team up.

  21. junior says:

    nat how do you read the reply comments? they are under the original comment and i cant c them. ???

    • Yes they are under the original comment and when you reply you have a little red box instead of a REPLY… We must get used to the new system, I know it’s not easy.

      Also trying to get the Trophy to be a clickable link to the comment section.

      Doing my best.

  22. J Dre says:

    Ha, “fear the fade.” I like it. Or “fear the funny beard braid.” That could work too.

  23. tbranch says:

    My god… did you see Kwame get pulled to the floor while going for a rebound on that buzzer beater play that Gordon hit?

    I can’t believe that doesn’t get called.

  24. Vyvee says:

    I love the new look to the site Natalie…wonderful job.

Leave a SHEEDtastic Comment

 

2014 - 2015 Schedule

@ Denver
Wed Oct 29       79-89
@ Minnesota
Thurs Oct 30       91-97
Brooklyn
Sat Nov 1       90-102
New York
Wed Nov 5       95-97
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 7       95-98
Utah
Sun. Nov 9       97-96
@ Chicago
Mon Nov 10       91-102
@ Washington
Wed Nov 12       103-107
@ Oklahoma
Fri Nov 14       96-89 OT
@ Memphis
Sat Nov 15       88-95
Orlando
Mon Nov 17       107-93
Phoenix
Wed Nov 19       88-86
@ Atlanta
Fri Nov 21       89-99
@ Milwaukee
Tue Nov 25        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
LA Clippers
Wed Nov 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Milwaukee
Fri Nov 28        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Golden State
Sun Nov 30        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
LA Lakers
Tue Dec 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Wed Dec 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Dec 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Oklahoma
Sun Dec 7        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Portland
Tue Dec 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Phoenix
Fri Dec 12        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
@ Sacramento
Sat Dec 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ LA Clippers
Mon Dec 15        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
Dallas
Wed Dec 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Toronto
Fri Dec 19        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Brooklyn
Sun Dec 21         Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Indiana
Fri Dec 26        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Sun Dec 28        Tipoff: 4:30 PM
@ Orlando
Tue Dec 30        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Fri Jan 2        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Sacramento
Sun Jan 4        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ San Antonio
Tue Jan 6        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
@ Dallas
Wed Jan 7        Tipoff: 8:30 PM
Atlanta
Fri Jan 9        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Brooklyn
Sat Jan 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Mon Jan 12         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
New Orleans
Wed Jan 14        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Fri Jan 16        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Philadelphia
Sat Jan 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Atlanta
Mon Jan 19        Tipoff: 2:30 PM
Orlando
Wed Jan 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Milwaukee
Sat Jan 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Toronto
Sun Jan 25        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Cleveland
Tue Jan 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Jan 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Houston
Sat Jan 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Miami
Tue Feb 3        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Indiana
Wed Feb 4        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Denver
Fri Feb 6        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Minnesota
Sun Feb 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ Charlotte
Tue Feb 10        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
San Antonio
Wed Feb 11        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Chicago
Fri Feb 20        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Washington
Sun Feb 22        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
Cleveland
Tue Feb 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ New York
Fri Feb 27        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Washington
Sat Feb 28        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New Orleans
Wed Mar 4        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
@ Houston
Fri Mar 6        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Charlotte
Sun Mar 8        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
@ LA Lakers
Tue Mar 10        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Golden State
Wed Mar 11        Tipoff: 10:30 PM
@ Portland
Fri Mar 13        Tipoff: 10:00 PM
@ Utah
Sat Mar 14        Tipoff: 9:00 PM
Memphis
Tue Mar 17        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Philadelphia
Wed Mar 18        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
Chicago
Sat Mar 21        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Boston
Sun Mar 22        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Toronto
Tue Mar 24        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Orlando
Fri Mar 27        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Miami
Sun Mar 29        Tipoff: 6:00 PM
Atlanta
Tue Mar 31        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
@ Charlotte
Wed Apr 1        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ Chicago
Fri Apr 3 ESPN        Tipoff: 8:00 PM
Miami
Sat Apr 4         Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Boston
Wed Apr 8        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Indiana
Fri Apr 10        Tipoff: 7:30 PM
Charlotte
Sun Apr 12        Tipoff: 3:30 PM
@ Cleveland
Mon Apr 13        Tipoff: 7:00 PM
@ New York
Wed Apr 15        Tipoff: 8:00 PM